CollectionDX Network

Black Lion (with Keith)

Comments

17 comments posted
Looking good, a Voltron with

Looking good, a Voltron with at least respectable articulation.

And a bit high priced than it should be.

I still prefer the old GoLion toys. Despite the limited articulation and age of that toy, it still has a charm none of the new toys appears to have.

kurochan_24's picture
Posted by kurochan_24 on 25 October, 2012 - 21:57
Well at least you're finally done with it!

So glad I have both the Toynami versions. Not often the Toynami product ends up being superior to the competition!

Thanks for the honest review.

Juise's picture
Posted by Juise on 25 October, 2012 - 23:12
Suggestion on posing for all those that bought this...

... also a question on your end Adam since you physically have it in front of you and i don't.

By looking at the knee stubs on the black lion that tab into the leg lions, the shape of the front and back of the stubs look the same. Therefore if you twisted the thigh swivel so the black lions back paws are facing what would be the front of voltron if standing up, you could then peg the leg lions in as well.

What all this would accomplish is now the range of motion would be better for posing, since the original way in the review only allows his legs one ratchet click back and quite a few forward --- now with thigh swiveled 180 degrees so the black lions back paws face forward and leg lions in should allow one ratchet click FORWARD and QUITE A FEW RATCHET CLICKS BACKWARD.

And if this works the only tradeoff is having the black lions back paws in the front as kibble, but then again its not out of place since you see all the other lions paws anyways... just saying.

EDIT: It might actually not work since the black lions back paws look like they go in a lot deeper into the leg lions than I originally thought, but if Adam or anyone who has these could try and see if it works...

blade-edge's picture
Posted by blade-edge on 26 October, 2012 - 02:55
No rotating

I thought of rotating the thigh as well but the slot for the feet and tab is cut to fit that setup just the one way.

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 26 October, 2012 - 13:35
I'm sorry but I still prefer

I'm sorry but I still prefer the Trendmasters one I reviewed over this. While the thighs are smaller, I don't like the big gap that it left between the top of the thighs and body.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 26 October, 2012 - 08:11
Looks good but...

Mattel should do the unavoidable ginourmously priced gitf-seft, just to fix all that QC issues.

zopilotez's picture
Posted by zopilotez on 26 October, 2012 - 08:49
One big Anticlimax

Wow. As impressive as it looks, and as bold as the idea sounded. It really seems like this was one gigantic let down on the grand scheme of things.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 26 October, 2012 - 12:22
I don't know, given the

I don't know, given the individual lion reviews, I don't think it was enough of a letdown. I was kind of hoping that when you put it all together one of the feet wouldn't fit so it couldn't stand up, or maybe the arms would spontaneously fall out. I'm pretty surprised that it works at all.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 26 October, 2012 - 13:34
Incredible size and presence,

Incredible size and presence, but that gray mesh-work plastic just exudes cheapness.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 26 October, 2012 - 13:29
Sorry about your experience.

I know what it's like to feed the Matty beast, and I've been there when Mattel's favoritism for Masters of the Universe has shown through.

Back when Moss Man was being previewed, Mattel had applied the flocking material to his ears, to which fans immediately cried foul since it wasn't accurate to the vintage toy. Mattel went back and "fixed" the error, resulting in two versions of Moss Man--flocked and unflocked ears--being made available. This was over the course of a few months, mind you.

The DC Universe crowd immediately pitched a fit. There had been several times when they'd brought up similar errors in paint apps and costume designs, and all Mattel did was repeat "We'll look into it, we'll look into it!" until the figures finally shipped, errors intact.

And when you mentioned how you could go in and repair the Blue Lion's neck ratchet, it immediately brought to mind an all-too-familiar rebuttal from MOTUC/DCUC collectors: "I can fix it, but on a $____ "adult collector" figure, I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO."

King Brachion's picture
Posted by King Brachion on 26 October, 2012 - 23:54
This toy is always going to

This toy is always going to have bad karmic stink around it for me. The completed Voltron is actually pretty nice and I think it looks awesome when displayed, but all the BS from a year of dealing with Matty and the final sticker shock when I realized how much I spent kind of sours the experience.

GetterVolt's picture
Posted by GetterVolt on 28 October, 2012 - 15:12
It's too bad

It's too bad such a great idea failed in execution. Reminds me of my MP-10 Prime I just picked up. Looks like a great toy until you start playing with and and you notice all the little stupid issues that make you go "Why did they do that?"

hechatonchires's picture
Posted by hechatonchires on 30 October, 2012 - 08:44
MATTY COLLECTOR UPDATE

So I decided to brave exchanging the Black Lion. It is currently on it's way back as I type this. I will of course do an update when I see how that turns out.

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 31 October, 2012 - 16:48
I thought someone said on one

I thought someone said on one of the other lions that Matty only did refunds? Did you have to go through a lot of hoops to get them to exchange it?

Edit: Oh, I guess that was in your original review, and then The Big R commented too. So, is Matty Collector's customer service better now?

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 31 October, 2012 - 17:33
Supposedly better

CS is supposedly better since being handled by a team state-side. They say they do have stock held back for exchanges for QC issues and I have found no reports of anyone exchanging lions not getting one back so we will see.

So as far as I am expecting based on what I am told in their emails to me is as long as I sent everything back I would get a new one in exchange.

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 31 October, 2012 - 17:38
I just got my black lions.

I just got my black lions. one of them was perfect, the other was missing the voltron chest part. now I have a voltron with no shield - emblem on the front and no way to release the head to robot mode. I am feeling this may effect my pre-order for caste Greyscull because imagine if that was missing the jaw bridge.

odeean's picture
Posted by odeean on 6 November, 2012 - 06:59
My black lion arrived

My black lion arrived today.
To sum up the whole thing. All the gimmicks fall flat. The figures are pretty awful. The quality is shoddy for its price. The joints are a bit restrictive and it leans forward in a static pose.
But it really is pretty massive and sitting atop my shelf millimetres from touching the ceiling it looks pretty great.

In fact the size reminded me of a jumbo, and that's basically what it is. A jumbo combiner.

eitlobsaboo's picture
Posted by eitlobsaboo on 20 November, 2012 - 06:11
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net