CollectionDX Network

Joker Squad (Entertainment Earth Exclusive)

Comments

12 comments posted
Love the Star Wars figure

Love the Star Wars figure reviews.
The Sith looks cool without the robe.
Helmets that don't quite fit right seem to be a common enough problem with 'Trooper figures, across a few toy lines.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 10 April, 2009 - 13:35
Uh...I thought, y'know, they

Uh...I thought, y'know, they were all supposed to be clones or something...?

Why're they all different?

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 10 April, 2009 - 13:41
Yeah, but I think somewhere

Yeah, but I think somewhere along the line they lose the ability to make new clones, and they actually start drafting people...

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 10 April, 2009 - 19:17
Are you trying to imply the

Are you trying to imply the concepts and plotpoints introduced in the prequel trilogy don't match up to the established concepts and plotpoints in the original trilogy?
Now THAT'S crazy.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 11 April, 2009 - 10:28
Joker Squad Yup!

Look it's the wannabee Stormtroopers who flunked out of high school and a Sith Lord with a bullwhip. Where is Barf & Pizza the Hut.

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 10 April, 2009 - 15:01
Joe Dirt Stormtrooper!

Joe Dirt Stormtrooper! I always wanted one of those!

This set should be relabeled "Lynyrd Skynyrd Stormtrooper Squad"!! ;)

But seriously, this is a set I'm going to pass on. The female trooper is nice, but not worth it to me as you have to buy the whole cast of "King Of The Hill" as well. Maybe if the troopers were more colorful (I love the black stormtrooper I have, but can't stand all the bland cheap armbands and crooked stripes they've been adding to troopers since 2005) - why not a nice bright purple and yellow trooper? If you're gonna make them something other than white then let's get CRAZY.

You know what would be awesome here on CDX? Since there's tons of sites that cover modern SW figures, and everyone is familiar with the vintage figures, why not do some reviews of THE BEST modern figures of the main characters from the films. I don't need a Lando in Adidas Jumpsuit review, but the best available in the classic outfit would be a great read, I know some of you guys collect these! I know I haven't paid too much attention since the last film came out and i'm sure others are looking to "upgrade" but not spend an afternoon scouring other sites' lists for "the best."

Also, what about some reviews of the vintage 70s Takara Star Wars diecasts? The ones i've seen are AWESOME and they're tough to come by in the US.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 10 April, 2009 - 18:52
Well Said

I agree. So they run out of clones but such a frivolous way to expand the Star Wars Universe and fill it with Stormtrooper wannabees, but these folks do nothing for me. A nice review anyway I know it takes work to bring a review to this site. A great Star Wars "Earth Entertainment Exclusive" is the Astromech Droid Sets. I picked these sets up a few yrs ago a real winner. Does anyone agree?

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 10 April, 2009 - 23:22
I disagree

I disagree. I would like to see a review of Lando in his Adidas jumpsuit. Thanks in advance.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 12 April, 2009 - 19:02
FYI if you didn't know.

I worked as a freelancer at Hasbro I found out that some of the molds for the Star Wars figures heads were based upon actual Hasbro employees, those must be the corporate douches. Who I don't really know or care because I worked on the Playschool toy line. But what was cool was seeing Star Wars and Transformers Universe Toys now in the store over a year ago.

P.S. They use designers like whores a dime a dozen. Cool place to work bad employer who pays there full times sh*t. All the toy designs you see are made by Hasbro Far East as they call it. Concepts mostly from the Pawtucket Headquarters.

Larkin

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 10 April, 2009 - 23:40
Stormtroopers & Clones

The official line regarding Stormtroopers and clones is that the majority of Stormtroopers are natural born recruits. Basically the Empire lost the ability to create clones and all that are left are a few remaining clones troopers and some clones created from new material, ie. not Jango. The Joker Squad in particular are from a later point in Star Wars history, some time well after Jedi iirc during the time when Han & Leia's kids are all grown up.

Riceball's picture
Posted by Riceball on 11 April, 2009 - 00:26
If I recall correctly (and I

If I recall correctly (and I can't remember where I heard this) it wasn't so much the fact that they lost the ability to create clones but that they didn't need to any more. Once the Jedi were out of the picture it was cheaper and easier just to introduce conscription than to pay for a constant supply of new clones. The Empire was all about cutting corners when it came to cost.

James O's picture
Posted by James O on 11 April, 2009 - 05:45
The comics these guys are

The comics these guys are from (Star Wars: Legacy) take place around 140 years after Luke blew up the Death Star. At this point, the Stormtroopers are the not-so-bad guys, made up entirely of recruits, not clones, and even a few non-humans:

http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Image:Fel_Empire_Troops.jpg

What sucks about these figures is that Hasbro didn't go the extra mile to resculpt the armor to make it look like it does in the comic (it's slightly different than the original trilogy armor). They could have at least re-done the heads and it would have been acceptable. FAIL.

Roger's picture
Posted by Roger on 13 April, 2009 - 10:11
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net