CollectionDX Network

Megatron

Comments

9 comments posted
Good figure but..

It's a good figure, but I heard there's a lot of issues between the designer and Hasbro about it. On his deviantart page, Don Figueroa said he felt personally insulted because Hasbro used his design without any attempt of contacting him like they did with the first "Classics" figures, saying they just 'stole' his design (comparing it to the Third Party figures). he was more disappointed because he was powerless to do anything because Hasbro's control over the original character outweighed his right to challenge.

Good Review Josh, but I'm shocked, no mention of the included comic though? It's a good book, you could really apply Megatron's motivational methods for future CDX outbursts!

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 11 February, 2014 - 09:14
That's so odd. I assume

That's so odd. I assume anything he does for a TF comic is "work for hire", and becomes the property of Hasbro. Presumably Hasbro reserves the right to make toys based on any comic designs, and that's probably written into his contract. It just seems strange that he'd be surprised about it at this point.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 11 February, 2014 - 11:49
Comic VS Toy

The artists are all work for hire, but a lot of them are dedicated to their craft and which book they're working on. The comics have been getting away with a lot of things that Hasbro hasn't done or doesn't plan on doing right now although I'm sure at some point Hasbro's going to let Chromedome and Rewind.. urh.. come out (I know TFCC has their figures soon but that's another story).

Lately the comics have been forced into making things more in line with outside influences like the High Moon video game character models being used for some of the cast, and now we're seeing characters appear based on the toy lines like Crosscut who is a remold of Skids (and a throwback to his Diaclone figure), and Dreadwing remolded of this Megatron.

Don created that design for the comic long before Hasbro had plans to make a figure of it, but because they own Megatron's character they can do what they want to make a new figure.

I honestly think that is Hasbro's biggest flaw compared to the likes of Bandai, who acknowledges a designer's role in some releases (such as the 'Gundam 00 'designer color' models or the multitude of Version Katoki figures and models), especially when some of the figures that are coming out now are clearly based on the styles of Don Figueroa, Alex Milne, and Nick Roche to name a few.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 11 February, 2014 - 12:23
Do you honestly think Katoki

Do you honestly think Katoki owns his designs? Bandai owns all the Gundam designs same as Hasbro owns all the Transformers designs, no questions asked. Anyone working for them designing characters must know that they have no ownership over the IP. If Don feels such ownership over his designs, he should go start his own company (which, in fact, he has, altho they have yet to release anything after years of announcements). It's no different than comic writers and artists in the 90's, which is why we now have independent, creator-drive companies like Image. Don's been doing this for a while, though, so I cannot imagine why he would be surprise to see Hasbro using a rendition of their character that Don just happened to draw and making it into a toy. Maybe a nod somewhere along the way would have been the 'nice' thing to do, but they are in no way obligated. I am sure the TF comic artists' contracts are so ironclad and refined that there should never be a question of who owns what.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 11 February, 2014 - 14:45
I had heard a rumor about

I had heard a rumor about that, but I couldn't confirm it so I left it out. I figured someone in the comments section would fill in the blanks, and I was not let down.

In regards to the comic, I flipped through it, but I really wanted to focus on the toy itself. I think I gave the comic to my kids.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 11 February, 2014 - 09:43
READ IT

Dude, seriously you should read it. It's perfect for you!

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 11 February, 2014 - 10:34
I really really like this

I really really like this design.
But like most generations it just kills me to see how the Takara versions just keep wiping the floor with the Hasbro's.
I was pulling the trigger on this very piece just last week until I saw a review of the
Takara version featuring deep deep black paint, bright purple panel lining, and accurate paint aps on the hands and face.
Every time I see a awesome transformer like this I just sigh that us US folks get the cost cutting versions.
Great review though..
It is a great design.

Jessiedart's picture
Posted by Jessiedart on 11 February, 2014 - 12:28
My cousin got this and Orion

My cousin got this and Orion Pax for Christmas. It was a nice surprise.

Now if only I can find Waspinator at retail.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 11 February, 2014 - 14:13
Hollow Legs

I got this guy loose, so I had to figure out his transformation without instructions. I mention this because you said his legs are hollow? But there's a hinge on the back of his legs that let you close up the back, thereby minimising the hollowness. Although this seems to limit his ankles somewhat. The hinge seems to be there purely for this purpose though. Perhaps this wasn't mentioned in the instructions?

updatedude's picture
Posted by updatedude on 12 February, 2014 - 13:30
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net