CollectionDX Network

Aerial Ambush

Comments

16 comments posted
If you like the flame guy,

If you like the flame guy, there is a set out for maybe $10 that includes two of them (plus a couple of regular spartans, some baddies, and some grunts. That and the marine's turret set are very tempting to me, since I'm not interested in the vehicles.

Oh, and the games have been released on the PC, too. If you ever got the urge to try them. ;-) I haven't, but I know I've seen the games go for as cheap as $10.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 30 September, 2009 - 21:40
Sorry for the nitpicking,

Sorry for the nitpicking, but in the video games, I've only ever seen Covenant Elites pilot Banshees out of all the Covenant races, though a Spartan most certainly can hijack one.

YuushaFan's picture
Posted by YuushaFan on 30 September, 2009 - 21:51
Not a fan of the game, but

Not a fan of the game, but this is pretty neat, to bad it's not Lego though. Nice review!

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 30 September, 2009 - 21:55
Hmmm

"...to bad it's not Lego though..."

Why? You'd prefer if the set cost $10 more? LOL

I love Lego, but there's no shame in buying Mega Bloks. They put out a quality product.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 30 September, 2009 - 23:00
"I'd prefer Lego quality"...

"I'd prefer Lego quality"...

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 30 September, 2009 - 23:15
Does That?

"I have a confession to make: I've never played Halo. Does that tarnish my geek cred?"

Mr. Josh sir, all you need is that toy to play Halo,

so that answer right there is a big huge NO.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 30 September, 2009 - 23:27
Rigas- Lego quality is

Rigas-
Lego quality is largely a thing of the past. It used to be you would pay more for Lego because of the quality,but they're really slipping. If you look around online you can see vintage pieces compared to modern,and the modern pieces just don't fit snugly like the vintage.

JoshB-
I've played Halo,you're not missing much. Remember that game Doom? It's that but with better graphics and 10 year old kids calling you racial slurs and gay ephitets.
Don't get me wrong,there's nothing really -wrong- with the game,but I don't understand the hype.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 30 September, 2009 - 23:34
Considering I've not bought

Considering I've not bought Lego since I was a 10yr old, I'll take your word for it.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 30 September, 2009 - 23:39
Yeah,there's a whole

Yeah,there's a whole "community" of online Lego fans,and they bitch about the quality all the time. I bought some of those animeish sets that were reviewed on here a year or so ago,and they were not as well made as the older Lego pieces. Plus one or two were missing pieces,and one of the sets came with the wrong instructions. A sorry state indeed.

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 30 September, 2009 - 23:49
What a pity, I truly loved

What a pity, I truly loved my Lego as a kid. The best part was that even though my parents were only able to buy me the cheaper smaller sets at the time. Once you had a couple, there was no limit to the things you could make...good memories.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 1 October, 2009 - 00:07
Yeah, I'm far from a Lego

Yeah, I'm far from a Lego expert, but I believe they moved a good bit of their production to Mexico, the Czech Republic, and Singapore whereas it was previously done in Denmark (but I'm not 100% on that). I just remember a big stink years ago about how they were moving overseas to save money.

At the same time, Mega Bloks seemed to increase their quality and definitely their creativity.

Lego is still the tops, but MB is close behind.

japester's picture
Posted by japester on 1 October, 2009 - 01:03
I game Halo

Josh, you won't lose nerd points, but for obvious reasons I might. I've played through the whole Halo series (except for Wars, not an RTS player) and enjoyed it.
I personally cannot see what people hate about the game other than the obvious "its a FPS" "10 year olds talk trash" and whatnot. Its a scale-landscape crossing venture on a satelite -artificial- ring world structure, spanning across the galaxy from Earth to the rings and beyond in a military sci-fi narrative. I'll elaborate more in the ODST review.
-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 1 October, 2009 - 11:28
Love these guys

We've had our eye on these for quite a while. My 8 year old loves Halo, especially "Master Halo", as he calls him. TRU had a buy 2 get 1 on Mega Bloks last week, and we stocked up on everything but this Aerial Ambush set. The cute lil' guys are easily the best part!

djinniman37's picture
Posted by djinniman37 on 2 October, 2009 - 08:52
waiting for halo

waiting for halo 4:)
questions and answer

msjone's picture
Posted by msjone on 25 February, 2010 - 03:21
Banshee

The back of the Banshee is supposed to be hlow. In all the games, the back is hollow to allow pilots to get in.

YUMpoison's picture
Posted by YUMpoison on 3 June, 2014 - 14:15
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net