CollectionDX Network

RAH NEO Evangelion-01 Test Type

Comments

12 comments posted
Absolutely wonderful looking.

Absolutely wonderful looking. Glad I pre-ordered this thing. The sculpt, the paint job, everything looks extremely well done. I'd also like to compliment you on a great review. The pictures were very dynamic, and the text provided just enough information without being long paragraphs.

I'd also like to point out two things. One, I have seen pictures of this being able to do the running pose with the stand around one of the legs rather than the waist, so you might want to try that out. Second is that berserk mode Eva 01 you make mention towards at the end of the review is technically speaking an awakening version, and a Wondercon exclusive, so it will be extremely hard to get and anyone who can find a place to order it and wants it should do so now.

evaunit01's picture
Posted by evaunit01 on 20 February, 2013 - 22:18
Hey, thanks for the

Hey, thanks for the complement and the info! I did not know what the deal with the Awakening version was, since I just saw the image on Medicom's site with the description all in Japanese. Sounds like it will be tough to get, so I am glad I usually do not buy berserk or awakening versions of Unit-01! It'll definitely be an excellent version of the design, though.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 20 February, 2013 - 23:08
While I love the size,

While I love the size, articulation, and detail on this figure ('bout bloody time there was a pre-assembled articulating figure this size, IMO), I just can't get over the proportions of it- those small arms and head make it very top heavy for no reason at all.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 21 February, 2013 - 02:51
If you look at stills from

If you look at stills from 1.0 or 2.0, the proportions are spot on. The Rebuild Evas are much leaner, especially in the upper body, upper arms, and thighs. Even the head shape is pretty good for the new look. Moving up to such a large size allows a fidelity of detail and accuracy of proportions that smaller figures cannot achieve.

As for the top-heavyness that you've mentioned twice now, the figure has excellent feet and ankles to allow for stability in all sorts of poses. The height allows for a little sway, but it is no worse than the typical human 1/6 character with human proportioned feet. My Eva does all sorts of running and striding poses without fear of falling. If anything, the weight is centered lower towards the pelvis where the multi-part hip joints are screwed together.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 21 February, 2013 - 07:20
Holey cr4p, this is

Holey cr4p, this is amazing!

The Henshin Cyborg style of design really brings out the character of the Eva - that it's not a machine but a living Frankenstein Monster bound in an armored suit and violated by electronics and machinery....

Assuming the materials hold up over time, and that a lighted variant doesn't come out in the future, this could really be the 'perfect' Eva 01.

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 21 February, 2013 - 12:56
WOW...I don't normally go for

WOW...I don't normally go for larger figures (especially not 12 inch) but this gigantic beast may be the only character that I wouldn't mind having at a ridiculous 16 inches. Just so that it towers over all my other toys. I wonder how it would look next to the larger Lego buildings...

Now if my yen conversion on google is correct, this is about 250? Impressive! I would have expected it to be more. Perhaps I'm just thinking of smaller figures that run that much but have a lot of metal? Feels like you're getting your money's worth here.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 22 February, 2013 - 20:18
I think die cast has been

I think die cast has been used way too much to justify exorbitant prices. While it's certainly a nice benefit, having it shouldn't tack an extra $100 or so on the price tag.

evaunit01's picture
Posted by evaunit01 on 23 February, 2013 - 00:26
Just got this delivered

Just got this delivered today, and I'm pretty impressed! I haven't had the chance to really play around with it, but I've noticed a couple of things: 1) I have the same issue with cloth riding up the left knee and 2) the cloth reminds me of the type used by the Beagle/Toynami Mospeada Ride Armors. The cloth started to disintegrate over the high-stress areas (crotch and underarms) and bits of the plastic coating started to flake off the cloth. I'm not so worried about the rubber coverings on the arms as I am with the cloth used on the torso and legs. I wish Medicom had the foresight to make a back-up suit just in case the cloth is the type that disintegrates over time (/wishful thinking). Beautiful figure though, definitely looks like it stepped right out an Evangelion episode. I'm hoping for an accessory pack down the road. Loved the handgun they used in the anime series, although I don't know if it was used during the Reboot.

rikitiki's picture
Posted by rikitiki on 28 February, 2013 - 19:45
That's too bad about your

That's too bad about your Ride Armor... I have the Robotech release and haven't had any problems, but I will make sure to keep an eye out. Hopefully Medicom's suit is different.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 28 February, 2013 - 20:08
Do you have the Scott Bernard

Do you have the Scott Bernard or the Rand version? The suit on Scott is a little tighter than the suit on Rand and is more prone to cracking and disintegrating over time. It's when the figure is left in the riding position that the crotch area gets stretched, compromising the integrity of the cloth material. With the Eva, I wouldn't leave it displayed in extreme poses for too long.

