CollectionDX Network

The Joker

Comments

31 comments posted
Excellent, concise, and

Excellent, concise, and complete review of a really stunning toy. I do have a question about the price though... in the 1/6 community, many older fans are lamenting the rapid price increase Hot Toys' lavish movie figures are instigating. Do you think this Joker figure is worth $180? I paid about that much for my HT Iron Man Mk I and was satisfied, but that figure comes with an entire detailed and functional suit of armor, with more fully painted components than I have ever seen on a toy. At the end of the day, the Joker is a really well-made body with a well-tailored suit (well, two suits) and an innovative new head. I am only just getting into 1/6 myself, and while I love it, I still can't help but look at a figure like this and see it being 'just' a guy in a nicely made suit. Do you think the value's there?
Thanks!

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 11 February, 2010 - 19:06
Cost of Entry

You bring up some good questions Ben. Bottom line for a fan of the Joker or 12 inch in general yes I think so. To a non fan absolutely not.

Your right at the end of the day it really is nothing more than a guy in a really well tailored suit. But if your a fan of the character then this becomes much more than that. With the level of detail, pose-ability and accessories it's not just a doll anymore but a means to capture a “presence” or “idea.” I think a toy or collectible maker needs to take their time and apply some genuine artistic skill to get that to happen and well that costs money.

Hot Toys keeps escalating the quality and attention to detail so I presume that goes hand in hand with the rising cost of their figures. Superb sculpt detail and accuracy, paint detail, miniaturized tailoring not to mention the numerous working accessories combined with the limited and lower runs they do it makes sense to me they cost more than your average fair...

So yeah you may pay more but you KNOW your getting AWSOME every time. I think that's worth something. So in the final analysis yes I think their is value in what Hot Toys offered here.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 11 February, 2010 - 19:48
Thanks for the response,

Thanks for the response, that's exactly what I wanted to know. I've been buying Ashley Wood stuff lately, and his 1/6 figures are all hand-finished and spare no expense, but the human figures still don't break that pricepoint. Like you said, the character is a big part of it as well... I was happy with the Iron Man at that price, but wouldn't buy the Joker. I like thinking of it as a physical representation of an 'idea' more than just being a character figure though... very true in this case.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 11 February, 2010 - 19:57
I have no interest

I have no interest whatsoever in figures. We all know this about me already, right?

You're right- that is a spot-on head sculpt of Ledger.
What made my jaw drop, though, is that the eyes can move! Holy S-bomb, Batman- how long have manufacturers been doing that? Now that is creepy...!

Good review, Atom.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 11 February, 2010 - 19:43
I believe it is effectively

I believe it is effectively a brand-new feature designed for this toy.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 11 February, 2010 - 19:48
PERS

Yes P.E.R.S. is a new feature developed by Hot Toys. Wait till you guys see Batman...

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 11 February, 2010 - 19:50
Great review, Adam. I really

Great review, Adam. I really like the head shots. They really capture essence of the character through the quality of the figure. You're slowly pushing me towards some kind of Hot Toys purchase.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 11 February, 2010 - 20:02
Wow Atom! Great review of a

Wow Atom! Great review of a seriously cool figure. I may have to start collecting these Hot Toy figures.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 11 February, 2010 - 21:03
Seeing is believing!

Great review! I had 2 of these in my store and they sold out in less than a week after their arrival and they weren't cheap. They were incredible to behold, no pictures can do this figure justice! It has to be seen with your own eyes to be appreciated. Hot Toys is amazing!

cosmo773's picture
Posted by cosmo773 on 11 February, 2010 - 21:19
P.E.R.S. is a really great

P.E.R.S. is a really great gimmick, but whoever came up with the name/ acronym deserves serious marketing props. I don't get the police uniform though. Was that in the movie? It seems to reveal too much about the Joker.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 11 February, 2010 - 21:47
Agreed. If it had been

Agreed. If it had been P.E.E.R.S. (how I hear it pronounced), that may have made more sense at-a-glance (no pun intended).

As to the Joker having a police uniform...

