CollectionDX Network

Pentabot

Comments

8 comments posted
Wish I could find the rest of it...

I've had the core ship/torso part of Pentabot for years, and have never been able to hunt down the remaining limbs on their own. I sorely want to find those remaining pieces as I feel that this set would have tremendous shelf presence, with considerable mention towards how...ahem....uniquely colored it is.

Great review! You've definitely increased my lust for completing this toy tenfold!

thesnadd's picture
Posted by thesnadd on 19 June, 2011 - 17:26
cool

very cool toy...nice review!

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 19 June, 2011 - 18:23
Thanks for the history

I always thought that Acrobunch came from the same set of shows as Baxinger, which also had combining bikes.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 19 June, 2011 - 18:54
80's Swap Meet Staple

This was one of those toys that was plentiful available at swap meets and shopping mall outlets everywhere in the 1980's. It was popular and many kids had them, even the kids that were not into robots had them. I unfortunately never got one as I figured I can always get one and also, humorously, because it wasn't a Godaikin!

I do appreciate it now and I wish I had one I should keep my eyes open for one now.

What I did get was the motorcycle Model Kit made by Aoshima with its brilliant box artwork, too bad the model kit was a piece of junk. I have recently found all the parts and I plan to review it here on CDX.

BTW that cartoon looks cool and I would love to see the cartoon. I'm sure the people who say it sucks most likely never even saw it. It just seems to be the ongoing 30 year Mantra of Acrobunch: "It sucks because it copies Raiders..." yet I don't know anybody who's actually seen the anime! I would like to hear some new criticism of the anime from somebody who actually seen it.

Awesome review!
LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 June, 2011 - 10:46
The motorcycles are out of

The motorcycles are out of scale with the cars and torso-jet!
What madness.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 20 June, 2011 - 16:45
YES! The model kit says 1/72

YES! The model kit says 1/72 but are more 1/18 scale while the rest of the vehicle are 1/72.

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 20 June, 2011 - 16:49
Pentabot

I just discovered in my attic a 1985 Golden Condor Pentabot that I bought for my kids and they never used because it wasn't a brand name Transformer. I think it was out of the box once so they could look at it Christmas day and has never been out of the box since. It's complete, unused and has all the decals in perfect condition. The box is like brand new except that the back of the box has two areas of about 2"X2" where the printing was ripped off when the kids took off the wrapping paper.

I've seen one of these on eBay for $150 with pieces missing. Does anybody know what this is really worth? I'd like to put this up for auction but don't know where to start pricewise. I also don't want to be taken advantage of because of my ignorance, and am reluctant to sell until I get a bit smarter. Any advise?

bill

wbrader's picture
Posted by wbrader on 7 November, 2011 - 10:05
what it's worth

What your bot is worth is variable. The least arbitrary value is whatever someone will buy it for on ebay. I've seen similar boxed specimens go for anywhere between 50-200 dollars. You could put a reserve on the auction but in my experience it limits bidding. I'd recommend a longish duration auction with no reserve. Take lots of pictures. You'll get what it's worth. There aren't a ton of these left so the higher end of that estimate isn't out of the question. The only way you could be taken advantage of in this scenario is if someone offers you a few bucks to end the auction early. Resist the temptation to do so.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 7 November, 2011 - 10:26
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net