CollectionDX Network

Papillon Myu

Comments

17 comments posted
What a wild and unique figure

What a wild and unique figure especially for SS.

I love the butterfly Object mode, it's cool and creepy at the same time.

The color scheme and art design is quite impressive.

I can see why you ponied up the cash, awesome review!

LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 12 November, 2013 - 14:29
Thanks for the kind words.

Thanks for the kind words.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 13 November, 2013 - 17:44
God almighty, that thing is

God almighty, that thing is ugly. I was excited we finally got a new Specter....only for it to Myu. Ugly design, with a color scheme that stands out way too much for a demon from Hell. Wings are nice though, but obscenely large.

So! I went a bit nuts this month. I bought the special Tamashii Nations Aries Shion set. You know, the one with the dark grey/black Aries Surplice and a second body for Pope Shion with the anime robe. I bought the Asian version released in Hong Kong and Singapore, so it's actually accurate. The more expensive Japan version has the weird vomit-green hair seen in the OVAs.....Even though the Surplice is an OCE(Original Color Edition, the manga coloring). Shion was blonde in the manga, and had brown hair in the first, very confusing anime episode. It's the most I will ever spend on a Myth Cloth figure. I want the Black Saints....but not at those prices.

Any way you can tease me a bit, and mention what you plan on buying/reviewing soon? I'm giving serious consideration to the Pegasus Koga figure. I know, I know. Omega isn't super hot with the designs. Watching the second season now(skip the first, pretend it doesn't exist).....and it's pretty decent. I really hope we get some season two villains released in Myth Cloth.

RobertG22's picture
Posted by RobertG22 on 13 November, 2013 - 03:17
Don't remind me about the

Don't remind me about the Black Saints. I almost had the Pegasus and Dragon, which is the most expensive of the two sets. I bought them from a seller in South America. Apparently he had gotten a few of them on clearance at one of his local stores and was flipping them . Long story short, my package disappeared as it was crossing Mexico. Luckily I paid with Paypal and the seller had put insurance on the package, so we both got our money back. But it was the last one he had. I think I paid about $160 shipped for that set.
What is the Black Pegasus and Dragon going for nowadays? The last time I checked , it was going for well over $200.

My Saint Cloth Myth reviews for the near future are going to be the rest of the EX line and the Athena God Cloth. I really have no inclination to support Omega by purchasing the Myth Cloth from that show. Not that they need my money it seems, since it looks like the Omega Saint Cloth Myth line is selling fairly well.

As for the show, I just can't bring myself to watch it again. I watched the Sanctuary Arc all the way up to the beginning of the fight with Pisces and I just came to terms with the fact that I really didn't care how the show ended or for any of the characters really. The new Bronze Saints and the enemies feel very cliche, both within the Saint Seiya universe and also anime in general. Plus the writing is so bad in the show. It feels like the writers don't have a real vision of what they want to do with the show, other than sell whatever toy or card game Bandai wants them to push.

I realize that Kurumada's vision for Saint Seiya is flawed, but at least it is a fairly cohesive story.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 13 November, 2013 - 18:01
Season two is such a marked

Season two is such a marked improvement. I barely got through the first episode of season one. It was swill. The animation was the worst part, but they've gone back to tradition in S2. Story is improved, we have a female Big Bad. Well actually, she's implied to be the pawn for an even bigger Big Bad. I hear the animation gets very choppy later in the season, I'm only 9 episodes in.

Black Pegasus/Andromeda are about $300, while the Dragon/Cygnus set is like $230. Ugh. Wish they would V2 or V3 Black Cloths as general releases. I'd snatch them all up. It seems like most major characters will be remade via the EX line, and OCE's for everyone....UGH. Omega is at least fresh designs and characters. They are staring off with the season two Cloth designs, hopefully we will get some of the villains. Lots of generic, unimportant MOTWs, but I want the Four Heavenly Kings and their goddess, who stand as counterparts to Athena and her Gold Saints.