Edit: forgot to mention that the karate chop hands are probably used when putting the Eva in a running pose.

rikitiki's picture
Posted by rikitiki on 1 March, 2013 - 02:21
I have Scott, but he spends

I have Scott, but he spends his days in armored mode so maybe he's safer that way.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 1 March, 2013 - 16:18
Enjoyable but a little perplexed.

I finally got mine today!

I had the box in my place for a few days before I had time to open it, and once I did I was kind of blown away at the presence of the figure. It's amazing to see. The colors are beautiful, and it has this alien "wrongness" that I don't think any other Eva toy has ever captured. It is akin to the description of the Eldar in Warhammer 40k, if you'll indulge me, or better yet: the nature of the Eva's in the Anime! They just have a creepy feel that this toy brings to life.

One thing I loved about the packaging: Only one piece of tape. I really get sick of cutting tape.
One thing I hated about the packaging: Getting the limited edition AT Field in and out with just that paper over the cover was a pain in the entry plug. First world toy problems I know.

Once I started playing with him I noticed some frustrations:

1. The hips are odd and I'm not a fan. Pulling them out for spread poses is easy, but it took me a good 20-30 min to pull the leg forward or backwards. One leg joint had a ratching "click" when moving back and forth and one didn't? It made me worry a bit about potential breakage. I really applied as little force as possible for fear of breaking it. Unfortunately the way the rubber covers the hips its hard to see how they actually move! So I'm a bit scared of snapping something.

I think Medicom should just stick to a regular ball joint, or rework how they do hips all together.

I'm also not a huge fan of the up and down motion of the hips... while this may help for some poses.. its frustrating to get one leg to stay up, or one leg to stay down. Maybe I need to play with the hips and work out the stiffness, but again, it's hard to see what you're doing with the rubber cover. I could see how American toy fans could easily break a hip here, if they are not used to being gentle with toys.

2. The feet seem really loose when it comes to the heel, instep, and ball moving back and forth, but then the ankle swivel is tight as all crap. Very strange. I'm also a bit afraid of leaving the figure in a crouch and putting too much weight on the ball.

3. I could see how the jaw would get loose quickly. I don't think I'll open it much.

4. The entry plug gimmick doesn't snap in a satisfying way. But good enough.

5. Lets talk elbows. I'm a little scared to completely bend the elbow to hold the gun at a certain pose. It doesn't seem like one hand will hold the weight of the rifle at a "gun by the head" pose.

Things that were better than expected:

1. I used a blow dryer on low heat on the gun and knife hands. If you know this trick it's easy as pie to slot the weapons, but I could see some people forcing things, and causing some damage. The actual hold is tight and satisfying.

2. I love how the umbilical cable is fuss free and looks like a real cable!

3. The hands pop in and out with no fuss and stay jointed. Feels tight.

4. The spine articulation is really cool and I love it. One of the best thing about this toy and makes menacing poses easier.

5. The head movement is better than just about any toy I've ever had.

6. I actually like the stand. It seems like you can get somewhat creative with it and do some cool poses. I think any toy at this price point should include a stand.

I think as I spent more time learning the articulation, (this is my first Medicom) I'll grow to love it even more.

Price:

I got this guy on the secondary market for $260 shipped! For the limited edition version you can't beat that with a stick. I think that slightly below MSRP. I can't see paying $400 for this figure. $300-$350, I would think about it. But yeah at less than $300 you can't go wrong.

Thanks for the review, I think it will help me with some of my issues.

Gakken85's picture
Posted by Gakken85 on 8 April, 2013 - 03:30
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net