CollectionDX Network

Fortress Maximus

Comments

12 comments posted
"waste joint"

It's kind of weird that they went with a toy accurate face for Fort Max but with a cartoon/comic accurate face for Cerebros. Not that there's that big of a difference, but when it comes to "American" Fort Max, I always think of the goggled face.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 14 October, 2017 - 04:30
Goggles

Assuming that by "goggled" you mean where his eyes were joined by the eye color being extended across the bridge of his nose (which turned into full goggles in some art after the first time it happened), that was a look only present in the comics, and only inconsistently.

For instance, nowhere to be seen in the iconic image of Fort Max pulling his own damn head off:
https://tfwiki.net/wiki/File:Fortmaxgiveshead.jpg

Or these:
https://tfwiki.net/wiki/File:Fortressmaximus-totalled-worthlesshuman.jpg
https://tfwiki.net/wiki/File:Fortressmaximus-trialbyfire-rollout.jpg

A comic-only look that wasn't even constantly present in the comics wouldn't even have been in the running.

If by goggled you just mean the eyes sticking out of the face, there are reasons why they wouldn't have gone that route even when they went with an American face for Cerebros:
1. Inset eyes like the toy and the Headmasters depiction are easier to sculpt and paint; they also made it easier to do the clear eyes for the electronic lights
2. The toy/Headmasters look is probably more iconic overall, and it was also the only one suitable for the prospective redecoes.
3. Related to 2, having multiple Cerebros faceplates is one thing, multiple Fort Max faceplates is another.
4. Conflicting designer desires.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 10 September, 2022 - 21:34
Interesting observation

That's interesting! I don't even know why they went with that American G1 head sculpt for cerebros in the first place!

quinncat's picture
Posted by quinncat on 14 October, 2017 - 15:18
Phrase of the Day

You nailed it when you said "under-engineered". @ $150, he's good but not enough to ignore the flaws. I like robot mode, but hate that he's a retool of FoC Metroplex, because he inherited the mediocre knees & hips. Ship mode is fine, but city mode is disappointing. It didn't have to be a redo of the original, but as is, it's lazy. And the Takara version's better sound FX & master swords only help so much.

Regarding the different heads for Cerebros, it gave them one more tweak for the SDCC version, which comes with the G1 toy/Headmasters-style head.

All that said, I will be excited for Grand Maximus if he breaks 3,000 for pre-orders. That pretender shell for Gran actually looks really cool.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 14 October, 2017 - 17:03
Sound effects

I get what you mean! The sound effects are stock and lazy! Honestly if I paid $150 for this, I wouldn't!!

Also, that point you made about Cerebros's face sculpt is pretty insightful. Aren't hasbro Titan returns figures generally based on the toys anyway?

quinncat's picture
Posted by quinncat on 14 October, 2017 - 19:29
I paid around 80 for this

I paid around 80 for this during black friday and was so let down by it I ended up just buying an encore fort max and brave max. It's a very lazy release and doesn't live up to the name. Without both guns, arm and hip cannons, and gasket and grommet, its just missing all the iconic elements that make him fort max. This was a huge disappointment to me.

siningy's picture
Posted by siningy on 14 October, 2017 - 23:13
Yeah this could've had

Yeah this could've had features like the elevator or the prison for the Titan Masters, but it doesn't really have any "city" based gimmicks like that

quinncat's picture
Posted by quinncat on 15 October, 2017 - 05:53
And That

That too! I could almost accept him missing most of his hallmarks if he was an all-new toy. But he's not! He's like 75% Metroplex!

The only new pieces here are Cerebros & Emissary, the guns on his legs, and his upper body. Everything else is just repainted and/or rearranged body parts.

Optimal III's picture
Posted by Optimal III on 16 October, 2017 - 06:42
Your post is full of logic fail

" I could almost accept him missing most of his hallmarks if he was an all-new toy. But he's not! He's like 75% Metroplex!"
*facepalms super-hard*

I shouldn't have to explain what's wrong with that statement, but I obviously do.

He's missing several of his hallmarks precisely because he's 75% Metroplex instead of an all-new toy. Fortress Maximus' base mode features are, by and large, things that Metroplex did not have. Since this Fortress Maximus was made by retooling Metroplex, he doesn't have them either.

You might then ask, why make him from Metroplex in the first place? Well, the answer to that is cautious investment. Hasbro at the time could not be sure if people would actually buy Titan-class citybots other than Metroplex, so they played it safe by doing Fort Max as a Metroplex retool so that they wouldn't lose too much money if he flopped. In hindsight, it would have been nice if they'd at least invested in new lower legs that ratcheted sideways below the knee; that alone would bring him much closer to G1 Fort Max.

I'd still say the compromises were worth it in the long term, even if they make TR Fort Max less awesome than he could be. Because TR Fort Max proved a commercial success, and that paved the way for Trypticon and Scorponok, both of whom are brand-new molds that do retain several features.

As for the accessory count, well... That's because most of a Transformers' price comes down to piece count and plastic mass. In the case of the Titans, most of that mass goes into the actual main robot body (or bodies, in the case of the 2 combiners) so that it's actually as big as it needs to be. That leaves less for weapons. If you'll recall, the retail version of T30 Metroplex only had one rifle.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 6 February, 2021 - 03:32
LOL

You seem to always whine on the past toy reviews. Are you always this whiny?

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 7 February, 2021 - 02:35
Well...

When the reviewer or commenter is an illogical whiny bitch? Yes.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 10 September, 2022 - 20:37
Since no one here has the balls to say it......I'll do it.

You are an opinionated coward - you force your opinions on other people and call them names when they have a different opinion than yours and you know they can't answer you back and pretend that nothing happened every time you're here.

You are a hypocritical whiner - you call people like that while you never look in the mirror while most of your posts are just like that, whining.

You are the type of person who enjoys to be miserable to others because your life is too boring and this is the only way for you to have some sort of excitement.

But go ahead and do your own thing because that's what you always do until the day you wake up and realize how much time you wasted whining and ranting instead of doing something more productive.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 13 September, 2022 - 00:49