CollectionDX Network

Joon's VF-1J Valkyrie Bootleg

Comments

11 comments posted
Spare Parts & PS

That's a very interesting story.

You said that you've sold this bootleg to a customizer on Ebay (correct me if I'm wrong about Ebay) after you fixed the toy's shoulder hinges with spare parts. The stash of spare parts intrigues me the most.

May I ask what kind of spare parts were they? I mean were they from another cheap bootleg, some model kit, or a broken Jetfire toy?

-R78

PS: I almost forgot, I've noticed that the Joon's Valk comes with a gunpod w/ missles. Does the gunpod clone shoot missiles as good as the original I wonder?

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 10 May, 2009 - 11:13
Uh.

No, I sold the bootleg to a customizer I knew from a forum. The bootleg was not broken. It was in as nice of condition as these cheapass things can be. I fixed the shoulder on the Bandai 1990 VF-1S after I bought it using the proceeds from selling the bootleg.

The bag of spare parts I amassed over the years of collecting 1/55 Valkyries and was a mix of Jetfires, Takatoku and Bandai Valkyries, and some bootlegs.

I think ended up just giving that bag of parts to Jerilock or someone at the Kimono My House closing party actually because I don't really do that anymore. Now I can afford to buy a nice Valkyrie instead of building one out of junker parts!

And I don't know how powerful the gunpod in this bootleg is or if it even fired at all because I never took the bullets off of the tree and tried it.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 11 May, 2009 - 00:36
Kinda looks like a

Kinda looks like a variation on the Angel Birds demonstration squadron's livery from the first episode.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 May, 2009 - 11:52
No kidding.

If you had read my review, you would have known that I mentioned that in the body of the review.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 11 May, 2009 - 00:39
I have, admittedly, kooky

I have, admittedly, kooky taste, but I love this. With the red/blue paint and clear blue windscreen, it's the Abega Valkyrie.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 10 May, 2009 - 17:06
Hahaha!

I didn't even think of that. I wonder if Voltron is jealous?

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 11 May, 2009 - 00:42
I am a little weirded out.

Am I sick of Macross toys? A little bit. I am a little weirded out by all of the reviews of variant versions of the Valkyrie guy there have been on this site.

Televex's picture
Posted by Televex on 10 May, 2009 - 23:28
Yeah... and?

That's kinda the joke!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 11 May, 2009 - 00:43
It's ok. I was merely

It's ok. I was merely answering the proposed Macross question.

Televex's picture
Posted by Televex on 11 May, 2009 - 07:46
I've always wanted the green

I've always wanted the green one of these. Loved that color scheme, too bad he construction is weak.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 11 May, 2009 - 08:03
I, for one, couldn't care

I, for one, couldn't care less that there are a lot of Macross reviews as of late. I guess I'm a more bothered by the proportional rise in animosity on the site because of Macross being a lightning rod for that kind of thing!

Anyway, I think this sort of review is perfect. I'd seen these Joon's boots for ages and just never got around to picking one up. This is my first time hearing how crappy they really are...and I'm glad to hear about it! I had no idea.

Now, when it comes to a separate review for EVERY damn colorway/head sculpt in a specific line, that's a bit much...

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 11 May, 2009 - 09:20
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net