CollectionDX Network

G Class Henkei Rathalos

Comments

12 comments posted
It's nifty-looking

If it goes on clearance at HLJ and the shipping is right I've considered getting this as an Escaflowne stand-in. I can't imagine this could be worse than the Yamato version, especially in dragon mode. The Mojibakeru Monster Hunter figures are really cool too; in kanji mode they look awesome with Shinkenger figures and mecha.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 21 August, 2015 - 07:32
I think you can grab one on

I think you can grab one on amazon/ebay for around 70 shipped these days, but I really don't think he's worth paying over 40 dollars for.

siningy's picture
Posted by siningy on 21 August, 2015 - 21:41
Great review thank you. This

Great review thank you. This is one of those design periods that just gets lost on me there is just so much going on it's hard to read the figure. Just my opinion I am sure it hits the right notes for a lot of fans. Sometimes less is more. Really great review though.

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 21 August, 2015 - 10:26
There is definitely a

There is definitely a disconnect between older collectors and younger ones. I'm glad they branching out the gokin choices, you can't always have 40 year old robots rehashed and expect to garner interests from newer and younger fans. The design seems to be in line with the style of MH armors at least, but it just didn't quite work out. I think maybe if they at least added some locking tabs or just took out the transformation gimmick, it could have been a much better toy.

siningy's picture
Posted by siningy on 21 August, 2015 - 22:23
Yeah well maybe but take

Yeah well maybe but take GaoGaiGar newer design but atleast you can look at the figure and it makes sense and SOC outstanding execution. This thing is mass of red spikes, I mean like I said it reasonates with someone great but it looks like a visual mess and I don't see locking tabs solving that.

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 27 August, 2015 - 21:32
A US release would probably improve this toy

The photos looked interesting, so I came to check this out.

I think what this thing needs is a US release, so that those nasty spikes would have to be made of soft plastic and/or blunted, and thus make handling the toy less akin to handling a porcupine.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 21 August, 2015 - 18:53
This figure already has a US

This figure already has a US release courtesy of Bluefin!

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 21 August, 2015 - 21:37
Is that a true US release?

Is it a true US release modified to conform to US toy safety standards, or a straight-up import with maybe a different box?

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 21 August, 2015 - 22:03
As this is an imported toy

As this is an imported toy being distributed to the US originally intended to be a collector's piece for adults with a 16+ age recommendation, there is no need to conform to toy safety standards.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 21 August, 2015 - 22:21
Bugger

Well then, there goes my interest.

ZeldaTheSwordsman's picture
Posted by ZeldaTheSwordsman on 22 August, 2015 - 00:25
from my limited understanding

from my limited understanding of the franchise, you hunt the monster and take parts from it to craft weapons and armor. i think this figure depicts both the monster and a hunter wearing the armor and weapons crafted from it, with a bit of polish courtesy of Katoki-san to blend the design features to suit the transforming gimmick.

that said, it just begs you to ask who this figure is for, if you want a hunter or a monster you want them implemented well on their own, bandai's SH Figuarts or SH Monsterarts lines should have been utilized for this type of thing, but i guess theres the element of shrinking shelf space, and japanese design sensibilities of multiporposing to maximize space in general, and this seems to be the result of that in my opinion

Astronopolis's picture
Posted by Astronopolis on 22 August, 2015 - 10:58
It's a weird awkward Gokin.

It's a weird awkward Gokin. Not quite one thing or the other. As someone said, not really sure who the target audience is. But it is a figure that has been available a number of times on deep deep discount (I think I paid less than $30 usd from hlj last year.) at that price it is a cool and distinct display piece. Just not one that you will pick up and play with much. The transformation is complex, fiddly and annoying, to a not real satisfying payoff. The left dragon head arm looks cool at first, but gets real annoying to do anything with. And the add on gear such as the shield, sword, wings etc just give you a headache. Especially anything needing spindly special connectors. You will transform it to dragon once and only once. You will then leave it in hunter/human/robot? Form, find a moderately acceptable way to attach all of its assorted gear to it, and stand it on your Gokin shelf... In the back... Behind Leoparden and Boss Borot. It's a nice piece if you can get it dirt cheap. But by no means don't seek it out or pay full price for it.

faelon's picture
Posted by faelon on 15 May, 2016 - 19:32
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net