CollectionDX Network

Mazinkaiser

Comments

13 comments posted
It's nice.

It's nice.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 3 February, 2014 - 21:07
Yes, it is nice.

Yes, it is nice.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 4 February, 2014 - 20:51
Where's my SKL?!

As much as I like the Mazinkaiser design, I really need an affordable(-ish) Mazinkaiser SKL figure.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 4 February, 2014 - 08:22
How much is the SRC SKL going

How much is the SRC SKL going for nowadays?

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 4 February, 2014 - 20:52
Thanks for the review!

Love this toy!! I too was amazed at the ridiculous amount of very sharp edges on this 'toy' when I opened him, I have to admit that I lol'd at you admitting to cutting yourself but I can't believe I didn't!

I also love the small details, like the 'jewels' in the sword hilts and shoulders.

My only small complaint, I wish the head Scrander was removable, but at this scale, maybe a bit too much to ask.

Nice to see they're still making Mazinkaiser toys despite no anime or anything since 2001. Would love to see them re-release that SKL for those of us who were not fortunate enough to get the Exclusive, though I could not get into the show, I really like the mech.

Wondering how this compares to the Crazy Expensive MaxFactory version?

drmindbender's picture
Posted by drmindbender on 4 February, 2014 - 14:05
I was pretty damn proud of

I was pretty damn proud of myself for not spilling blood throughout the whole review process. Then right at the end the Scrander got me .Damn you Scrander! haha.

I would imagine that that MaxFactory one is better. But that toy is way too expensive for my tastes. I have yet to pay more than $150 for a single piece.

I know what you mean about the SKL. After owning Mazinkaiser, I feel the need to have his even more over the top counterpart.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 4 February, 2014 - 20:51
Also...

I think we are well overdue for a series of UltraAct/FiguArts style Super Robot pilots...come on Bandai or Figma, what gives??!!

drmindbender's picture
Posted by drmindbender on 4 February, 2014 - 14:12
I would pay premium prices

I would pay premium prices for a super poseable Kabuto Koji for my desk.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 5 February, 2014 - 16:11
The cross over joints are the

The cross over joints are the real fascination point of this series. As of now, they are amounted on a good share of characters: Mazinger Z and Great Mazinger, Gurren Lagann, Gunbuster, Grendizer and Shin Mazinger, and I really have a lot of fun switching and swapping.
A set of accessories for Kaiser and Shin Getter are being released in April by Bandai, as a Tamashii web exclusive. They include two more swords for the Kaiser, the Getter Tomahawk and a halberd for Shin Getter 1, Turbo smasher effect parts for Kaiser, and a new backpack each.

I too hope in a re release of the SKL, possibly with wings, and possibly as massive as the original Kaiser. The limited edition relase just doesn't compare in size.

DynamicDynamic's picture
Posted by DynamicDynamic on 10 February, 2014 - 13:09
Thanks for the info! I was

Thanks for the info! I was not aware that there were other mecha in the SRC line that used the arm swapping gimmick. I actually do not follow SRC much. I may have to pick up some other SRC to have more arms to swap with my Shin Getter 1 and Mazinger.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 10 February, 2014 - 21:23
For Gunbustar, there is a

For Gunbustar, there is a foldable mantle accessory that looks really cool on either Shin Getter 1 or Mazinkaiser. It was sold as a tamashii web exclusive, but I think it can be easily found on the secondary market. The 'Doryoku to Konjo' (Effort and determination) set. By the way, you can also swap the wings, as you know.

The next release with the cross over joints will be Kantam Robot from Crayon Shin Chan, due in May

http://tamashii.jp/item/10601/

Be careful though, as both Mazingers are smaller in size compared to Kaiser and Shin. Grendizer and Gurren Lagann, on the other side, fit quite well.

DynamicDynamic's picture
Posted by DynamicDynamic on 11 February, 2014 - 07:32
Thanks again for the info! It

Thanks again for the info!

It looks like the Kantam Robo is being released as a regular release here in the United States, thanks to Bluefin Distribution. Although I know nothing about the robot, I think I need to get one. The rocket punch effect part and arm/flight pack swapping gimmick make it a very tempting piece to pick up.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 12 February, 2014 - 10:33
Never mind, I was mistaken

Never mind, I was mistaken about the rocket punch effect part coming with the Kantam Robo. Guess I should have read the description and not relied on just the advertisement pictures.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 12 February, 2014 - 10:36
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net