--SPOILER ALERT!--

...

...

...

During the assassination attempt on Gotham's mayor during Commissioner Loeb's funeral, we see the Arkham inmate [that Dent confronts later in the ambulance] in a uniform before the Honor Guard fires. Then, right next to him is the Joker without makeup, and as the Guard prepares another shot, he wheels right and fires at the mayor. While we see him run amidst the scattering crowd from behind, this is the only moment we see him without makeup, and his face is partially obscured by the rifle.
It is literally a blink-and-you-miss-it moment.

So, the figure reviewed above is the first time I've gotten a clear look at him as such.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 11 February, 2010 - 22:35
HOT TOYS DIDN'T

For the record

HT didn't come up with the moving eyes.

Enterbay did about 4 years ago with their Bruce Lee figure

This was a high demand on the HK boards for future Hot Toys figures for years and years.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 12 February, 2010 - 10:10
No pencil ?!

No pencil ?! :(

"Dinobots, destroy Devestator!"-Optimus Prime TFTM

Goldenage's picture
Posted by Goldenage on 11 February, 2010 - 21:51
No Pencil. :(

Sadly no.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 11 February, 2010 - 22:46
LoL -------------------------

LoL

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 February, 2010 - 04:19
I love the multiple hand

I love the multiple hand gernades with one string,that was my favorite part about the Heath Ledger Joker.
I'd never buy this,though. I don't really like toys based on the current movie versions of iconic characters. For almost 200 bucks I would want the definitive version of the character,not just the currently cool version,nothing against Ledger.

And yes,SPOILER ALERT he does dress like a cop in the movie. Why haven't you seen this yet?!?!?! If you're into this kind of stuff at all you should go redbox this movie. Hell,I bought a copy for only 6 or 7 bucks!

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 11 February, 2010 - 22:14
I've seen it twice. I think

I've seen it twice. I think by that point in the film my eyes start to glaze over, as I seem to lose more patience with each viewing. Even though I love what Ledger does in this flick, I'm still waiting for the definitive Bat Man movie.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 12 February, 2010 - 18:22
This is a great movie,but I

This is a great movie,but I see what you're saying about waiting for the definitive Batman movie.
As a comic reader,I couldn't help but notice Ledger Joker really has very little to do with his comic book counterpart. Two Face really got short shrift,and seemed to be rammed into the story just to have a second villian.

IMO both Nolan films are made well,I reccomend you watch both of them,but they really aren't any truer to the source material than the two Burton movies.
---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 12 February, 2010 - 21:22
Wow, Materialist Zen, that's

Wow, Materialist Zen, that's basically the first semi-negative experience I've ever heard about this movie from someone I know! Pretty wild. Well, bummer that you didn't like it that much.

Anyway, not to get too far from the review of this particular toy, I just wanna say that I don't think there CAN be a definitive Batman movie. I mean, as we've discussed (in the Batmobile review, I believe), there's no definitive Batman in the comics!

I mean, the 60's tv show with Adam West was super-cheesey, but so was the comic of that era! So, arguably, THAT show was the most "definitive" screen representation of Batman because it matched it's contemporary comic counterpart so perfectly.

I happen to be a fan of the 80's Miller Batman (Year One), so these movies are great for me (granted, I could do with a slightly toned down growly Christian Bale voice when he's Batman!). Conversely, I hated the Burton films...mainly because I was never into Batman comics done in that style...

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 12 February, 2010 - 21:35
Since we're discussing movie

Since we're discussing movie moments here...

--SPOILERS!--

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

At the end of the movie, Gordon says of Two-Face "Five dead, two of them cops." But I can only think of three-

-cop in the bar
-Mob boss (name?)
-boss' driver

Who are the other two?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 February, 2010 - 18:40
Atom... you have a way of

Atom... you have a way of reviewing high end stuff and actually making me want to save up for em! I hope I dont miss out on this one. I have a question, what is the difference between this and the Movie Masterpiece one that doesnt have the cop uniform? is it the same sculpt/detail/PERS?

