CollectionDX Network

Vehicle Voltron

Comments

26 comments posted
1.Up the quality to Bandai

1.Up the quality to Bandai standards.
2.Release as SOC.
3.??????
4.PROFIT!

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 17 October, 2013 - 17:59
...wait, when has Bandai ever

...wait, when has Bandai ever licensed and revised another company's toy and then rereleased it as their own brand?

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 18 October, 2013 - 13:05
Wow

I have to say I have been waiting for this review for so long but I did not even bother reading it. This toy sucks, I own two what a monumental mistake that was. I do not even have the heart to sell my unopened one to another collector it sucks so bad. I too as a Dairugger fan got caught up in the hype for this toy mostly by the idea that these were professionals and experienced designers who had worked on other toys blah, blah, blah....... They aren't they are fucking amateurs who should consider other careers. This toy is an epic disaster, a $300 disaster at that. I have purged this toy from my mind I can't think about it anymore. I would never consider giving these guys another chance what an embarrassment. Expla-fucking-tive!

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 17 October, 2013 - 20:02
It's possibility is

It's possibility is incredible, at first i thought it was just a carbon copy of the original large release with updated materials, but it is quite abit more.

Also Red Ship was always my fav part, glad to see it still kicks much ass.

Court's picture
Posted by Court on 17 October, 2013 - 20:17
still waiting on my ToyFreaks

still waiting on my ToyFreaks order to ship, but I know if i hadn't pre-ordered, I'd still have picked this up on the after-market for far more than retail. I see that v2 still has it's issues, but then again, im gonna have a more than halfway decent Voltron I to display next to my Shogun Warriors Dairugger and Matchbox Voltron I... despite it's flaws, im still remain excited (for when the darn thing actually ships)

eIrvin's picture
Posted by eIrvin on 18 October, 2013 - 02:12
The writing was on the

The writing was on the wall... thank you intuition!

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 18 October, 2013 - 02:35
I would have liked to see

I would have liked to see some comparison pics with either the original DX or that mid size combining one that only came out in Japan.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 18 October, 2013 - 08:03
What, the 135 pictures , 3

What, the 135 pictures , 3 videos and wall of text not enough to give you a good idea about this thing?

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 18 October, 2013 - 08:40
What, the 135 pics

Hey JoshB,
Thanks for the Great Review on this. I can see that this was a hard review because you wanted to love it not just like it.
Thank you again.
RichClark :-)

RichClark's picture
Posted by RichClark on 18 October, 2013 - 12:18
This is the best 1st attempt at gokin I've yet seen.

For how complex this thing is, this is the best 1st attempt at gokin I've yet seen from any company. The flaws are so relatively minor compared to what might normally be seen for such a HUGE undertaking. It may not be perfect, but so what. It's huge, it stays together, it poses correctly and it's loaded with stuff... This is an A+ accomplishment in my book.

Scrubby's picture
Posted by Scrubby on 18 October, 2013 - 11:29
100% in agreement...

This is an incredible feat. Folks are quick to overlook that this is a diecast combiner made up of 15 vehicles - and that looks awesome in every form! They keep bringing up that Bandai would have done a better job... well, I got one word for you: AQUARION. The GD-99 & GE-01 are awesome pieces of engineering, that look good combined... but can't be handled at all or even stand on their own - let alone pose. Oh, and they are only composed of 3 ships.

So, I say GREAT JOB Miracle Productions! IMO, with a little more attention to detail during the manufactoring process, this Vehicle Voltron would've become TOTY 2013!!!

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 18 October, 2013 - 12:17
Whatever

An incredible feat? Really it was pretty incredibly when the weak midsection connections sent mine crashing to the floor. Oh the leg connections don't work correctly either. It was also pretty incredible when the neck split because the plastic quality is garbage. Oh and one sub is missing internal parts on mine. Yes this set is so incredible it would be better if they never bothered making it.

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 18 October, 2013 - 17:38
Sounds like you got screwed,

Sounds like you got screwed, but it seems that Josh didn't. Too bad for you I guess.

Scrubby's picture
Posted by Scrubby on 18 October, 2013 - 20:23
Yeah too bad for me and every

Yeah too bad for me and every other sucker who supported these assholes, I bought directly from them. Two version 1's. You know who else got screwed? Miracle Productions these POS are selling for 33% less now. Enjoy your inventory you made a really great name for yourselves.

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 18 October, 2013 - 21:02
Yeap, sucks to be in your shoes...

You got two version 1's?! Sorry to hear that. I have to agree that Miracle Production should've NEVER put out a sub-standard product, regardless if it was this Voltron or a Vinyl figure they are used to making. They should've manned up and offered everyone that purchased the version 1 an exchage replacement for the new version 2.

But I still think this is a great figure. Could've been better with more attention to detail, but it still is pretty awesome. Again, as owner of the two Bandai Aquarions, I can see how this Voltron is way better than those two "Bandai engineered figures".

}D

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 18 October, 2013 - 23:00
Actually, looks like Josh got

Actually, looks like Josh got screwed too.

For example, the second version Voltron's head of Josh is really bad painted. My Voltron is just perfect, glad to see I do not have these problems and it makes me wonder if just some first units have issues.

