CollectionDX Network

Creature From The Black Lagoon Super Sized Figure

Comments

9 comments posted
Even though I'm not a fan of

Even though I'm not a fan of the actual film, this is a great piece. Love the photos also!

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 12 March, 2010 - 23:13
It looks gorgeous! I love

It looks gorgeous! I love the photo with Pheydon sitting on his (it's?) shoulder.

TimF's picture
Posted by TimF on 13 March, 2010 - 01:59
I love the detailing on the

I love the detailing on the scales, and I really like the face sculpt. I kept looking at it and then it clicked. He's a Kappa!

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 13 March, 2010 - 02:27
Ha! You know, I never really

Ha! You know, I never really thought about, but yeah, he sort of does remind me of a Kappa! It looks like the sculptor is Japanese too, so maybe that's no accident.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 13 March, 2010 - 18:11
Great job

Not a fan of vinyls, the piece, or the creature BUT your review was interesting, concise, enjoyable, and incredible picture taking...really looked like your creature was coming out of a black lagoon.
Bravo

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 13 March, 2010 - 13:42
Thanks very much! It's

Thanks very much! It's always a challenge to make reviews of these types of toys interesting, so I'm glad it came out ok. Unfortunately, even at five and a half pounds, the Creature is still buoyant so the shots in the water had to be taken in a split second before he rose up and fell over. Those were the two best I could get. Not perfect, but not bad. lol

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 13 March, 2010 - 18:08
Just call me Bob

Nice job Dave! Nice colorful toy.
So that explains it. The bobbing figure gave you those motion blurs in the water shots, but it worked out perfect, as it looks like the figure is animated, and lunging right out of that koi pond, or whatever it is. heh heh.

repairtechjon's picture
Posted by repairtechjon on 13 March, 2010 - 22:43
Exactly! Normally, I'd ditch

Exactly! Normally, I'd ditch a picture like that but since it accidentally lunged right toward the camera, I liked it.

And yes, that is a koi pond. ;)

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 13 March, 2010 - 22:50
I would suggest that the

I would suggest that the lack of articulation or action features is exactly what qualifies this as a toy. If that's not enough, you photographed the thing in a Koi pond, which is exactly the kind of situation a toy might find itself in. In fact, the only reason we can say it's NOT a toy is the hefty price tag, yet I'm sure that even in this economy there is a lucky little kid somewhere beating the crap out of one of these right now.

Nice review, as always, Dave.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 17 March, 2010 - 18:23
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net