CollectionDX Network

Gipsy Danger (18 inch)

Comments

9 comments posted
Give that robot a shovel!

Nice review. I have high hopes for Play Imaginative. I'm patient there is not a thing NECA could do to make me send good money their way.

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 4 January, 2014 - 23:26
I don't know why I laughed so

I don't know why I laughed so hard at this. I think it was the toy porn reference followed by Gipsy Danger on his hands and knees... Yeah, I'm pretty sure that's it.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 5 January, 2014 - 00:31
in stores?

What's with NECA's distribution lately? Superman and lone ranger clogs comic shops but I never saw Iron Man or Gypsy at ANY store. I know Gypsy's getting a second run due to demand but it just seems like they're producing the same amount of each 18" figure no matter who or what it is. And NECA- PLEASE reissue the alien 18 inch figure at the $100 price point this year with new paint. This is a no-brainer.

christ's picture
Posted by christ on 5 January, 2014 - 00:53
Welcome to the club

Yeah. NECA's distribution is mostly where it sells the best, which is not in South Georgia.

Toys R Us showed this figure for sale ahead of Black Friday, but almost immediately it disappeared from their website by the time it took for me to go to the local store. All they had of NECA was the Prometheus two-pack of the Engineer and Squidbaby and figures from other movies that nobody liked.

I think NECA knows they've got a golden apple with this figure, which is why it's sold out until February even through online stores.

--
Great review Josh! and the snowblind photos only make this Gipsy even more epic!

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 5 January, 2014 - 10:25
Love the pictures of Gipsy in

Love the pictures of Gipsy in the snow!

And the (not so) little Patlabor crew men too! I guess to find any comparable figurines in scale, they would have to be the size of an ant.....

I agree that it can use some additional articulation in the biceps, ankles even thighs.... huh, and didn't catch that it was paper behind the visor display. And I'm just not a fan of PVC... in this case it gives Gipsy some nice heft but I still would have preferred good ol' ABS plastic.... imagine sturdy ABS panelings covering up ABS gears and joints.

But overall I'm very pleased with this one... and at the $85-$130 price, you're probably not going to find a better toy of the character. Who knows how much Play Imaginative's version will cost and if it'll be any good (have they even released their Iron Man fig yet?). Sure a company like 3A would absolutely own the Pacific Rim bots but that would constitute the highest of the high end and Bandai would do a great job too (SOC Gipsy Danger?) but I give NECA props for not blowing it on this one.

Harvey's picture
Posted by Harvey on 5 January, 2014 - 11:23
It is pretty impressive... but

I got one, but haven't taken it out of the box yet due to lack of display space. I have to say that the lack of articulated fingers (like the 18 inch Spiderman 2 figure), was a big let down for me. Other than that, this figure is pretty cool!

Great pictures Josh!

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 5 January, 2014 - 21:05
Gotta add to the snow pic

Gotta add to the snow pic love, nice job!

Gazbot's picture
Posted by Gazbot on 6 January, 2014 - 02:43
Love the review Josh

Love the review Josh

death2cornbread's picture
Posted by death2cornbread on 7 January, 2014 - 21:48
Worthy Effort

I have to say, that design looks amazing in that scale and it looks like Neca has outdone themselves in terms of detail here. Seems like it's mostly an upscale of their smaller version, at least in terms of mobility, but then again I was fairly pleased with the regular lineup anyway. I know they've received some harsh criticism, but honestly I've found a lot of enjoyment from their PR line, and I'd love to add this one to that lineup.

Hell, it looks nice enough that I might even feel comfortable sticking it with the more upscale offerings from Bandai and Yamato for that matter.

Ace of the Rebellion's picture
Posted by Ace of the Rebellion on 8 January, 2014 - 14:27
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net