CollectionDX Network

Combat-R Zero "Plutonium"

Comments

11 comments posted
Awesome review Sanjeev! I'm

Awesome review Sanjeev! I'm tellin ya, vinyls are really starting to grow on me. That thing is cool. I am glad I got to check it out and hold it. That sucker is heavy.
-Dan
CollectionDX Staff

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 7 April, 2008 - 01:11
Not a joke

This may sound like a joke, but it's not: this toy makes me wish I was more into the whole vinyl/small-scale toy building company genre. I could almost call it inspirational. Would I get one? Ehh... maybe. But it does look quite good. Almost makes me wanna step up and design a toy like this...

Good review!
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 7 April, 2008 - 02:30
So what are you going to do

So what are you going to do with the other four :p

I love unpretentious "designer" toys like these. This robot looks so clean and sharp, especially the red one.

Nidaram's picture
Posted by Nidaram on 7 April, 2008 - 07:43
Combat-R comments...

Thanks for the comments, guys!

Yeah, in person and out of the package, these things really shine. It may not look it, but the green one, "Swamp", (which JoshB now has) is excellent. It seems that lots of people automatically go for the hero colors, but the Swamp version looks ultra-realistic, with its matte finish and just the right tone of olive drab. Seriously, Robert had to have taken a lot of time and care with the color choices for these figures. The colors combined with the sharp detail paint apps and prints make for a great piece.

Oh, Nidaram, the other four were very quickly snatched up by others (JoshB included!). But you hit the nail on the head: this is toy for the sake of toy. Excellently made, standing on its own merits...nothing pretentious about it.

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 7 April, 2008 - 08:52
I can't say that I love the

I can't say that I love the design, although I do like it more than most designer vinyl. But the price is right and I can appreciate the quality of it. In fact, as I repeatedly said this weekend, I actually LOVE the insert! It's so simple and childish. It's designed like some cheap toy you'd get at Walgreens or a flea market. It reminds me of when you were little and even those crummy things were like gold, yet when you open the package you get something you can appreciate even as an adult collector. I say "bravo!" to that insert!


"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 7 April, 2008 - 09:38
Great review man! Between

Great review man!

Between you and toysrevil, I think I'm gonna have to really snag one of these...

erechoveraker's picture
Posted by erechoveraker on 7 April, 2008 - 11:50
Never been into the whole

Never been into the whole simple vinyl toy but this looks nice. would I buy one... I dunno maybe if I seen it in a store but other wise I don't think I could be bothered to hunt it down
_____________________________________________________________________________
Transformer and other robot art by me on my DA site blitz-wing.deviantart.com

Blitz's picture
Posted by Blitz on 7 April, 2008 - 16:35
Great review Sanjeev! I've

Great review Sanjeev!

I've only recently become remotely interested in the vinyl stuff (thanks a lot to the Gore Sky Deviler for opening up a new world of junk to burn my wallet, lol), but I saw these in the newsfeed here on CDX and decided to check it out.

Well, I ordered the black one (aka Skunkwerks) first and really liked it a lot. So I decided to go back and order the whole set because, well... gotta catch 'em all... hehehe They're all cool, but the black one and the glow ones are definitely my faves.

Also, as a side note, I've noticed that in a lot of the online pics, the black one looks kinda... brown. Well it's not. It's an awesome matte black finish that isn't really done proper justice in most of the online photos. So yeah, just thought I'd mention that.

Anyway... these things are really awesome. They're big compared to most of the other vinyl figures I've seen online, and weigh quite a good bit.

In terms of being a full blown action figure, I'd say it's more of a vinyl sculpture with limited articulation, but then again, that's one of the things that makes it so cool. The beauty of the sculpt, and the simplicity of the toy. It's a nice combination, and a refreshing break from the "handle with extreme caution" side effect of modern gokins.

I think this is one vinyl most robo-fans can really appreciate, even if you're not into the whole "designer" vinyl thing. In fact, forget about vinyl... It's just a really cool toy robot. :-)

Oh, and I agree with Dave. I think the packaging rocks!

REX-203's picture
Posted by REX-203 on 14 April, 2008 - 06:00
I agree...

haven't been much for the Vinyl scene but the Gore and Phantom versions of Sky Deviler have paved the way combined with Sanjeev's lust for the glow... This set (so I can get the glow) is next in my must get list. Damn Sanjeev! It's all his fault!

___________________
CollectionDX Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 14 April, 2008 - 09:52
That's why he's "teh Jerk"!

That's why he's "teh Jerk"!

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 14 April, 2008 - 11:02
Aww...you guys make me

Aww...you guys make me blush! :P

Yes, teh Jerk rides again...hooking more and more chogokin collectors on lusty, luxurious vinyl!

But, yeah, I can't emphasize more the colors of these things. Digital photography and subsequent display on the internets is always a tricky thing with colors--you can pretty much guarantee you'll never get the colors of anything quite right! And color is pretty critical for these toys. Believe me when I say, they're just right. TBDX board member, eriku, just picked up the Swamp version and said the same about its brilliant shade of green.

Anyway, yeah, your mileage may vary about the card insert. I didn't like it, but I know many collectors who love it. All I know is that I'm anxious for more robot designs in this line!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 15 April, 2008 - 20:29
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net