CollectionDX Network

Leader-class Autobot Optimus Prime

Comments

17 comments posted
Much better than

That is more better than the past Leader class Optimus prime. By the way, eva_unit_4a buy the Leader class Jetfire it combine with Prime.

dragonoid_660's picture
Posted by dragonoid_660 on 22 August, 2009 - 00:04
Fear not- I have already

Fear not- I have already reserved the right to cover both Leader-class Jetfire and the combo for CDX. I just have to wait for him to come in-stock in my local stores first, and then a chance for me to grab one...
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 22 August, 2009 - 04:36
Oh Prime

I saw a version of Movie Optimus that was exact to what he looked like in the movie. High quality, diecast and a mint in price do you know who sells this figure? Maybe it's not out yet? Seen it thought.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 22 August, 2009 - 16:53
I remember

This Prime was at a Japanese toy show something you could find at Nekomagic.com or Dannychoo.com website, not sure need to confirm.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 22 August, 2009 - 16:56
What you saw was probably

What you saw was probably the Japanese-exclusive-repaint Buster Optimus Prime that I mentioned. It is doesn't have any die-cast metal [that I am aware of], but the paint apps are far more accurate in robot mode (new silver and blue, mostly), his mouth is visible rather than the traditional faceplate seen above, and the two fuel tanks convert into his screen-accurate rifle.

A lot of collectors like me are being burned because we learned about the Buster ver. AFTER we got the regular US ver.!
Unfortunately, because of the behind-the-scenes agreement I had with the other CDX staff in reviewing the RotF Leader-class Prime, I could only cover one, but not two of them, so- most-regretfully- someone else will have to cover it.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 22 August, 2009 - 18:20
Thanks for the 411 but?

Sorry to change the subject but... I know your a huge Evangelion fan as am I. I saw most of Rebuild 1.0 really cool and have the SOC toys and and the Exclusive Postitron Rifle from Bandai as well do you know the toy not the cheap (sorry) Revotech version? seen some of Evangelion 2.0 bad ass and good reviews. I hope you post something about this in the future for us EVA fans...

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 22 August, 2009 - 20:03
OT

Okay- um... We're getting a little off-topic here, but...

I have not seen any of Rebuild of Evangelion yet, and won't until Funimation brings it over to the US (w00t).

That being said, I have heard that supposedly Unit-04 finally officially appears in the franchise in "Evangelion 2.0- You Can [Not] Advance". (I have no one who can corroborate this, which is the hard part for me.) While I am certainly ga-ga over such a notion, all of my attempts to procure an image of it have failed.

I have no plans thus far to cover the SOC or Revoltech Rebuild EVAs since those are toy denominations I usually- and haven't ever- covered on CDX.
If you would like me specifically to cover one of these, you would have to persuade JoshB about that.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 22 August, 2009 - 20:15
Mixed up?

Why go to Josh? Your the Evangelion man! :) Crap I know so much about Evangelion can I write a review? Been putting in my 2 cents for to long...

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 23 August, 2009 - 00:55
Thanks for the vote of

Thanks for the vote of confidence, I appreciate that!

Like I said, SOCs and Revoltech aren't my fields because those are topics that others cover. But, again, if you would like me to cover those specific toy lines, please persuade Josh on the matter. Several of the staff also like Eva, and I wouldn't want to get some of them, only to find out someone else is covering them.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 23 August, 2009 - 12:47
Bummer but...

Unit 04 is a no go in Rebuild 2.0 it gets blow to sh!t mysteriously like in the anime. Unit 06 comes from the moon to stop the 3rd impact with the spear of Longus when unit 01 goes beserk and has a battle with the angel Zeruel. Stopping the 3rd impact.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 23 August, 2009 - 00:48
Mind your language,

Mind your language, please...

Um... a spoiler alert would've been nice! All yas had to say was that it didn't appear. =(

I don't believe it- Anno actually gets a second shot, and he STILL didn't show it!? Man... -_-*

And now, enough of this topic here. if you wish to continue, please e-mail me privately on the matter.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 23 August, 2009 - 12:43
My bad

What I said above might not be 100% accurate from where I read it and plus by the time the 2nd movie makes it here it will be another year from now your bound to forget.

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 23 August, 2009 - 18:16
er...

I'm convinced that this Optimus is better than his last incarnation, but they charge the price too high in my country, like 130$. Is it still worth it?

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 23 August, 2009 - 22:08
US$130.00-!? No F'ing way

US$130.00-!?

No F'ing way would I pay that much for this toy! Perhaps no higher than $80 off-the-shelf... and that's assuming it were 50 years old and MiB.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 24 August, 2009 - 00:51
Expensive toy in the Philippines

I went to the Toy Store after I read this review what I found is the Leader class Optimus Prime. When I ask how much is it they told its P 3,999! Wow that is EXPENSIVE! So the other day I went to a another toy store and I found... again...a Leader class Optimus Prime, But it cost P 2,999... STILL EXPENSIVE! so I multiply P 2,999 to the price there in the US and what i found its expensive even if you multiply it with P 3,999 its STILL expensive!

Peace Out!,
Dragonoid_660
CDX Member

dragonoid_660's picture
Posted by dragonoid_660 on 25 August, 2009 - 07:49
The import cost

I guess the import cost is going up. Maybe if me or my friends going abroad, I would obtain this piece. Great Review.

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 25 August, 2009 - 18:41
http://www.collectiondx.com/g

http://www.collectiondx.com/gallery/v/Toys/Hasbro/Transformers/Transformers_ROTF/Leader-class_Optimus_Prime/Leader-class+Autobot+Optimus+Prime-+robot+mode+posed+_3_.JPG.html
That pic looks shopped; the forearm panel is in the slid-forward position and yet you can see the back of his hand... (The forearm panels do slide back.)

I think the worst part of this guy's transformation scheme is the way the chest windows tab in for the Mech Alive gimmick. It's so firm that it feels like it's supposed to be one of those things that's only supposed to pop out to prevent breakage, so the fact that you're actually supposed to disconnect them is counterintuitive.

Buster Prime's not worth the extra money anyway; you're better off buying the Cubex kit. Way less money, and you actually get two guns.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 20 October, 2013 - 11:27
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net