CollectionDX Network

Legendary Megazord

Comments

12 comments posted
BA could still easily release

BA could still easily release their own $50.00 Dlx Megazords today. They did it back in the day and no one complained [loudly], and by going from an average $25 price point to $50, the quality of these toys would go through the roof and actually be comparable to their Japanese counterparts. Hell, even a $40 release would make a difference.

There is just no appeal to these things for me if BA is gonna do the barest minimum, and that's pretty much what they've done since 2007. (The sole exception to this was their re-sized Spirit Zords from "PR Jungle Fury", which I reviewed on CDX, and remain of exceptional quality years later.)

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 23 January, 2014 - 05:06
You also have to look at it

You also have to look at it from a practical perspective. They have to keep their products affordable at a time where manufacturing is really expensive. Sure, having a 50 dollar Megazord would make the quality better, but they wouldn't sell as well. Just look at the imported Shinken-Ohs. They basically just sat there on the shelves.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 23 January, 2014 - 11:10
I'm not asking BA to begin

I'm not asking BA to begin importing all Japanese toys again; those days are long behind us, sad as that is. If BA wants to take the time and effort to remake all of the Dlx transforming Zords, then they needs to take the steps necessary to do it right. But if BA wants collectors to invest, and don't want to get sued because a kid swallowed a paint fleck or cut their fingers off on razor-thin plastic, then they needs to step up their game. $40-50 sounds just fine, even in this market.
We may not get them in the same size as the originals, and specialized [electronic] features may be removed, but at least surface details and general appearances will be more screen-accurate, and joints will be the right fit and tightness, the plastic won't be oily, and they can be more generous with their paint applications.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 23 January, 2014 - 14:43
The problem is that adult

The problem is that adult collectors aren't the target audience. The target audience is 4-9 year olds. And for that audience this piece is great.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 23 January, 2014 - 15:54
Well, the Shinken Ohs were

Well, the Shinken Ohs were almost 100 bucks, and only at TRU. In addition, any "super" fan inclined to get one would have already gotten one a couple of years ago, knowing (or thinking) that BOA wouldn't import it anyway. Seems like we're still getting the Goseiger imported mech, though.

Didn't they release the Jungle Fury zords in an expensive, just-like-the-Japanese-release version and the cheaper, BOA-initiated one? I wonder what the sales were like, but they probably skewed towards the cheaper releases. Otherwise why go with these completely new, shrunken molds, whereas before they could at least just strip paint apps and such to get costs down. But the year before, they had introduced the less detailed/completely different Boukenger/Operation Overdrive zords, so again those that were inclined to want the Japanese DX version probably started importing after that.

I seem to remember Power Rangers toys selling really well, even before these changes, at the higher pricepoints. I can't remember them ever being clearanced out, either. But BOA is still cranking these new designs out, so it must be working.

On a side note, I always wondered why they didn't just take the molds from the candy toys, assemble them, paint them and sell them here? Licensing issues?

fujishig's picture
Posted by fujishig on 28 January, 2014 - 17:23
Great review, the only Super

Great review, the only Super Sentai Robot/Zord I've wanted to buy in 30 years!

LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 23 January, 2014 - 11:24
In your pics, I can tell that

In your pics, I can tell that BA has lessened a great deal of detail that is present in the original DX version. I also noticed that they added the ranger key gimmick to activate the Gokai cannon instead of spinning the steering wheel at the back. How tall is the American version compared to the DX version? Hope you can do a side by side comparisson .

I enjoy having the DX Gokai-Oh in my collection and don't mind at all that it's almost a brick due to the spring mechanisms and the parts upgrades. Its sheer size and unique design make this a wonderful piece :)

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 23 January, 2014 - 12:11
The Bandai America version is

The Bandai America version is a good 3 inches shorter - the top of the Legendary Megazord's hat just barely reaches the top of GokaiOh's chest. It also doesn't include the cannon by default. Instead, it's the right arm of the Legendary Megazord Ranger Armor figure.

That said, I REALLY like that it's a Zord Builder set, given Gokaiger/Super Megaforce uses old team powers as their main gimmick. That silly pic up there with the Legacy Zords plugged in? See if you can find the pic from another review where the Gosei Zords were plugged in. "Recursion" only begins to describe it.

KingStarscream's picture
Posted by KingStarscream on 7 April, 2014 - 12:42
New, and impressed

I'm new here, and I'm impressed with what BOA did here. The did a great job of recreating Gokai-oh for Power Ranger fans. Are you going to review the acessory mecha? Great review, and awesome site by the way.

Autobot Alex's picture
Posted by Autobot Alex on 23 January, 2014 - 17:54
I love Gokaiger and Goseiger,

I love Gokaiger and Goseiger, I see they mixed both shows, what seems kind of weird to me... how saban mashed them up? Im curious but dont watch the american versions of tokusatsu

shindanrod's picture
Posted by shindanrod on 29 January, 2014 - 12:54
Half-way through Megaforce,

Half-way through Megaforce, the alien armada shows up and Gosei (their version of Master Headder) gives them new morphers. The Ranger Keys let them use beefed-up versions of the old teams' powers, but only for a short time. After the first couple of fights, they stop using their Gosei powers entirely in favor of the new ones.

KingStarscream's picture
Posted by KingStarscream on 7 April, 2014 - 12:45
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net