TheGeoPrime's picture
Posted by TheGeoPrime on 2 March, 2014 - 05:59
Thank You for a Great Review

Josh,

I will like to thank you for a great review. It really solidifies my decision to cancel my pre-order.
For $250, it lacks the quality standard of Bandai's SOC and CM's Brave Gokin quality. Heck, I even own 3rd party Transformers that are of better quality than this thing. But then again that is my opinion.

Also the metal limited edition Blazing Sword was never a rumor. It was a supposed to be a Toy Freaks exclusive that never materialized. Heck, you can go watch the first interview that you had with Dave in which he even stated so. Anyway, everything is water under the bridge, and like you said if he knew then what he knows now, he probably would have kept this under his belt a lot longer.

And the only way Bandai can release Vehicle Voltron as a SOC, is if WEP gives them a license. Things were looking up as Bandai was having positive talks with WEP earlier this year, but then we were all shocked that Toynami got the license instead. Oh well, I should leave this for another topic.

Glad o see this thing released, and glad to see an unbiased review.

SuperRobotAddict's picture
Posted by SuperRobotAddict on 18 October, 2013 - 15:27
Best decision of 2013!

I have a MIB if anyone wants to own this PIG! Step right up!

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 18 October, 2013 - 17:40
Thanks for the thorough review!

Thanks for the thorough review, Josh! I've been waiting for a proper, unbiased review of this figure. Knowing what to expect really helps, especially when deciding on purchasing a $200-plus toy.(You can now find version two selling on ebay for $200 shipped, BTW.) Also, I fully understand why a picky collector may be discouraged from this figure. Nonetheless, this might be the best we're gonna get for a long while, so I'm more than happy to introduce this guy into my collection until a better one is made. Cue the Voltron trumpet theme music!

MaakuZ's picture
Posted by MaakuZ on 18 October, 2013 - 18:00
A really great review and

A really great review and break down piece by piece. Great work Josh.

NEOGETTER's picture
Posted by NEOGETTER on 18 October, 2013 - 21:37
Upper torso piece

Hey Josh, is the spring mechanism that helps connect the head to the upper torso piece having any problems for you? I just got mine this week (FINALLY), and it's starting to have this problem where the spring, which isn't even attached to anything inside, is getting in between the white plastic and the metal inside. Is this just me?

EmSeeSquared's picture
Posted by EmSeeSquared on 16 November, 2013 - 02:13
Does anyone know if...

Does anyone know if TOYFREAKZ.COM went out of business? I have a friend who ordered a Vehicle Voltron from them and has received nothing yet. He tried all the available emails and telephone numbers listed on the site, but no replies at all. He is getting pretty nervous about it, as his credit card told him that they couldn't do anything about it because he pre-ordered and pre-paid it several months ago.

}|

The Mazinger Z's picture
Posted by The Mazinger Z on 25 November, 2013 - 22:12
Fantastic review Josh! This

Fantastic review Josh! This helped a lot both in terms of putting mine own together and setting up my expectations. I am very pleased with this figure. More than I can express. For me it is one of the best releases of 2013!

I want to second The Mazinger Z above and say that I still cannot believe that some people have STILL not gotten their Miracle Productions Vehicle Voltrons yet from ToyFreakz! Wow. That is stunning. It has been a couple months now!

ActionAwesome's picture
Posted by ActionAwesome on 10 December, 2013 - 13:07
Toyfeakz VV came!

Finally got my VV from Toyfreakz after ordering it in April 2012. The version 2 is much better than the version 1 I got a while back.

odeean's picture
Posted by odeean on 22 January, 2014 - 05:53
Wonder if you received a bad

Wonder if you received a bad unit or if there are several "second versions" out there.

The paint job of your Voltron´s head is really bad. I bought a couple of Voltrons two months ago, opened one and it is by far better than yours. It is a second version and does not have that paint issue on the head.

Totally happy with my purchase.

TheGeoPrime's picture
Posted by TheGeoPrime on 1 March, 2014 - 08:18
Vehicle Voltron Miracle Production Version 1

Hi Josh,
In defense of Version 1, I have handled several units now, and I did not experience any of the problems mentioned in your review.
First of all, the articulation and joints and balance are exactly the same between versions, which I think you agree with, even in your piece.
But as regards the fit and finish, my V1's are all nicely painted and molded. The Head, and Mid Section don't have those bubbles or gooey mess and bad finish of your piece.

Yes, there are differences, as you noted: In V1, the wheels roll in the mid-section and the feet, which I actually prefer to hard molded wheels.
Also, the best thing about V1 is that there is a retractable base below the feet to help it stay upright in robot mode, rather than slide on the rolling wheels. They removed this in Version 2, which can cause an easy shelf dive. This thing is so heavy, I think it could cause some serious damage if it falls. And thing I hate most about SOC's is they DON'T stand up!

I would not exchange my V1 for anything.
Perhaps you and some others received an early production piece, because many people have noted that their V1 is amazing.

Arbit's picture
Posted by Arbit on 21 August, 2014 - 04:21
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net