CollectionDX Network

Deluxe-class Decepticon Hailstorm

Comments

13 comments posted
Great review EVA, I also

Great review EVA, I also picked this one up even though Im more into the classics style TF's and I have to say I was pretty impressed too. I saw all those missiles and thought "AWESOME". I was kinda thinking they were all spring loaded but hey at least they still "shoot" . Had a hell of a time putting into tank mode from robot mode without instructions a month after buying him. I think I got close though.

How do you feel about mindset? I havent got that one yet, I usually DO buy repaints but havent picked that one up.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 15 January, 2011 - 18:08
Lemme just say I'm glad I got

Lemme just say I'm glad I got this guy first, because Mindset's color scheme is atrocious!

Yeah, pulling up on the head/collarbones and putting the legs into place in vehicle mode are the most taxing part of the trans. for me, but I'm not worried about it.

Only thing that might be a turn-off for some might be how small his lower arms are compared to his upper arms. TRUKK NOT MUNKY?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 January, 2011 - 18:55
Come to think of it, other

Come to think of it, other than Bayformers Screamer 2007 and Ironhide, what's the last multi-missile-launching bot we had?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 15 January, 2011 - 18:59
I stopped really paying

I stopped really paying attention to TFs after the second movie since the robot modes were getting pretty lame,like the bike robots or the steam shovel who turned into a figure eight with a face,but the TF reviews on here as of late make me think I'm missing out.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 17 January, 2011 - 11:33
You sound like one of those

You sound like one of those Trans-fans who can't get over the fact that there are non-humanoid TFs in Bayformers...

By chance, did you listen to Vlog #2 on my YouTube channel?

I've got three HftD toys so far (the third is in post-production as I type this), and all three of them are very awesome. There's maybe half a dozen more I'm interested in getting from the line.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 17 January, 2011 - 13:44
I wouldn't say I "can't get

I wouldn't say I "can't get over it," I just don't buy things I don't want,so I didn't buy a toy that transforms from "construction vehicle" to "broken construction vehicle." They were fine in the movie,but not as something I want to put up on my shelf.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 17 January, 2011 - 22:51
Love it!

I also got this one and I love it, lots of people complain about the size, it's barelly taller than any Scout Class figure, but being that short adds a lot of bulkiness to the figure (and GOD knows that's my fetish!). Plus I really like those camo paint apps.

Is it me or Hailstorm looks like a bad-ass robo-gorilla with bad-ass rockets on its shoulders?

MalikTaus's picture
Posted by MalikTaus on 17 January, 2011 - 13:15
I agree with everything you

I agree with everything you said in your comment. Any small TF is usually capable of being represented at a larger scale. If Hailstorm had been no larger than Voyager-class, and been as awesome, I would have been very satisfied.

Being bulky may not be a result of being a Scout-class figure, that's just how the character appears and the alt mode they chose. I will say, though, that this alt mode looks a lot better than TFCybertron's Scattorshot was (damn, missed my chance to get him AND Dropshot).

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 17 January, 2011 - 13:49
Great Alt mode...

Too bad the robot mode a bit "gorilla" like...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 18 January, 2011 - 20:01
Hate to say it, but Hailstorm

Hate to say it, but Hailstorm and Mindset just get a big 'meh' from me. I don't think there's necessarily anything horribly bad about this toy, but nothing that really draws me to it...

Tomahawk and Terradive are both awesome though. Since when in recent years has there been another Transformer armed with a trident? And Terradive can happily hold it in both hands at the same time! Kind of regret not getting the Takara Sidearm Sideswipe though...that blue one in the DOTM toyline may have to do.

Any chance of seeing a review of Terradive, if you don't mind me asking?

Detective Barricade's picture
Posted by Detective Barricade on 9 May, 2011 - 21:36
I missed getting Terradive

I missed getting Terradive because I waited too long to get him. I haven't seen him in weeks. Same with Perceptor, Skystalker, and Jazz. Q_Q

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 May, 2011 - 11:22
Skystalker...

I never saw Skystalker's wave at all in stores. No Divebomb, no Scattorshot, no Skystalker. I could go for Sunspot I suppose, but that toy's colors don't look so good with Mindwipe. Perceptor is okay, though his back may really annoy you in how hard it is to get it to tab together. Can't see what's going on in there since his shoulders are connected to it too, and moving his shoulders once it seems locked in is enough to cause it to become undone! Still, that's pretty much his greatest flaw, and is decent otherwise. Jazz is my favorite out of the RTS Deluxe figures. He, Windcharger, and Lugnut are THE ones to not pass up in the line. Lugnut's not quite as clean as his Animated counterpart, but still a cool made-up-bomber jet.

Detective Barricade's picture
Posted by Detective Barricade on 10 May, 2011 - 14:57
I'm prepared to jump on

I'm prepared to jump on Universe Lugnut as soon as I see him; he looks bad ass!

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 10 May, 2011 - 15:56
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net