CollectionDX Network

Tryder G7

Comments

10 comments posted
Bird effect idea

If that effect part is just a flat piece, you could probably design a new one on Shapeways and print it out for this toy.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 31 December, 2014 - 07:43
I really love these Soul of

I really love these Soul of Chogokin reviews. I don't know anything about Tryder, but it's gorgeous. The next time I have $250 to drop on a toy for a property I don't know... yeah. This is a fantastic toy.

Jetman Purple's picture
Posted by Jetman Purple on 31 December, 2014 - 12:52
Great review...

Thanks for the comprehensive review. I've had my eye on this one, but I was holding back because I don't have any particular attachment to the original character. Well, that, and the color scheme is monotonously similar to so many of the other big SOC combiners. Daltanious and Godsigma were welcome breaks from the blue body/red chest/gold crest look.

This release seems to have some serious play and display value, though- the shuttle, for example, has way more going on than I ever would have guessed from the promo pictures. GX-66 has definitely moved up quite a few spots on my list.

Inverarity's picture
Posted by Inverarity on 1 January, 2015 - 22:15
Should've caught it on sale

Should've caught it on sale then - HLJ had it for like 120 dollars for a good while.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 2 January, 2015 - 08:52
HLJ sale

I remember seeing it at a pretty low price at Amazon as well - wasn't in a position to buy before the holidays, though. Was the pricing a result of the vastly improved exchange rate (from a US perspective, anyway)? Or were they clearing them out?

Inverarity's picture
Posted by Inverarity on 2 January, 2015 - 17:39
It was a holiday sale as far

It was a holiday sale as far as I can tell. They still have it in stock, but back at the previous price.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 2 January, 2015 - 21:52
Amazon's sale was...

Amazon's sale was to clear out the banged up boxes. They were never opened, and the figure was perfect, but the outer boxes looked like hell. I guess they will have similar sales through the year, as the boxes get all banged up. ;)

}D

The_Mazinger_Z's picture
Posted by The_Mazinger_Z on 5 January, 2015 - 23:40
The last time I got a

The last time I got a "banged-up" box from Amazon, it was in great shape apart from some edge wear; that one had been labeled "Like New" in their Warehouse write-up. Another one, graded "Good", had a torn flap that had been repaired with tape, but was otherwise fine.

Luck of the draw, I suppose, but my experience is that their grading is pretty accurate, maybe even a bit pessimistic. If you're willing to roll the dice a bit on box condition (fine with me, since I care more about the contents) the Warehouse Deals can be a real bargain.

Inverarity's picture
Posted by Inverarity on 7 January, 2015 - 11:00
This looks really great. I

This looks really great. I wish I hadn't missed it at that low price. :(

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 7 January, 2015 - 21:05
It's just a pity we'll

It's just a pity we'll probably never see the second shuttle accessory.

Tetsuryu's picture
Posted by Tetsuryu on 24 January, 2017 - 09:40
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net