CollectionDX Network

A-Wing Fighter (Green Leader, Walmart Exclusive)

Comments

12 comments posted
Thanks to your review, I now

Thanks to your review, I now know that A-Wing pilots wear fireman pants.

-Andrew

Destroy All Podcasts DX's picture
Posted by Destroy All Pod... on 2 November, 2008 - 20:58
Imagine that acting credit

Movie: "Star Wars VI" Role: "A-Wing Pilot" Only Line: "AAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHH!!!"

*****

The cover: Well, duh. That's so they can rebox it next year as the "SPECIAL EDITION" A-Wing, which does have light and sound effects.

I'm sure that someone used to doing light-up model kits could work with this pretty easily, though, and that hatch would be a very convenient place for batteries. They certainly didn't go to any great lengths to conceal the screws!

A friend of mine back in the 80's had an X-wing and a Y-wing, and his dad had modified both of them to have lights; I was tremendously jealous.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 2 November, 2008 - 21:28
I've got an a-wing that was

I've got an a-wing that was released like 10 years ago perhaps.
And it has that hatch on the bottom as well that doesn't open. Plus the whole a-wing looks identical to this one, only with a different pilot...

zolarzyztem's picture
Posted by zolarzyztem on 3 November, 2008 - 05:03
Old-School

Okay, I guess I'll play the part of "grumpy old collector" here.

I received the original A-Wing fighter as a Christmas gift way back in the mid-80s. Don't ask me which year. It's in a box along with the rest of my original collection at Mom's house.

Anyway, you are correct in that the compartment on the bottom was for batteries. The original A-Wing had "sound effects." See that odd "third" hole in the bottom near the tail? That's about where the button was to activate the "sound effects," which amounted to a buzzing noise. Still, it was something.

Those extra batteries and electronics didn't add much heft to the thing. The A-Wing has always been light.

I picked up the new one last week, mostly for the figure. Still have enough room on the ceiling for one more small fighter. :-)

<======>Darth Cirrocu<======>
"Arashi no nakade kagayaite."
"Coelum ad Proelium Elige"

Darth Cirrocu's picture
Posted by Darth Cirrocu on 3 November, 2008 - 14:05
I knew it! I wish they

I knew it! I wish they didn't leave the electronics out of it. All I can think is that maybe they had to meet some price point. Sounds like you suffer from the same Star Wars drug habit I recently picked up. I have 11 ships to make room for on the ceiling of my office. 4 are up including the MF and its starting to get crowded looking. I have a question for you. Is the original A-wing fighter with electronics from the short lived cartoon Droids?

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 3 November, 2008 - 14:36
Original A-Wing

Honestly, I can't remember. I do remember having some of the "Droids" action figures, and one or two of the Mini-Rigs from that line, but I can't recall if the A-Wing came in "Droids" packaging or standard Star Wars/ROTJ. It was one of the last Star Wars toys I got, so it must have been from the Droids line, since I remember that (and "Ewoks") taking over the Kenner line the last couple years.

Threw away the packaging the day after Christmas back in those days, so hard to tell.

<======>Darth Cirrocu<======>
"Arashi no nakade kagayaite."
"Coelum ad Proelium Elige"

Darth Cirrocu's picture
Posted by Darth Cirrocu on 4 November, 2008 - 18:56
The old X-Wing also had a light-up feature

There was a light bulb in the nose, and when you pushed a button it lit up. FUN-O.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 3 November, 2008 - 14:40
Dude, we are discussing the

Dude, we are discussing the A-wing, not the X-wing, save this sarcastic comment for the X-wing review.

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 3 November, 2008 - 15:03
Oh, don't worry

I'm still kicking myself that I let that thing get away from me. In fact, there were lots of toys from back then that I remember mistreating, abusing, losing the parts, finally just consigning it to the junk bin; I want to go back in time and be all "YOU IDIOT, THAT'S AN ORIGINAL KENNER MILLENNIUM FALCON! YOU DON'T HIT IT WITH A ROCK!"

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 3 November, 2008 - 17:21
I used to have this problem

I used to have this problem too, with the Star Wars vehicles, but I decided I had to pare down my collecting and gave them all to my nephew (I only had about 5). But sometimes I still miss them and find myself in the WalMart aisle looking at them.

Should this toy be classified as "Hasbro X WalMart X Lucasfilm"? ;)

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 3 November, 2008 - 15:40
I'd just as soon they left

I'd just as soon they left the electronics out. Otherwise they pass the cost of the electronics on to you,and it's not really worth it for a feature you look at once and never again.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 3 November, 2008 - 20:57
I wouldn't mind some lights and sounds

These days, we can do better than just a tiny little blinking LED on the front. We can have sequences, sound clips, variable-intensity; all sorts of fun things.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 3 November, 2008 - 23:00
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net