CollectionDX Network

AMP Suit

Comments

17 comments posted
Interactive webcam features

The 2009 films "Star Trek" and "Transformers- Revenge of the Fallen" also have interactive-webcam features on their sites similar to this. I haven't use them yet myself or know all of the details, but for the former they give in-depth cutaways and animations of the remake-Enterprise; while for the latter your head is surrounded by a virtual helmet of movie-Optimus Prime's.

I think this is a whole new(?) level of entertainment on the way which Hollywood has just tapped into.

...And you thought web-cams were just for looking at girls takin' it all off, ehh? You just watch- sales are gonna soar once this technology goes to games and TV series.
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 November, 2009 - 23:41
Holy...

It's better than I expected... must... get... one...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 5 November, 2009 - 03:02
Whoo! That iTag demo is

Whoo! That iTag demo is mind-blowing. I was impressed enough that the airship had moving parts. Moreso when I noticed that it was casting a shadow on your fingers. But that AMP suit running around (and off the tag!). Yowza.

The only big drawback is the orientation. Top-down works okay for the airship, but looking down on the AMP suit is a problem. The natural instinct is to get it upright...which causes the image to cut out. Heh.

Cool to see you give the toy a fair shake, without all the ridiculous baggage this movie is getting. I was lucky enough to catch the IMAX 3D extended preview thingie. Without any prior knowledge, I enjoyed it. The 3D was cool, character models looked great, and the story looked like fun. It's not Shakespeare. And it's not breaking new ground thematically. I get to see robots and nature try to stomp each other. Since I love both, I don't care which one wins. ;-)

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 5 November, 2009 - 04:17
I think If I had a different

I think If I had a different webcam and the table space, it could work on a flat surface. I just didn't have an ideal setup.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 5 November, 2009 - 08:59
My first reaction was, "If

My first reaction was, "If only you could point your webcam down at a table, then put the tag there." LOL. Dur. The 3D model would still be a top-down view. Bad idea. With no glare, though, I suppose you could get nearly a side-on view if you placed things right.

I guess one solution might be a tag with a hinge. The ID part hangs down, but you hold the rest level in your palm or fist. Then the 3D model appears in your hand.

Current system works fine for the airship, but that AMP suit needs to be seen from the side. Still really, really cool.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 5 November, 2009 - 21:23
The iTag system is actually

The iTag system is actually just an application of the ARToolkit software library, which itself is a free download to anyone who wants to try it. Japanese artists have been experimenting with it for over a year with somewhat predictable results.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQxzumHN4ps

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 November, 2009 - 10:41
a real toy

I picked one up a week ago, and it's a great piece that came out of nowhere. Very reminiscent of something from Exo-Squad or the latter years of GI Joe.

What I really liked about it was that you have to put it together, just like toys use to be. So often now everything comes pre-assembled in a big window box, with 200 twist ties and 5 lbs of cardboard keeping it in place. This is a great throwback to the old GI Joe vehicles that you had to put together, practically a model kit that gave you a little more enjoyment and anticipation while you built the vehicle.

It's also scale with 1/18 figures so a DMZ Scopedog or GI Joe can take it on. The toy also is prime material for customization and army building. I can see some folks going SF3D with them and making all kinds of variants with it.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 5 November, 2009 - 13:10
Details

Much agreed Duke! I think there is a lot of customizing potential with this figure, the rivet and details are just begging to be airbrushed and washed with oil paints.

There is a bit of throwback to American toys from the 1980's on so many levels with the 1:18 scale and the "some assembly is required" aspects. Looking forward to more reviews.

Cheers,
LF

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 November, 2009 - 15:06
So, it sounds like I will

So, it sounds like I will have to pick this up... the price point is pretty fantastic, and it DOES look like a good ol'-fashioned robot figure. It definitely IS begging to be repainted, but out of the box it still seems to tickle that robot loving really well.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 5 November, 2009 - 16:27
AMP Suit

Both toy and tag are simply awesome. Thanks for sharing, Josh. As for the movie, it reminds me of Blue Submarine Number 6. Besides I'm glad to see Lady Sigourney Weaver again.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 5 November, 2009 - 16:45
I've been looking at these

I've been looking at these toys, (mainly to get an impression of what the movie is about,) and while I love the box art, the lack of any demonstrable toy indicating size, detail, etc..., has kept me from plunking down. Now that I understand it's a classic, 70's/ 80's style packaging, I know I'll be snagging these early for Christmas.

Duke, you make a great point about the experience of building a new toy. Kenner Star Wars was always a fave for that reason. Plus there seem to be some seriously groovy monster toys for "Avatar" as well. I think these things are going to disappear when people finally see the movie.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 5 November, 2009 - 18:58
Legendary 80'S Sticker Sheets!

I know that feeling of putting together 80's toys! remember those HUGE sticker sheets that hasbro and kenner put with their toys and spending all night putting them on? The Sky Striker and S.H.A.R.K. sticker sheets are legendary!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 November, 2009 - 23:29
"...And you thought web-cams

"...And you thought web-cams were just for looking at girls takin' it all off, ehh?"

Well I bet there will be some sort of iTag porn technology soon where a tiny woman will strip on the tag and you can pretend you are a giant and shes all helpless and what not and you can yell at her and tell her what to do because it will also have voice recognition...

Chachipower: "ARRG I AM A GIANT PIRATE! NOW LOSE THE TOP!"
Virtual tag stripper girl: "Eeek, whatever you say scary giant man!"

and maybe if you yell loud enough, the clothes just fall off.

its 7pm and I was ready to just lay down, but darn it Josh, now I have to get dressed and go to TRU and pick this up, thanks alot

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 5 November, 2009 - 19:06
ok just got back, I put it

ok just got back, I put it together and totally just spent 20 minutes messing around with the tags. damn cool.

The toy itself is solid, the way it should be... and pretty heavy. good flexy plastic so it wont break.

I also bought a quartich figure which is nice. Whats nicer is that it is perfectly in scale with my DMZ-02 Strikedog! he fits in there as if he was made for it! That way I dont have to pull Ypsilon out! Im happy. Total damage for these 2 items: $32.09

Thanks for the review. I would have never known about this

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 5 November, 2009 - 21:52
It warms my heart that my

It warms my heart that my review made you run out and get one, literally. This is why I do this. You made my night, thanks!

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 5 November, 2009 - 22:58
this isnt the only review

this isnt the only review that made me do this... I started out with a collection of Voltrons and since finding CDX a while back, I cant find storage space for anything! Its one thing to see a picture in a website, but when someone gets into detail and gives opinions on the toy and its playability, its hard to resist.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 6 November, 2009 - 09:25
That video review has just

That video review has just too much technology in it for me... the crazy 3D robot thing, webcams, vid cams, telephone's ringing, twitter's going off, a stapler... I can't say I'm terribly fond of the toy, but this review did make me want to see the movie more.

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 7 November, 2009 - 12:16
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net