CollectionDX Network

Gunbuster

Comments

15 comments posted
Hmm, I found it easy to get a

Hmm, I found it easy to get a pretty good crossed arm pose out of this. The thing is, the second joint in the elbow can be rotated independent form the first, lower joint, as a sort of second bicep swivel. If you have the second joint bend forwards, and the first bending inwards, I found you can get a pretty good crossed arms pose.

evaunit01's picture
Posted by evaunit01 on 2 September, 2013 - 02:54
Fix the above please. It's

Fix the above please. It's from 1988, not 1998.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 2 September, 2013 - 13:38
I'm going to be blunt,

I'm going to be blunt, despite really enjoying this site and the news on upcoming toys etc, your reviews Josh, are nothing short of half arsed & lazy. Are you bored of this hobby now? That's the impression your giving. It's embarrassing considering these toys you 'review' are given free to you.
Sort yourself out man :)

Wankor's picture
Posted by Wankor on 3 September, 2013 - 01:04
Half-assed an lazy? Could you

Half-assed an lazy? Could you back that up? In what regards? Was it the 25 pictures? Did I miss some details on the gimmicks?

This is our third Gunbuster toy, and we have already talked about the mecha and its role in the OVA. I covered every included accessory, and went over the quality and missed opportunities. Lately I have found it to have little value to go into excruciating detail on things that seem obvious from photos. Yes, it has double jointed elbows, look at the photos. People (myself included) only have so much time in a day to read (or write) reviews. Over the years I have learned to trim away the unnecessary fat and get right to the point. My enthusiasm for the site and the toys have not diminished, I am just learning to be more efficient with my (and the reader's) time.

And once again I would like to dispel the notion of these toys being free. True, some toys are provided as samples, but we still have to spend 4-5 hours on a review. Shooting photos, editing photos and video, writing text takes up a lot of time. I don't know what your time is worth, but I'm willing to bet if I put a monetary value on the hours into a review like this it would amount to more than the cost of the toy.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 3 September, 2013 - 13:38
Wankor's time must be very

Wankor's time must be very valuable, Josh, he didn't even have time to upload an avatar. I'm sure Wankor has something much more important he's doing with his time. (besides disparaging your dedication to reviewing)

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 3 September, 2013 - 14:31
Josh's review is fine. In

Josh's review is fine. In fact, I think he goes above and beyond even some other reviewers by including nice background and sometimes even videos.

You're being cranky.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 3 September, 2013 - 16:53
Ok Josh, let me elaborate;

Ok Josh, let me elaborate; I've read your reviews for years and your SOC reviews in particular, being some of
my personal favourites. You're easily one of the best toy reviewers out there but I just feel your reviews have gotten lazy. You're saying it's your new approach, letting the pics do the talking, I'm saying from where I'm sitting, it comes accriss as you're just going through the motions! Yes lovely pictures but if we want pics we can get them online. Where's the comparison shots of the other figures? The pros and cons of owning this over other versions? What we end up with is a shit load of pics and a token 2 sentences per shot which isn't nearly enough.
Don't let the kiss asses fool you, it's coming across as very lack lustre at the mo. get back to basics man!!

Wankor's picture
Posted by Wankor on 4 September, 2013 - 01:43
Hey, Josh, You mind if I take

Hey, Josh,

You mind if I take a swing at this guy?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 September, 2013 - 01:58
you know man, you could've

you know man, you could've said what you are looking for in this review from the start and in a nice way.

kurochan_24's picture
Posted by kurochan_24 on 4 September, 2013 - 04:40
if you dont like how a

if you dont like how a reviewer works, you could always do reviews yourself.

or not read/watch their reviews.

tanuki's picture
Posted by tanuki on 4 September, 2013 - 09:25
I think I see what you are

I think I see what you are saying. Not sure I agree, but I understand your criticism. The thing is, to me there is a big difference in the way I treat a big deluxe SOC versus a smaller, less complicated toy. It's been a while since I did a big, involved SOC-style review, and I think that's what this Wankor is missing.

Those reviews will still happen, when I feel the toy would benefit from it. I'm not going to talk for the sake of talking though. There's enough white noise in this world.

Thanks for the clarification.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 4 September, 2013 - 10:02
I'm Sorry for the first post

I'm Sorry for the first post Josh. It was very very rude and out of order. I accept the criticism I'm getting. I dont pull punches and I'm very passionate sometimes and blunt.
Hope you get where I'm coming from though in essence. As I say, you're one of the very best out there, and I enjoy your input. It just seems to have dropped off since the good old days. I see your POV too though; in respect of smaller vs bigger reviews...
I miss those old school reviews though :( I've probably watched your Dancougar and Ideon videos half dozen times ha.

Peace!

Wankor's picture
Posted by Wankor on 5 September, 2013 - 11:50
Awesome review!

This review convinced me to buy this SRC Gunbuster in a recent trip to New York, now that I have started collecting the SRC line I will be looking forward to your reviews from this line.

Will you be doing reviews for the SRC Shin Getter Robo 1 and the upcoming SRC Mazinkaizer?

thanks!

The_Omega_Man's picture
Posted by The_Omega_Man on 6 September, 2013 - 14:33
on the fence

I've been on the fence with this one...I've seen this rather nice Gunbuster from Kaiyodo (Not the Revoltech) that I've been considering, but...I'm torn...I like KaiyodoBuster's Bulk, but the Stability of the SRC is leaning me the other way....AUGH....

blitzkriegomega's picture
Posted by blitzkriegomega on 7 September, 2013 - 00:49
This one is a nice figure.

This one is a nice figure. But I would only recomend it if you can find it at a really really good price. sub $50 USD. Otherwise you will get far more bang for your buck and lots more enjoyment saving up a little more and getting the re-released SOC Gunbuster.

The SRC has a lot of neat features, and moves well. But some of the accessories are just hellish to get in place. The robot itself is a bit boring without the transformation. Even with the baseball bats. Not a bad piece (except when putting on those arm and leg electrodes, when it is a demon possessed piece of torture given form). Worth owning for a cheap price. But if you can't get it cheap you will get more value going for the Cadillac.

faelon's picture
Posted by faelon on 27 June, 2016 - 00:05
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net