CollectionDX Network

VF-2SS Valkyrie II Silvie Gena

Comments

7 comments posted
Fantastic review,

Fantastic review, unfortunately it confirmed my fears as regards the inability of Evolution Toys to pull this off. Their engineering ethos is not appropriate for this type of design, simple robots; yes, but not this. I'm amazed that they even attempted this, and (hardcore fans aside) I can't figure who would want one of these - I imagine it'll be hitting the bargain bin before long.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 4 March, 2016 - 09:39
...

i hate to say it but this is a laughable effort for something that came out this year, let alone 10 years ago! and that price tag, ouch! how was this even released?

Astronopolis's picture
Posted by Astronopolis on 4 March, 2016 - 00:17
The Macross equivalent of the Daca Kronos

If you're not familiar with that toy, the Daca Kronos is a third-party show-accurate Jetfire/Skyfire that, to be frank, has a lot of problems. It's also ridiculously expensive even by third-party standards. It's telling that the first thing you see in the TFW2005 official thread on the product is a warning about civility and a notice that the thread is closed: http://www.tfw2005.com/boards/transformers-3rd-party-discussion/957592-daca-toys-kronos-masterpiece-scaled-skyfire-jetfire.html

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 4 March, 2016 - 07:13
Crying shame that this long

Crying shame that this long awaited toy turned out the way it did. MAYBE Bandai will get to work on that Hi-Metal VF2SS that was promised a few years ago. Actually, I wouldn't mind a non transformable but VERY Masami Obari looking Robot Damashii like at the end of the OP/eyecatch from the OVA.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 4 March, 2016 - 10:05
Do you think the FAST Packs would fix this?

Great review. Thanks for that...
I'm wondering (hoping?) it the FAST pack's will help cover up all the jankiness of the massive hinges, wide cracks and somewhat strange proportions. Cuz man, this is one badass looking bird when it gets all dressed up.

I'm bummed how it came out. I was really excited about this release--till i saw all those open seams and crazy big hinges on some of the press release pic's. It's a shame really. I'll pick one in the 'sale bin' if it ever gets there but until then. Pass

Toysouldiers's picture
Posted by Toysouldiers on 4 March, 2016 - 12:09
The super parts would

The super parts would probably make the toy worse in fighter mode cuz all the extra weight would make the already weak tabs even more useless. Battroid might actually benefit from the toy's lack of articulation, since its legs don't have far to go, bracing the toy to carry the big backpack might be easier.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 March, 2016 - 13:00
Very disappointing

I guess the saddest thing about this is that people will not buy it, leading to poor sales, leading companies to conclude "oh, guess there weren't that many VF-2SS fans after all, we won't bother making our own version" and this is the only one we'll ever get.

It's hard to hate on them too hard, because even a toy with huge flaws like this took an incredible amount of work to bring to market. And there's some degree of institutional knowledge they haven't been around long enough to get--like, knowing that you need +0/-.001" tolerance on a locking tab to make it work right, and also knowing that when the factory manager says "that's impossible to produce something that tight, you need to make it looser" he's just trying to cheap out on inspection requirements.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 4 March, 2016 - 17:25
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net