CollectionDX Network

Irongear Mini

Comments

8 comments posted
Have. I also managed to get

Have. I also managed to get one for my son. Solid toy one of my favorites. Nice pics. I like the missile firing shot. Oh, Its tough to point to one toy that started my love/sickness. But I definetly remember trading a G1 loose soundwave for a soltec round facer. The trade was with my cousin who's father took him to Mr. Bigs toy land. Although I've never been there, I'm happy to have something from that legendary store!

The Question's picture
Posted by The Question on 15 April, 2010 - 18:16
I'd love to see a picture of

I'd love to see a picture of all 20 of your specimens!

Txos's picture
Posted by Txos on 15 April, 2010 - 19:04
THE toy that started it for me

Thanks with sharing the origin of your obsession with us.
Since you asked, the toy that started me on my way to collecting Japanese robots was the GA-09 DX Raideen chogokin. My dad got it for me when I was little, in either '78 or '79. Other toys came and went, gained or lost my interest, but that one, and its jumbo version as well, were the ones I kept for the longest time, rescuing them each time my mom went to clean out the basement and throw away the old toys I had. Once I got to college, there was no one left to protect him, and she tossed it finally.
It's odd, too; I didn't really know much about the show or anything related to it, I just loved that robot.

seraph2011's picture
Posted by seraph2011 on 15 April, 2010 - 19:47
I couldn't really nail down

I couldn't really nail down ONE particular toy that got me interested in Japanese robots,since I got a bunch of Gobots and grocery store "Convertors" and such right around the same time. I think Cy-Kill and Road Ranger were my favorites,but I hardly remember anything about being 4,let alone order of toy purchase.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 16 April, 2010 - 08:39
I had this toy!!!

I remember having one version of this robot. I thought it was very good and really liked it's space cruiser look, also the launching system shot the missile very far away (yeah, it achieved eye popping velocity). What was really funny about it was that everywhere they sold this thing, it always had two right fists, never found one that had the correct left fist in.

Great review, brings back a lot of memories.

mikespiegel's picture
Posted by mikespiegel on 16 April, 2010 - 15:59
I had this as a kid, it was

I had this as a kid, it was one of the many bootlegs I got at the Deerfield Fair. I remember the big question as a kid - what the hell does this turn into? A torso on a sled?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 16 April, 2010 - 15:16
THAT'S what that is! I have

THAT'S what that is! I have that! I mean, I probably have a bootlet version, actually. Got it for my birthday years ago...sometime in high school. Friend of mine knew I liked random robots and he got me that and a Xabungle (which happened to be the same Xabungle I had back when I was a little tyke, so my friend somehow managed to get something really special to me on accident).

Anyway, the transformation on Irongear is so simple that I always thought I was doing something wrong! That is so cool; I haven't seen this thing anywhere (though, I never looked for it). Geeze, that's a blast from the past.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 16 April, 2010 - 15:34
I had been looking for a

I had been looking for a cheap complete version of this guy for a while since I too had him as a kid. This past weekend, at a comic shop in Mass, I found one in a baggie for 5.00 with extra parts enough to built a second one only missing the feet missiles. one of the fins even have the sunrise stamp you mentioned, I wouldn't have noticed if not for this review. One has a extra sticker on the chest that identifies it as BAT-L from the Bi-Trons. I think my old one had that sticker as well.Anyway great review and nostalgia trip man!

Gazbot's picture
Posted by Gazbot on 3 April, 2014 - 03:03
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net