CollectionDX Network

Fighter Team Jet

Comments

22 comments posted
Very good review and I

Very good review and I appreciate the honesty in your writeup/video. Even after the negatives you pointed out, it wouldn't be enough to deter me from buying it on that alone cause like you said, a fan of Ramjet would probably like it anyway. While not a huge Ramjet fan, I like the color scheme/conehead/aesthetics. However $166 is way too much for me to spend on this. I would prefer to pick one of the other MP Jets available since all I have is a Skywarp (which actually has trouble standing on its own)

You had pointed out the broken wingtip but I couldn't help noticing something else while scanning the figure in your video. Is the right arm (Ramjets right) chipped at the elbow on the upper white shoulder piece? or is it s black piece of flash sticking out? I can't quite make it out.

BTW, my first foray into 3rd party TF will be the Hercules (the Not-Devastator) I hope for my first experience into the 3rd party world to be a good one.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 5 July, 2011 - 12:08
How do they not get sued?

How do these licence infringing knock-offs not get sued into oblivion?

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 5 July, 2011 - 12:43
Ive often wondered that

Ive often wondered that myself, I mean its mostly the exact same thing! Ive read about GM suing chinese companies for making cars that not only looked like copies, but the panels were interchangeable between both vehicles. Essentially, this is the same thing.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 5 July, 2011 - 13:09
I expect it all to change soon

Well with them now completely stealing Masterpiece designs I expect it it will soon all change.

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 5 July, 2011 - 13:13
Doubt

I highly doubt that will happen. Both companies (Hasbro & Tomy) have been aware of these kinds of knockoffs for a long time. They could've slapped them a C&D notice to them by now. Also, I read one story about a 3rd-P designer had the seal of approval from Hasbro to produce a G1 Arcee KO toy of their own & sell it on the market without paying a fine.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 5 July, 2011 - 15:59
standing

Oh Dear...We are quickly approaching a day when no toy actually stands or is expected to stand, but will instead hover prettily above something called a "stand." I actually did have a problem with the Ghost MP Starscream I reviewed, but I'm told it's workable.

Nice review tho. Have you seen all of the jet product at kotoys? No idea as to build quality (probably terrible), but much much cheaper than this.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 5 July, 2011 - 13:09
KOToys.com is based out of

KOToys.com is based out of China and sells direct knockoffs of existing figures in terrible, terrible quality, with some of the worst customer service in the world. They are a blight, best to be avoided.

It IS rather amazing to me that these Jets got made... they are so far off the deep end compared to the add-ons and 'compatible' original design figures. Add in the fact that they cost almost four times as much as the base toy at US retail, and we're getting into troubling waters. Then again, many of the third party non-TF manufacturers were AT BotCon, including with new designs based directly off of some existing TF characters. I just would hate for their eyes to get too big compared to their stomachs and have them push the boundary too far and get shut down completely.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 5 July, 2011 - 15:19
Are your Ko toys issues

Are your Ko toys issues through personal experiances or what have you read online? Ive ordered from him and had no issues.

LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 6 July, 2011 - 00:25
I've been on forums when the

I've been on forums when the owner has had some pretty spectacular spats, and he's a nut. I've never bought from them, but horror stories of long delays, broken items, and an open and notorious 'black list' system of customer dealings has kept me squarely away.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 6 July, 2011 - 06:03
Yeah I don't get the appeal

Yeah I don't get the appeal of actively courting bootlegs of existing Transformers just because they come in weird color combinations.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 6 July, 2011 - 09:51
Not even just weird colors.

Not even just weird colors. KOToys makes a point of making sure to have direct knock-offs of hard to find currently on the shelf guys, like the new Windcharger figure. They're way beyond a third party manufacturer or an endearing bootlegger.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 6 July, 2011 - 09:53
Ive dealt with them twice and

Ive dealt with them twice and its been positive both times. I am ashamed (not really) to say I have purchased G1 knockoffs of Sunstreaker, Devastator (wish I would have known about the reissue) and Grimlock and I am astounded at how well made they are. If I didnt know they were bootlegs I would be very easily fooled, they have Hasbro stampings and such and the plastic used is amazing. Chrome is PERFECT. Cant speak for the other weird bootlegs though. I found the quality far surpasses what Ive experienced buying legit encore figs. This is in no way saying that none of the negatives written about them is not true, this is just my experience.

Back on topic, I wonder how these 3rd party figures are made. Do they make direct copies of the pieces and modify them or do they just measure everything, CAD it up and make exact copies with slight alterations? I'm wondering because if they are starting from scratch with measurements, they can easily just CAD up their own designs using inspiration obtained from the legit figs instead of making almost exact copies that make it obvious they are copying. They have the resources to manufacture and become legit, yet they would rather copy copy copy. Didnt they shrink Masterpiece Optimus? All that trouble to make a small duplicate.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 6 July, 2011 - 22:28
Thanks for the honest review,

Thanks for the honest review, I've been curious about these figures ever since they were first announced. I guess Has/Tak have decided that having these guys around is good for business? Fansproject is, that's for sure, think about how many people went out & bought that piece of crap Bruticus set because of Fansproject's add-on figure sets, granted, the Hasbro Bruticus was obviously never aimed at adult collectors.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 5 July, 2011 - 21:30
This review re-sparked my

This review re-sparked my interest in picking up the MP Skywarp. Are there any known issues with the Hasbro version compared to the Takara one?

ArshadAA's picture
Posted by ArshadAA on 6 July, 2011 - 02:19
MP Skywarp

Both versions have the same quality. They're just painted slightly different. But I recommend getting the Takara version just because it's in a big, sturdy box w/ a trading card & a cool instruction manual.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 6 July, 2011 - 02:29
I'd love to have the Takara

I'd love to have the Takara version had it been available at a decent price product and shipping wise. These days any shipping method below expensive trackable Express to my location is basically condemning a package to limbo.

The Hasbro one I'm looking at right now will run me 120$ plus shipping. Hard to accept paying more for a bigger box and black tail wings.

ArshadAA's picture
Posted by ArshadAA on 6 July, 2011 - 03:00
Right

I did forget to mention how expensive the Takara one is but I think you can find it at a discount price @ BBTS.COM. I do know the Hasbro one is 50% off the 100 Bucks. I should've recommend that toy to buy as well.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 6 July, 2011 - 03:04
I paid 30 for my Skywarp

I paid 30 for my Skywarp after passing on it when it was 60, then found an endcap with tons of skywarps for $17, went back with cash and they were all gone. ....$17!

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 6 July, 2011 - 22:30
$17 Skywarps?

Were the $17 MP Skywarps sold at a flea market Mr. Chachi?

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 7 July, 2011 - 02:25
I was able to get both

I was able to get both Skywarp and Thundercracker off of HLJ back when the Yen was fair. They were actually discounted Thundercracker rather heavily too. The aftermarket prices are pretty stupid for toys nobody wanted.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 6 July, 2011 - 15:31
Aftermarket

That advantage always works for the patient scavengers..

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 6 July, 2011 - 16:09
Man, and these are fairly

Man, and these are fairly pricey aren't they? Too bad, the idea had potential, guess it doesn't work.

Dre2Dee2's picture
Posted by Dre2Dee2 on 6 July, 2011 - 15:26
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net