CollectionDX Network

Lotus (Sub Version) - James Bond 007

Comments

9 comments posted
*(if anyone can identify what it was leave a post)

The full size Lotus submarine was a wet-submarine. That means it wasn't sealed, a diver operated it from the drivers seat. But the due the way the windows were covered, visibility was minimal. So the crew developed a two mirror system so the diver could see. The diver looks into a mirror inside the car and sees the reflection of the mirror mounted on the car roof.

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 16 June, 2011 - 14:37
thanks

Thank you!

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 16 June, 2011 - 17:17
Ha! I didn't know this

Ha! I didn't know this existed. Too bad about the poor build quality--I have a long-standing love of this goofy vehicle. I picked up the little Corgi diecast when I was a lad in the UK and carried it everywhere. In fact, I still have it after all these years. ^_^

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 16 June, 2011 - 17:16
This vehicle mesmerized me as

This vehicle mesmerized me as a child, thanks for the review.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 16 June, 2011 - 20:04
You're kidding

$90 and it doesn't even transform? Come on. If there's any version that actually does transform, let me know.

Also, one of my all-time favorite toys from the James Bond Jr. toyline channeled the Lotus. It was a motorcycle that could seal up and become a sub. Unlike just about any floating toy I've ever owned, it actually sealed up nicely.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 16 June, 2011 - 21:05
....

all I can say is I concur...they actually make the normal version...for another 90 Bucks...and 90 bucks is the "good" price lol

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 16 June, 2011 - 21:25
Cool review. Seeing this

Cool review. Seeing this reminded me of the toy I had as a kid. It "transformed" from car to sub. I was about 3X as big as a matchbox car. I think there was a button that made the fins shoot out of the side and back. I think the fins on the back would flit up. And I believe it shot a missile or something. Maybe vertically out of the roof or trunk. I don't think the tires did anything though, maybe they were more like rollers in the bottom? I believe it was a corgi or dinky...now must resist buying/looking for one on ebay, must resist :)

Novacaine31's picture
Posted by Novacaine31 on 16 June, 2011 - 22:27
Although I didn't have the

Although I didn't have the Corgi toy as a little kid, I did have a hot wheel of the Lotus as it was my favorite car.

I love this vehicle, it was fascinating as a kid!

Thanks for the review!
LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 17 June, 2011 - 10:50
I always thought the Esprit

I always thought the Esprit was awesome, moreso after seeing it in submarine form. Love it, too bad it doesnt transform

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 17 June, 2011 - 17:29
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net