CollectionDX Network

Indiana Jones

Comments

11 comments posted
Montana Jack and the

Montana Jack and the Searchers of Some Important Lost Stuff

VIR's picture
Posted by VIR on 4 July, 2014 - 14:50
HA. That pretty much sums it

HA. That pretty much sums it up!

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 4 July, 2014 - 19:27
Oh.... Figma from great

Oh.... Figma from great heights to great lows! I have Cobra and Link and every time I walk by them they make me smile. How did they F this up so bad.

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 4 July, 2014 - 18:59
I'm still not entirely sure

I'm still not entirely sure if the face is supposed to be Crystal Skull Indy, in which Harrison Ford looked like a member of the living dead, or if they even got likeness rights at all for this figure. I really can't tell.

If this were to go way down in price I'd pick it up just for the assortment of Indy accessories, particularly the figma sized Webley, but I doubt this is gonna be one of those releases that takes a sharp dive in price.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 4 July, 2014 - 19:05
I don't think the head sculpt

I don't think the head sculpt looks that bad in review photos - certainly not as bad as it did in the original solicitation. It looks enough like Ford, but it's a sort of compromise likeness - it doesn't look like Ford now, but it's too aged and deeply lined to be Ford in Last Crusade. It would probably look passable without the dark wash on it, like JMann says.

But Figma always has a rough time with real people's likenesses. Just look at their Michael Jackson.

Likeness aside, it's still really lame how this figure is treated. The lack of a full head with a removable hat, after the elaborate job they do to ensure removable headgear on other figures (like Guts)... the lack of ANY alternate faces. That blankly stern face is a real bummer. I'd prefer any two of a smirking face, a worried face, or an angry face... You know, to actually emulate some of the expressions he has in the films, and not just on the classic painted posters (which this figure isn't anywhere close to the level of).

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 4 July, 2014 - 19:23
A Japanese Amazon review

A Japanese Amazon review complains that instead of Harrison Ford they licensed the face of the current manager of the (Japanese Pro Baseball team) Rakuten Eagles. I think they nailed it.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 4 July, 2014 - 19:49
Harrison Ford by way of...

Ronald Reagan?

Sildani's picture
Posted by Sildani on 4 July, 2014 - 20:25
This guy repainted his from

This guy repainted his from fedora to toe and it looks sorta better.

http://www.onesixthwarriors.com/forum/non-1-6-figures-toys-related-products/756701-indiana-jones-figma-6-repaint.html

figma should just not be allowed to do real world likeness. They are terrible at it or something happens where they cannot use it (Roboflop). They need to stick with cartoon and video game characters.

netkid's picture
Posted by netkid on 4 July, 2014 - 20:27
I mean...that's not entirely

I mean...that's not entirely true. There are several figmas that I can think of that do a good job getting a person's likeness down. The problem is, they're all exclusives/minor celebrities that very few people outside of Japan would care about. It's about 50/50 in execution, but yes, Max Factory does have a history of blowing it when it comes to the big names. I don't think they should necessarily give it up, but I also don't think people should be trusting them with their money in advance if likeness is the primary selling point.

At any rate there are a whole mess of likeness-licensed figures coming out soon with the Avengers figmas set to release in the next couple months, so we should have a pretty good idea if the trend is going to continue in the immediate future.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 4 July, 2014 - 20:39
There Are Limits...

All things considered, I think this was a bold attempt; kudos to Figma. However this also serves as a proof as to why companies like Bandai tend to stick to more stylized anime characters or 'stylized' people (and I mean no offense) in Michael Jackson(R.I.P.) and Daft Punk. Thanks for a great review. I am a huge fan of what you do.

JC73's picture
Posted by JC73 on 4 July, 2014 - 21:15
The whip is a bummer for

The whip is a bummer for sure, but other than that I think this is pretty okay. Harrison Ford has one of those faces that's pretty hard to capture in plastic for some reason. Heck, even Hot Toys couldn't get it wrong. I just think of this one as "Japanese cartoon" Indiana Jones and then I'm pretty fine with it.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 8 July, 2014 - 18:22
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net