CollectionDX Network

Kamen Rider Torque

Comments

13 comments posted
You've got to be kidding!

I'm sorry, but I own the original Japanese figure and this "retooled" piece of plastic is lacking, not only in articulation, but in detail as well! The detail in the Chest piece, the gun and the helmet have all been overly simplified. The paint job is seriously bad on the American version when compared to the Japanese version which has subtle tones of grey throughout punching up the detail on the shoulders, gun and chest pieces. I'm not trying to be rude, but do you even own the Japanese version? There really is no comparison between the two.

cosmo773's picture
Posted by cosmo773 on 14 July, 2009 - 08:33
Well, here's the thing -

Well, here's the thing - what did the Japanese figure retail for? $20? $30 these toys are designed for a very different market, with the sub $10 price point. Considering the restraints they had to work with, I'd say they did a good job.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 14 July, 2009 - 09:37
Re: Well, here's the thing -

Exactly. That was exactly the point I was trying to get across here- it's small and cheap, but it's not complete Fail because of that. It may be greatly lacking compared to the original Japanese version, but for its price point here in the US, it isn't bad for what you get.

I saw a review of Kamen Rider Zolda and Magnugiga in Ooebi's Hobby Factory (Japanese-only), and there is no question that the 6" Japanese version would pwn this figure.
But, I will be covering the US-version of Magnugiga in the next review w/ video I post in a few days, and questions will be answered then.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 14 July, 2009 - 16:28
I haven't seen the JP

I haven't seen the JP product, which no doubt IS superior, but I have to admit, aside from the lack of elbows, that looks like a pretty slick figure that I'd be tempted to pick up if I saw it on the shelf at Target. Working within the mindset of a US released toy, I'd say it is a pretty good looking product.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 14 July, 2009 - 10:31
with all those connection

with all those connection points all over the figure (kinda reminds me of Centurions) seems a shame they didn't include a transforming robot Minotaur to take apart and plug into those holes! Perhaps they'll do this for a future release?

Astronopolis's picture
Posted by Astronopolis on 14 July, 2009 - 13:25
Re: with all those connnections

Very soon, I will be posting the review for the Magnugiga and Drew accessory set, which interacts directly with this figure. I will discuss the features between Torque and Magnugiga then (also in a vid at the same time).
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 14 July, 2009 - 16:22
9$

Wow, that's cheap... almost in line with Gi joes and Star Wars

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 14 July, 2009 - 18:42
No good.

When I first saw these in Toys R Us I was quite disappointed. Considering what Hasbro does at a similar size and price point with their Marvel and G.I. Joe lines Bandai should be kind of ashamed. That said I'm still considering getting Wing Knight if only because I really like the character.

Slayer1583's picture
Posted by Slayer1583 on 15 July, 2009 - 10:37
Re: No good.

The Wing Knight figure (which I do not plan to get just 'cuz) is much more blue-colored than he is on-screen, FYI.

Yeah- I mean, if you look at any of the Bayformers sets from 2007/09, they are far more complex and top out at $50 MSRP compared to the static-display 20" Entry Plugs I covered which are $90! It just goes to show you the difference in quality of products between companies.
But, again, these KRDK toys- like most PR toys nowadays- are gearing towards being cheaper in the world financial crisis, and so will be of lower quality. But, saying that, how will the 4" figures from "GI Joe- The Rise of Cobra" compare to the 4" we've been getting for 20 years... both made by the same company?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 July, 2009 - 12:25
I do agree with cosmo773

Actually, with this painting and articulation, i think it's a waste of money. Luckily, I can get my JP ver Zolda and Magnugiga, brand new with great details, at just $13, which I think is cheaper and better than the US ver(Don't forget you have to buy them seperately in US). I don't know why bandai has to use a new mold for it. I feel sad with that.

twgss4b14c's picture
Posted by twgss4b14c on 17 July, 2009 - 13:00
Re: I do agree with cosmo773

For collectors, absolutely- it is a waste. And I do so dearly wish we'd've gotten the original figures from Japan. Perhaps with enough complaints, that could happen with the next adaptation series, or they could release "special-edition" versions of the originals later on.

But, what I'm trying to get at above is that these figures are good for kids, but not for collectors who know better. That is going to be my stance on most of the KRDK stuff I'm covering, BTW.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 17 July, 2009 - 13:31
I've been looking forward to these

The quality and price point are what I would expect, and if they package Riders with motorcycles I'm a little more excited. I'll buy one or two of these just to check them out and pass off to my nephew, so it could be hit for Bandai after all. It's nice to hear that the series is finding an audience, it's pretty decent.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 18 July, 2009 - 08:01
Sweet Review.

Bandai did a fantastic job with these 4" Figures. Though, I was very disappointed when I first saw pics of them after seeing how Awesome the Ryuki toys are. But I still give these 4" Figures 5 stars out of 5.

...

w00t! I Love Kamen Rider Dragon Knight, it's my favorite show! Lets Ride!

My favorite fan website:
http://www.kamenconnection.com/

Kamen Rider is geared for Adults, and not just kids, SWEET!!!

kr20000's picture
Posted by kr20000 on 22 July, 2009 - 23:53
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net