CollectionDX Network

Kamen Rider Ryuki with Dragreder

Comments

12 comments posted
I'm not a fan of Ryuuki's

I'm not a fan of Ryuuki's look (Guard Vent wasn't too bad), but this is a gorgeous figure for its size! Excellent review and good pictures.

C'mon, Zolda and Magnugiga-!

What- no mentions that "Ryuuki" is being pressed back into merchandise recently because of "KR:DK"'s broadcast in Japan?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 17 November, 2011 - 11:43
I was not aware that Dragon

I was not aware that Dragon Knight was being broadcast in Japan. Are they are doing it as part of the 40th anniversary celebration, kind of like how they broadcast Power Rangers SPD for the Super Sentai 35th?

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 17 November, 2011 - 16:19
No. Japan likes airing

No. Japan likes airing American versions of tokusatsu shows dubbed over in Japanese.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 17 November, 2011 - 17:11
This is true. It's been said

This is true. It's been said that Power Rangers Lost Galaxy was more popular than Gingaman in Japan.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 17 November, 2011 - 21:30
[citation needed] I've heard

[citation needed]

I've heard in general that none of the English adaptations do better than their original incarnations when shown in Japan. In particular, the idea Lost Galaxy outperformed Gingaman appears to be a nasty rumor more than anything.

I believe Toei does these re-showings partially just to get the merchandise a little more advertising with little effort.

Also I doubt the Figuarts Ryuki was directly related to Dragon Knight being aired in Japan. It may have had something to do with Max Factory's weird loophole with licensing Dragon Knight apart from Ryuki, which may have prompted Bandai to show them how it's done but in the end the Japanese collectors just see the Figmas as Ryuki figures. The Figuarts is kind of late to the party anyways so it is probably just some Heisei Rider nostalgia. Ryuki is almost ten years old at this point.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 17 November, 2011 - 22:25
Yeah, I think it was mostly

Yeah, I think it was mostly Bandai trying to one-up Max Factory. They really put all their effort into making this the better toy.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 17 November, 2011 - 22:47
IT's been said but

It's been said but it's mainly lies.

Power Rangers generally had horrible rating in Japan due to being broadcast during late hours. There haven't been any american adaptation dubs that have beaten out the original Japanese ratings. The people that are spreading these rumors are normally trolls and rabid Power Ranger fanboys.

Zyuranger Ratings:
http://www10.atwiki.jp/shichouseiko/pages/62.html

Power Rangers Ratings:
http://www10.atwiki.jp/shichouseiko/pages/285.html

Now if only people would stop spreading these rumors we'll be fine.

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 20 December, 2011 - 12:12
I had heard that some of the

I had heard that some of the other asian countries would dub the American Power Rangers, but I was not aware that it was also done in Japan. In the case of Japan I think it would be like eating pizza the day after, its not quite the same as the night before but some people like it better that way.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 17 November, 2011 - 22:20
I think of Kamen Rider Ryuki

I think of Kamen Rider Ryuki as the weakest show of the Heisei Riders (though I really like the ending), but it is undeniable that the recent Figma and Figuarts figures seem to be excelent toys, specially the Figuarts one.

The inclusion of Dragreder that becomes armor and weapon for Ryuki is awesome and beautiful and the joints are very discrete, I like it.

Thanks for the review.

LuizSSB's picture
Posted by LuizSSB on 18 November, 2011 - 12:45
I also just thought it was

I also just thought it was Bandai's way of sticking it to Max Factory's figmas which I don't think sold that well , since many of the major retailers ended up selling them at heavily discounted prices.

LuizSSB- I also though that Ryuki was kind of lacking , which is why I did not finish it . I only got a third of the way through the show. It was big departure for the Kamen Rider series having followed Agito, which in my opinion is the Best of the Hesei KR, but much more story driven and less gimmicky than Ryuki( which was the begining of the added gimmicks for the Kamen Rider franchise.)

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 18 November, 2011 - 16:22
About the nubs/ports

I've found a way to fix the ones on the arms on mine, and I can remove and reattach them easily now.

You have to remove the arm at just about where the black part the port/Dragvisor connects, then take a rod or something similar to push the plastic into the hook on the tab of the dragvisor/port. Of course re-attaching the arm is a bi-atch, and the red part that covers where it connects likes to fall off constantly while you're trying to re-attach it, but for some reason the end result works, and I've had no problems with the Dragvisor or port detaching themselves when I don't want them to since.

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 20 December, 2011 - 11:57
Thanks for the info! I

Thanks for the info! I would try it, but with my luck , I would probably break something.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 20 December, 2011 - 18:22
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net