CollectionDX Network

Jake Sully

Comments

13 comments posted
not so certain

"With a movie like Avatar, Mattel should realize that most of the sales of toys from this movie are not going to kids"

I'm not so certain about this. Avatar had cool looking machines and cool looking aliens, and that's twice what you need to have kid-appeal.
That said, even most kid's can recognize quality, or the lack-there-of. Scully's face says it all.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 27 January, 2010 - 23:47
Wow, that's atrocious.

Wow, that's atrocious. Really, and no offense to people in wheelchairs here, but besides maybe Professor X, who else in a wheelchair might make for a decent action figure?

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 27 January, 2010 - 23:55
Stephen Hawking. Garrett

Stephen Hawking.

Garrett from "Extreme Ghostbusters."

That's all I got.

Wicker808's picture
Posted by Wicker808 on 29 January, 2010 - 11:36
You ever wonder why the

You ever wonder why the companies send out garbage like this for review to these types of sites? A quick glance at this site would show the writers and patrons are pretty discerning when it comes to action figures. Why would they send in a figure that wouldn't pass muster as a member of "The Corps?"
I mean,how could it increase sales to have Josh show some seamline close ups and make some jokes?

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 28 January, 2010 - 00:50
Delta is going to love this

Delta is going to love this review.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 28 January, 2010 - 02:55
HE'S HANDI-CAPABLE!

HE'S HANDI-CAPABLE!

delta7890's picture
Posted by delta7890 on 29 January, 2010 - 23:45
Know what's crazy? They

Know what's crazy? They made a SECOND figure of wheelchair-bound Jake! LOL. Just saw it the other night. It's him looking a bit more shaggy (long hair). I didn't take a closer look to see if there were other differences.

I thought the movie was fantastic. A great sci-fi romp.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 28 January, 2010 - 04:42
It looks exactly like the

It looks exactly like the Shia LeBouff figure that came with Human Alliance Bumblebee... weird. That and, awful. The build quality looks embarrassing. Great review though!

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 28 January, 2010 - 08:09
He forgot to step out of the

He forgot to step out of the Camaro before it transformed to robot mode,hence the wheelchair.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 28 January, 2010 - 09:52
A+ Review

This review is how the Col. Miles Quaritch review should have read as well.

Not worth the plastic chips used to melt him out ~ GARBAGE

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 28 January, 2010 - 15:26
Let me know when they're

Let me know when they're going to make a gyro stabilized R/C Jake Sully.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 28 January, 2010 - 17:21
I've been collecting these

I've been collecting these things since I saw the film, and I can assure you that the quality varies greatly from figure to figure. For instance, this particular specimen is whack, but I was able to find one that looks a lot cleaner and with better detailing. In any case, they're clunky toys that can take some punishment, not collectors items.

Now hear this; I picked up the Leonopteryx (hooray! Wayne Barlow toys!) opened it up and was overpowered by the smell of SOLVENT! (boo! China doesn't give a s**t!) I'm not kidding, I dragged a finger across it and removed some paint. The stuff clearly wasn't mixed properly, and would be a bad scene in the hands of small child. It dried after three days, and was the only such instance but worth mentioning. While you struggle to build these things for you kids, be on the look out for this type of insanity.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 28 January, 2010 - 17:47
Don't worry

So far Avatar has made $3,137,588. So a respectable toy company will be remaking these in no time, maybe soon enough. Get ready for your bioluminescence archaeopteryx from NECA or McFarlane Toys. Yes, I really did like this movie a lot. Amazing how well it's done. Cameron you might be a d*ck but you make a hell of a movie!

Lizardspock's picture
Posted by Lizardspock on 28 January, 2010 - 18:58
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net