CollectionDX Network

Combination Robot B/O 17-in-1

Comments

22 comments posted
Awesome review, man! Great

Awesome review, man! Great job pointing out ALL the differences in all the individual components...lots of worthy effort in there...for a toy that probably doesn't deserve it! ;)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 12 March, 2009 - 10:06
I think I'm going to throw up!

Please don't post these kind of reviews after lunch! ha ha

What a wild toy, It has to be seen to be believe, I love reading about these sort of pieces, thanks for another great review.

BTW, I like your art design with the modified pictures with titles and boxes. Very well done!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 12 March, 2009 - 10:51
one word....WOW!

I don't mean wow in a good way either, follow that wow with the question why?...LOL Even though this toy is a virtual monstrosity I cant help but feel it would be fun to tinker with. Great 2nd review!

-Dan
CollectionDX LLC
Vice President/Co-Owner
"the other fat bearded guy at CDX"

Shogundan's picture
Posted by Shogundan on 12 March, 2009 - 13:49
Nice.

Like the others have already said, nice job with pictures and making the effort to find the differences. The sheer crazyness of this robot makes me want one.

they will all taste oblivion!... which tastes just like redbull...
which is disgusting...

godmagnus1's picture
Posted by godmagnus1 on 12 March, 2009 - 14:14
Awesome review after this

Awesome review after this was brought up on TBDX... The white clips on the back of the legs are effectively the same parts as the yellow clips that keep OS's legs together. I like the fact that you compared individual parts to their lineage in the review... interesting stuff!

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 12 March, 2009 - 14:40
I dub thee

Knockofimus Maximus!!!

-------------------------
Rob
The Gundam Model Guy

Gunpla Rob's picture
Posted by Gunpla Rob on 12 March, 2009 - 14:58
It had crossed my mind

It did cross my mind that I was expending a lot of effort on such a monstrosity, but the beautiful toys already get so much love, and SCR certainly brings the funk! I also get a perverse pleasure out of giving such an obviously dodgy toy the vintage gokin treatment.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 12 March, 2009 - 15:13
Not Only That...

The fact that they just slapped a generic F-15 on the chest for good measure!

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 12 March, 2009 - 15:19
Not to much

I appreciate all the effort you put into the review. It's a fantastic article really. Now I must get me one of these... Josh says he has one, wonder if I can get past the CDX Security Drones to grab it... :)

________________________________________
CollectionDX - Assistant Editor - Writer

Atom's picture
Posted by Atom on 12 March, 2009 - 15:39
You have to

You have to get one of these, just so I can say "welcome to the club, sir," as if you had just procured a Garada K7 or something.

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 12 March, 2009 - 19:58
Demented!

Sick and twisted! Looking at this thing will kill your brain cells. I love it!

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 12 March, 2009 - 16:28
SUPER combination robot 17 in 1

Ok, so I opened mine up, which is named SUPER combination robot 17 in 1, and it is much much more horrible than yours. Mine is like the sixth generation from yours, worn out molds, crappy plastic, flashing all over the place. Its just a mess. But it has a great folk art quality to it.

I'm pretty sure the plastic gave me cancer though.

more photos here:

http://www.collectiondx.com/gallery/Toys/Bootleg/SCR17/

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin


JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 12 March, 2009 - 22:31
This

This is unholy. Unholy and awesome!

I actually prefer the skittles/easter bunny colorway. I think it's a stronger design without all the bling. Too bad the molds are shot. (the shoulders have full rotors though)

Thanks for sharing!

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 13 March, 2009 - 09:26
I love those Lions!

It's like they are from Brazil or something.

I fine piece that deserves it's own review.

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 13 March, 2009 - 10:21
Holy crap, Josh's is like a

Holy crap, Josh's is like a KO of a KO... truly a sick and twisted creation!

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 13 March, 2009 - 15:21
This toy is so monstrous

This toy is so monstrous even I don't want it and I think that's saying something! The review itself on the other hand was outstanding. Great work!

Josh, I can't believe you took yours off the card. Now you'll never be able to sell it for big bucks..

"This must be settled the way nature intended....with a vicious, bloody fight!"
Onyx Blackman
Principal, Flatpoint High

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 13 March, 2009 - 18:25
This toy is both stupid AND awesome.

"The set comes with Golion’s shield and sword."

Actually, it's Golion's shield with Dairugger's sword.

As if the thing wasn't hilarious enough to look at, the text in the inner box being upside down made me laugh out loud... it just clinched everything the toy is perfectly.

What's sad is even though it's a hideous monstrosity, I know that if I came upon it in a flea market I'd have to get it JUST to see where the creators decided to change the original mold. Dumb, but...

In this day of high quality, super-poseable toys from Japan, it's great seeing that icky asian market kitbashes are still around. Too nostalgic and wacky not to be loved on some level.

I'd like to get both versions shown here and make a more purple / neon green version, painting anything NOT in those colors similar or in black.

Thanks for reviewing this!

(LOL... "Cosmic Plane Group" looks like one of those wonnky configurations you'd see on early Micronauts pamphlets!)

JINZONINGEN 73's picture
Posted by JINZONINGEN 73 on 18 March, 2009 - 14:18
Hello again

I saw this item at a collectibles store once... many years ago. To this day it bewilders me.

gargunkle's picture
Posted by gargunkle on 2 April, 2009 - 13:26
That F-15 is a Transformer

It kind of looks like the generic F-15 jet on the chest is actually a modified Transformer. In Europe, the original Transformers toy line persisted a year after it died in the US and among the toys put out were the Predators, a series of Decepticon jets (and one tank). This looks a lot like Talon: http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/9968/talon.jpg

This toy was also released in Japan as Moon Jet.

I am extra suspicious of the Predators because I have a bootleg similar to this that makes the small Predator jets combine into a big robot in a similar fashion even though they obviously didn't do this originally. They connect into the same sort of weird bulky frame.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 19 May, 2009 - 18:51
I'm hopefully obtaining one

I'm hopefully obtaining one of these soon, and it is a pleasure to revisit this review. The extra work put in to comparing the parts with their ancestors is really appreciated.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 21 August, 2010 - 09:50
I GOT ONE! I now have no

I GOT ONE! I now have no reason to ever have an omega supreme or Dairugger.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 28 January, 2011 - 20:25
That thing is...just an

That thing is...just an abomination

mrtrainfreak12's picture
Posted by mrtrainfreak12 on 25 July, 2013 - 14:07
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net