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 11 February, 2010 - 22:18
Not the same

Thanks. I figure at the very least our privileged position at CDX allows us to share the higher end stuff with you from time to time. We know most won't go out and buy this kind of stuff but it does allow you to live vicariously thru our experience

This is a completely new sculpt and different from the previous release. Much more screen accurate this time around.

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 12 February, 2010 - 15:31
I have to admit... you

I have to admit... you really owe it to yourself to track down one of the TrueType Slim bodies to put together the Police Uniform figure... it's not just an alternate costume, but a whole'nother figure with its own accessories and everything. It'd make a great Part 2 to this review to show the rest of the set in all its glory ;)

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 12 February, 2010 - 15:42
I think once you get past a

I think once you get past a certain price-point, it goes beyond a casual purchase. A guy might love Planet of the Apes, but to spend $300 on a giant Dr. Zaius, he's gotta really want that item.
I think a lot of the Hot Toys stuff is great - like the 12 inch scale ALIENS Power Loader or the Robocop - but I just couldn't pull the trigger when I had the chance to buy them.
I sometimes wonder why I wind up waffling on the things I want that I don't buy - like the GNU Dangard Ace. Wanted an awesome Dangard for a decade - now that he is available, why can't I pull the cash together for him? Strange logic.

DoctorKent's picture
Posted by DoctorKent on 12 February, 2010 - 02:21
I love the eye mechanic.

I love the eye mechanic.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 12 February, 2010 - 09:50
Yeah, it's a funny thing how

Yeah, it's a funny thing how the pricing of new toys works. The thing is, this is a 1/6 figure, and higher-end ones have cost well into the hundreds for a long time. Years ago, I picked up the Alfrex Wakayama Tomisaburo (as Ogami Ito from the Lone Wolf & Cub films). I think the set retailed for close to $300...and that was nearly ten years ago. And now, there's just more and higher-quality stuff with these Hot Toys releases, so I don't have any issues with what Hot Toys is charging.

Sure, 1/6 figures are a whole different animal from your typical modern chogokin. But notice how similar their pricepoints are. Like Atom said, it comes down to whether or not you love the character (and obviously, whether you're into 1/6 figures). Is a fan going to get as much fun out of this toy as your average modern chogokin? Probably. So why not?

Great review, Atom! I had the pleasure of messing around with this figure at CDX HQ some time back and I was quite impressed with it. The accessories/clothing wasn't fiddly at all and the joints on the figure were rock solid. Great articulation...including the eyeballs! Seriously...the range of motion on the eyes, alone, are freaky!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 12 February, 2010 - 10:08
There are plenty of

There are plenty of collectors of 12 inch dolls out there like Barbie and so on who regularly spend this sort of money on them,and wouldn't feel it was overpriced.
You or I might say,yeah it's nice but it's just a 12 inch figure with clothes. A doll collector,though,could easily look at a Valkyrie and say it's "just" a toy robot.
A normal adult would say both the doll fan and the anime fan are stupid for blowing money on useless crap.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 13 February, 2010 - 01:58
"A normal adult would say

"A normal adult would say both the doll fan and the anime fan are stupid for blowing money on useless crap."

Hey, it's better than drugs.

;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 14 February, 2010 - 22:41
Hear-hear! ------------------

Hear-hear!

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 14 February, 2010 - 22:59
BTW

great review...sorely tempted to get...but will stay with diecast...
BTW...BigBadToystore
has it for 164.99

http://www.bigbadtoystore.com/bbts/product.aspx?product=HOT10209&mode=retail

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 13 February, 2010 - 00:39
Had to have it.

Well... I just pulled the trigger on this bad boy. Whew!
Even though I got the new Police Officer version, I will not re-dress. I will track down a Truetype body for the Joker accessories. This was a rough decision even though I got it for $143.99. I have just seen and heard too many great things about this DX version and I couldn't live with the regret of not purchasing it. I have always wanted a good Heath version Joker and this one looks to be on top of them all.

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 15 February, 2010 - 13:58
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net