CollectionDX Network

Exgraver

Comments

19 comments posted
THIS is what I want out of

THIS is what I want out of Hasbro: multiple triple-changing Voyager-class robots that combine into a Mega-class gestalt.

Mega-class RotF Devastator was not good enough on many levels, but I blame that mostly on how complex Bayformers are.

Construction equipment-manufacturer Kubota released a small-size backhoe in teal and purple. I got teased heavily for pointing out that I liked it with those colors.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 September, 2011 - 01:30
The only fear I have about

The only fear I have about things like this is what if the company goes out of business half way through? If it was hasbro I would expect the whole thing to be done, but with a third party, who knows if it will ever get completed?

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 12 September, 2011 - 11:34
Definitely a legitimate

Definitely a legitimate concern. Thankfully I know TFC Toys has been around for a while so I don't think that's too likely to happen. If it were a new company who hadn't produced something before, I'd be a bit more worried.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 12 September, 2011 - 11:42
I think there are enough

I think there are enough rabid transformer fans with deep enough pockets to fund this amazing endeavor.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 13 September, 2011 - 08:27
While there's always the

While there's always the possibility of the company going broke, there ARE a few things working in the fans' favor.

Chiefly, these guys use the Energon Combiner Pegs system. Which means if you have any of the Energon combiners, you can use Exgraver as a giant arm, much like GaoGaiGar or Galaxy Convoy.

The second release is Heavylabor, who forms the crotch and thighs. Pictures have shown that you can partially transform him into crotch mode, which will let you attach the Energon Combiner Basics to his legs.

So in the worst case scenario that only the first two get released, they still have some play value.

Alternately, we only kind of need the first 4 to be released to make a complete Devestator. Granted, he'll have one reverse hand and you'll have to get duplicates of the arms and legs.

updatedude's picture
Posted by updatedude on 12 September, 2011 - 13:17
WOW....wow. A hundred

WOW....wow. A hundred dollars. You certainly aren't exagerating about this being for weathy collectors. Two arms, two legs, and a torso consisting of two parts. One hundred dollars each. Friggin' SIX HUNDRED DOLLAR FIGURE. You not only have to be a wealthy fan, but a crazy one. I'm not sure if I could justify it even if I had the money! I mean sure, I would LOVE it, but that's just insane. I wonder how much it would go for if it were offical Takara/Hasbro product? I know being third-party is pretty much what brings the price up. At the very least, it looks like some quality product. Just shows how much money it costs a small-time company to produce similar quality to a big-time company.

Man, though....to know that you can put out a figure like this, make 'em 100 dollars, and KNOW that he'll sell out. That's one hell of a business. That, and most folks that buy 'em are almost certain to buy the other five. Amazing.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 12 September, 2011 - 21:30
Yeah it's expensive and I

Yeah it's expensive and I hope I don't feel buyers remorse or give up on buying them all before they are all released. I kind of talked myself into buying it thinking it would make a cool six part review for CDX, at least that made me feel better about buying it LOL, but then I always come to the realization that it is a SIX HUNDRED dollar figure. I get a sinking feeling. At least you can sort of "finance" it.

I don't think it should have cost anywhere near $100. Had it been Hasbro, I'd venture to guess it would be between $19.99-$29.99. But it isnt so you have to pay for its limited runs.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 12 September, 2011 - 22:15
Not the first expensive figure

The EX-Gokin stuff is kind of pricey too. And, of course, there are people with huge World War Robot collections.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 13 September, 2011 - 12:21
Yeah, but I see the EX-Gokin

Yeah, but I see the EX-Gokin reviews and those World War Robots and I think: "Man, I'm gona get me one of those someday!" Because they look TOTALLY worth the price! You can see it in the detail and the materials. This...this looks like a twenty to thirty dollar toy! Once again, I completely understand that 3rd party stuff is gona be more expensive. I've paid for accessories from places like Spymonkey Creations and I do buy some Glyos stuff knowing that they would be probably be a bit cheaper if they were run by a big company....but that's like a couple bucks here and there. This looks way out of proportion! I mean, when I saw it, I was expecting 50 or 60 for standard 3rd party kinda prices, but a hundred? Maybe I'm just not as knowledgable about these things, but it seems ridiculous.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 13 September, 2011 - 13:22
Indeed.

I can SEE where they can argue that the engineering justifies the cost... I don't think a third party has tried to make a combiner this size, not couting one-shots from professional customizers. While each part probably only has ~$30 or so in materials and labor, the effort of designing what LOOKS to be a very poseable Gestalt with solid vehicle and robot modes must be tough.

That said, I think they'd get a lot less complaint out of, say, an $80 price point, since fans grumble but accept $50 scouts from Fansproject and these are clearly bigger, if a bit less intricate.

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 13 September, 2011 - 13:58
for a 100$

for a100$ they can solve the shovel kible? Wow... I'm surprised...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 13 September, 2011 - 05:30
Every time someone says

Every time someone says kibble with regards to robots I just mentally replace it with "part I don't like."

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 13 September, 2011 - 06:51
I usually end up calling it

I usually end up calling it "Crap".

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 13 September, 2011 - 09:04
Don't think that constitutes

Don't think that constitutes kibble chief.

updatedude's picture
Posted by updatedude on 13 September, 2011 - 13:07
this bad boy is already

this bad boy is already waiting in my POL for his friend heavylabor :P
i know they're expensive, but 3rd party manufacturer and all, and considering fansprojects' 50 dollar causality Scout-class figures, i think it could be worse.

plus, these things just look great.
just curious, what size are these things, compared to the newer Masterpiece figures?

wilcosu35's picture
Posted by wilcosu35 on 13 September, 2011 - 08:04
You cant even compare it to a

You cant even compare it to a Masterpiece in scale because these are about half the height of say Rodimus. Its maybe about voyager size. In my next review of Heavylabor, I will use other transformers as a visual scale.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 13 September, 2011 - 15:17
I know I'm always the "It's

I know I'm always the "It's too expensive!" guy,but for Christ's sake a 600 dollar Transformer?
Besides,the movie one was actually kind of cool.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 14 September, 2011 - 17:09
Well now I'm on board for

Well now I'm on board for Hercules/Not-Devastator. I simply haven't heard any real negative things about Exgraver, aside from the price tag on this and the other five to be released later, to not go for this. Or maybe I'm just that weak willed.

Detective Barricade's picture
Posted by Detective Barricade on 16 September, 2011 - 20:51
I never understood all the

I never understood all the kibble hate. That's what makes it a TF instead of just another Japanese robot.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 16 September, 2011 - 21:10
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net