CollectionDX Network

Cyberverse Powerglide

Comments

11 comments posted
I just bought this last

I just bought this last night! I'm not a fan, though; I just thought he looked neat. My wife doesn't usually pay that close attention to what the toy is (though sometimes she'll ask). So, since I bought it with the other grocery items, she was looking at the receipt like usual and then asked:

"...did you just buy something called Powerglide?"

"Yes. Yes I did."

Moments pass.

"You know that sounds like----"

"YES I KNOW. They named him in the 80's whatdoyawant?"

"They still had...personal lubricant in the 80's. Not much of an excuse."

*ahem* anyway, he's an awesome figure! I'll be completely honest, though: I totally didn't think about the name that way until my wife brought it up. I dunno how I missed that one.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 11 June, 2011 - 09:48
This guy was the first I

This guy was the first I bought from the Cyberverse line, and now I own all of them.

I'm not sure what happened.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 11 June, 2011 - 11:24
Most of the DOTM line hasn't

Most of the DOTM line hasn't been impressing me, but I ordered this guy since it combines the best aspects of the movie design sense with its G1 look.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 12 June, 2011 - 08:09
I spotted Leader Ironhide at

I spotted Leader Ironhide at a Costco last week for $40. I'm hoping to get him soon, though I'm skipping the new Ultimate (yep, the THIRD one we've gotten, WTF) and Deluxe Bumblebees they had, and averting my eyes from Sentinel Prime until I see the movie. Right now the only sets I've unintentionally seen that are of any interest are the three Rallybots and MAYBE Voyager Megs, because I'm avoiding spoilers once again.

Dammit- they need to give us a new RotF Leader Megs, and Leader versions of Blackout and Demolishor! Then I will be a happy camper.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 June, 2011 - 10:08
So far I only have deluxe

So far I only have deluxe class Starscream, Roadbuster . Powerglide with Voyager Shockwave have been ordered.

It's best wait until after the movie rush comes since of course more molds will be coming. I'm liking the design for Dino (was to be Mirage) based on the trailer. I might get Laserbeak too since I like animal Transformers.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 12 June, 2011 - 10:54
Given the fact that Megatron

Given the fact that Megatron sports a very different look this time...again, and how both Blackout and Demolishor didn't do very much aside from the early carnage scenes, I wouldn't hold my breath on Hasbro and TakaraTomy releasing Leader versions of them. Though how the hell they expect yet ANOTHER giant Bumblebee toy to sell, I haven't a clue. I haven't seen Battle Ops Bumblebee move very quickly even when on clearance...

DOTM Voyager Megatron, though, is great fun. AND integrates his Mechtech weapon into the vehicle mode!

Detective Barricade's picture
Posted by Detective Barricade on 12 June, 2011 - 17:40
The leader class figures do

The leader class figures do little for me. They tend to be overly gimmicky and lights +sound (especially sound) are useless features for me. I prefer smaller TFs (mostly deluxe class and scout, voyager for rare occasion).

I do have Leader Prime from 2007 and think it's cool. I picked up Leader Starscream a couple of months ago but not even a half hour and I managed to break its toe, so I returned. I like the mechtech one better anyway.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 12 June, 2011 - 17:47
Couldn't agree more. I

Couldn't agree more. I picked up Powerglide about a month ago and couldn't be happier. The transformation is a work of art. The vehicle form hides the robot better than any figure in this size. And it's a solid toy in that mode, too--nothing flops about. The "shoulders" on mine don't peg into the body as firmly as I'd like in bot mode, but that's a minor quibble.

My only real complaint is the landing gear. A great addition to a nearly perfect figure...ruined by basic weight distribution?! Like your last pic shows, the tail end is too heavy, causing the nose to point skyward. How did you get that front gear to sit on the ground in the pic prior? Didja cheat it a bit, or is there a fix?

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 14 June, 2011 - 01:13
Oh, I most definitely

Oh, I most definitely cheated. I meant to complain about that but it never made it into my final draft, I was just happy it had landing gear at all. A tad annoying though if you wanna display in vehicle mode.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 23 June, 2011 - 20:50
I seen these guys at my local

I seen these guys at my local stores and they look cool.... just not £9 cool that's £1 more then a basic and its a smaller toy overall... i just cant justify it even if it is really cool

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 16 June, 2011 - 14:06
About the landing gear, I've

About the landing gear, I've found out what to do to make it work a bit better. Turn it into the jet mode and deploy the landing gear and then press down slightly on the jet. It'll bend down a bit and then stay a bit more balanced. Seems to help with mine, hopefully it will with others as well.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 23 June, 2011 - 22:09
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net