CollectionDX Network

DX Kamitsuki Gattai Kyoryujin

Comments

15 comments posted
Nope

Great review! I really wanted to know more about this mecha.

It's so shiny and colorful, I don't want to be mean but the desing is reall simple. I thought that the desginers learned something from Gobuster.

Someone in Youtube posted a good comment about the figure: It's tacky and money-grubbing gimmickery. If it wasn't for all the electronics, this thing would have been no more than $60.

Donuts's picture
Posted by Donuts on 17 April, 2013 - 22:11
It is a very simple design,

It is a very simple design, which I think is the opposite of Go-busters. With that line, they tried to do too much with certain mecha.

As for the music, since it plays a prominent part in transformation, this toy would have not been complete without the electronics. This is also a toy meant for kids and sounds are one more way for them to interact with it, so it makes sense for the electronics to be included for that reason also. They are not catering to the collectors, to whom sound gimmicks may be irrelevant.

The batteries are definitely a cash grab on the part of Bandai. I too am tired of Bandai having all of these extra small toys (the batteries in this case) that you have to buy to get a complete set of toys. It was cool when they did it for Kamen Rider W, then it just got out of hand. So while I am planning on getting the other Kyoryuger mecha, I doubt I will buy any of the battery sets. To do so would be to continue feeding Bandai money through the sales of the batteries and solidify in their minds that this is a good way to do business.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 18 April, 2013 - 14:35
While not as bad as what we

While not as bad as what we got in 2010 and 2012, this thing is still repulsive. It did NOT need ALL of those SFX and music clips. And the only reason these are so big is because they needed to accommodate choking down on those C-sized batteries on a regular basis. The $120 price tag doesn't help any either.

Once more, we see here a toyline sacrificing space and fun for an overblown gimmick. This very same gimmick worked okay in "Go-Onger", but only because each Engine Soul was self-contained, and did not depend on the mecha themselves providing more electronics.

. . .

At this point, I'm only interested in Pteraiden-Oh [Western].

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 18 April, 2013 - 14:58
The SFX and music that you

The SFX and music that you can produce with this set or all the SFX and music it is capable of producing?

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 18 April, 2013 - 18:39
A quick musical motif is

A quick musical motif is appropriate, and that is typically reserved for role-play toys and add-on toys. But the duration and complexity of the individual SFX and music in this thing is way overblown.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 19 April, 2013 - 11:39
Awesome man! Excellent review

Awesome man! Excellent review as always! I might pick this up one day!

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 18 April, 2013 - 16:01
To each his own.

Wow, what a horrible-looking main robot...

And I used to think that the Deluxe Abanren-Oh looked bad.

makaikishi's picture
Posted by makaikishi on 19 April, 2013 - 04:15
I kinda like it :)

KyoryuJin looks pretty good. He could almost be Abarenoh's younger brother :)

Vavilos's picture
Posted by Vavilos on 19 April, 2013 - 20:12
I too was not a big fan of

I too was not a big fan of the design when I first saw it. Josh B and I even made fun of it on one of the episodes of the CDX show. So I can understand why people hate the design.

However, since I watch Kyoryuger on a regular basis and have had time to play with the toy a quite a bit, the design has really grown on me. When I let my nephew play with it ( he calls it "dinosaur robot"), we had a good time with the toy. So I was able to appreciate it from the perspective of a 3 year old, which is who this toy was designed for.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 19 April, 2013 - 21:07
1.- Toys? 2.- Take it easy

1.- A toy doesn't need a lot of pieces (robots) or sounds to be fun but Bandai knows that some parents of and a lot of collectors will buy their expensive items.

2.- You like Kyoryujin and that's all that matters.

Donuts's picture
Posted by Donuts on 21 April, 2013 - 12:14
1. Agreed 2. Agreed. I am by

1. Agreed

2. Agreed. I am by no means up in arms about the comments on this. I expected there to be some negative feelings towards the design. I too hated it at one point. I merely like having laid back conversation with other adults( I presume) about Super Sentai toys.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 21 April, 2013 - 17:53
Yeah baby!

Kids, adults, ladyboys, girls like mechas too... Just be happy ;D
Well, I have to read other reviews, take care -3-

Donuts's picture
Posted by Donuts on 23 April, 2013 - 13:32
another hot mess in the making

It looks like a carnivale parade exploded on a robot. And I fear the next components will turn it into a full blown parade float. Definitely not for me.

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 20 April, 2013 - 21:16
i have kyouryujin too, and i

i have kyouryujin too, and i love it. true, its' proportions are a bit weird and the transformations could have been better (hiding the head), but it's a lot of fun to play with.

wilcosu35's picture
Posted by wilcosu35 on 21 April, 2013 - 13:31
Newbie here!

For sale??

FameFred22's picture
Posted by FameFred22 on 2 May, 2014 - 18:47
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net