RobertG22's picture
Posted by RobertG22 on 14 November, 2013 - 02:16
Are the designs for the

Are the designs for the villains better than the ones for the Saints? I am not digging the Seiya or Shun's new Cloths.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 14 November, 2013 - 20:00
Yeah. We've not seen the four

Yeah. We've not seen the four Class 1 Pallasites fight yet, or seen their armors in full. There are some images online of the designs, I think from the Omega Crusade card game. I *believe* they are official. Some of the Class 2 warriors have fairly interesting armors. Pallas herself has had her armor revealed in the newest opening sequence.

RobertG22's picture
Posted by RobertG22 on 14 November, 2013 - 22:29
I just watched the new intro.

I just watched the new intro. Pallas' armor is a pretty cool take on an evil version of Athena's Gold Cloth. Other than that, I can't say I really care for any of the other designs shown in the intro. It is neat to see Shiryu, Kiki and that the new Virgo performing an Athena Exclamation. In the intro, are Pallas' top soldiers the guys with the swords?

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 15 November, 2013 - 16:43
Also, have they explained why

Also, have they explained why they still need the new Bronze Saints in the show at this point? Considering the original Bronzes have reached God-like level and they are no longer restricted in their ability to fight, it would seem like there is no need for them.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 15 November, 2013 - 16:46
Yes, the four folks with

Yes, the four folks with swords(Yellow is a girl, I believe) are the Class 1 Pallasites, whose powers and armors are supposedly as strong as three Gold Saints. Pallas' Chronotector is quite lovely, I would totally buy that as a Myth Cloth.

Well, Seiya and Shiryu aren't bronze, and haven't been for at least a decade. They were both promoted to Gold Saint. Everyone else is technically retired, they have returned because Athena is convinced she won't survive the war against Pallas, and that she really could win. Not to mention, the civil war in Season One took out most of her forces. It's said there are very few active Saints last, maybe the least amount of any Holy War. Geki is a teacher, Ban and Nachi now run the Steel Saint program, Ikki still doesn't give a crap, Shun is a village doctor, and I have no idea what Hyoga does. Jabu retired and became a farmer.

Athena and her saints surviving the war against Hades is something that has not happened before. It's implied that after each Holy War, most of the Saints are wiped out. This was not the case. They lived, and were allowed to remain as Saints or retire. Most were forced into retirement, but I don't think they will stay around. I think the ones who survive against Pallas(Or the true Big Bad, implied to be Saturn) will go back into retirement, with Shiryu and Seiya being the exceptions. Yes, the Fab Five are back in action, along with the secondary Bronze Saints......But most of them will not stick around.

RobertG22's picture
Posted by RobertG22 on 15 November, 2013 - 18:06
That is one of the things

That is one of the things that irks me about the Omega. Seiya and the others never backed down from helping Athena . Then in Omega, all of a sudden they are just hanging around waiting for the kids to take care of the problem.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 15 November, 2013 - 19:52
They were kids then. People

They were kids then. People change as they get older. There was a lot of downtime between Mars' second attack when that meteor hit, and when the curse was lifted. Shiryu became a husband and a father. Shun became a doctor(I would never believe him staying on as a Saint full-time). Seiya was always the most loyal of Athena's Saints, so made sense he became Sagittarius and Athena's second-in-command. They have yet to discuss what Ikki and Hyoga did in the 14 years they were afflicted. Ikki is the most mysterious, no one even knew he survived the meteor. 14 years he went, never contacted another Saint, not even his own brother.

RobertG22's picture
Posted by RobertG22 on 15 November, 2013 - 20:26
I see where you are coming

I see where you are coming from. It just seems like the original Bronzes gave up their desire to protect Athena way too easily; like it was that rock band you liked in High School, but you don't really like when you are older.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 16 November, 2013 - 08:57
I dig it

It's like an anime version of THE MONARCH!

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 13 November, 2013 - 09:38
Now we just need a Dr.

Now we just need a Dr. Girlfriend to go with him. Haha.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 13 November, 2013 - 18:02
Persnally I like it, dont

Persnally I like it, dont think it is ugly, is very close to the source material. But I do agree on the fact that Papillon does not look the part as a Hades specter...

shindanrod's picture
Posted by shindanrod on 14 November, 2013 - 16:56
He has really grown on me

He has really grown on me because his stands out from the other Specters. Instead of a black armor with big,ornate wings, Myu has a pretty lively armor with big, ornate wings.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 14 November, 2013 - 20:02
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net