CollectionDX Network

Transformers Masterpiece Lambor (Sideswipe)

Comments

15 comments posted
Despite the lack of die cast,

Despite the lack of die cast, this is an excellent figure! I've had it for about 2 weeks and can't stop playing with it. I am very optimistic about the direction this masterpiece line is going in. As a G1 Transformers fan, this is what I have always wanted. Hopefully we will continue to see more G1 MP figures in this scale. I am still dreaming of an MP Devastator and the rest of the Dinobots. Maybe some day it could happen. Great review!

supergonzo1980's picture
Posted by supergonzo1980 on 22 November, 2012 - 21:18
No diecast and no rubber make Kenny G go something something....

I was initially upset with the lack of diecast, rubber, and chrome, however this is one very excellent and satisfying figure! Mine has no QC issues at all. I will gladly fore-go the diescast, rubber, and chrome if it means Tomy will churn out the Autobot cars at a speedy pace.

Kenny G's picture
Posted by Kenny G on 22 November, 2012 - 21:48
Between this guy and iGear's

Between this guy and iGear's not-Brawn, my two biggest G1 update wants have been fulfilled. It is truly a glorious time to be a Transformers fan. My Sideswipe does have a gnarly paint chip on one of the silver parts next to his head, but it's fixable. I have no problem with the price for the size, but only if the QC is impeccable. My other Masterpieces have always been flawless., so hopefully they make that a higher priority moving forward. Bring on the Fairlady Z (Prowl/Smokescreen/Bluestreak) mold! I can wait for Masterpiece Jazz because the Generations mold is pretty much show-tastically perfect, fine details aside.

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 22 November, 2012 - 21:47
I agree. The Fairlady Z

I agree. The Fairlady Z would be a logical next step for this line. They could get three figures out of the one mold and save on tooling for another mold. Maybe even a Diaclone blue Bluestreak as an exclusive?

supergonzo1980's picture
Posted by supergonzo1980 on 23 November, 2012 - 10:50
The lack of diecast isn't

The lack of diecast isn't really a big deal (although it's always good for structural strength of tiny joints). Comparing the diecast Binaltech to the plastic Alternatiors, the Alts were easier to balance.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 23 November, 2012 - 00:31
With some fiddling I was able

With some fiddling I was able to get the arms tucked in nice and tightly. I just had to push on the hands a bit when they're inside the forearms.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 23 November, 2012 - 21:45
moved on

Mp-01 spoiled me on the heft, die-cast, and quality. The rest of the line has been decreasing bought and then sold. Other than the jets I got from Wal-mart for 20 bucks...I stay away. seems very overpriced for all plastic figures that I found often in vehicle modes were quite mediocre. Incredible review and loved the end poses that came from the cartoon. You reviews are some of the best, keep up the good work. As for the new direction being good, we all have our own like and dislikes.

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 24 November, 2012 - 00:43
Awesome review! There were a

Awesome review! There were a couple of cool tidbits I didnt know like for example that the shade of red used is the same as a real Lamborghini. That is attention to detail even though more than likely part of the whole licensing thing.

I too want to see some more Autobots. I honestly dont think diecast is needed. I said myself that if any diecast was to be used in the figure, it would only be so they can say it has diecast for the hell of it. Im very happy with my Lambor.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 24 November, 2012 - 23:00
Lucky find

I ran across him on vacation yesterday at a comic store. Picked him up. He wasn't cheap, but I do like him. I was never a huge die cast collector, but I do think rubber tires really makes sense on these figures. Compared to my alternity Prime, I think this is a much better figure and they were a similar price point.

Coldiron's picture
Posted by Coldiron on 25 November, 2012 - 02:12
Great Review I love this guy

Great Review
I love this guy but I Still believe you get a better bang for your buck at that price point buying an MP Hot Rod
If you love G1 transformers everything goes out the window and just get it.

ThePlasticRobot's picture
Posted by ThePlasticRobot on 25 November, 2012 - 05:42
Mmmmmmm..... This is

Mmmmmmm..... This is delicious. I didn't bite the bullet and order one myself, but I'm king of regretting that decision now.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 25 November, 2012 - 13:55
Love it! but Masterpiece..ummm

I really like this figure in the sense of playability. It's fun to transform, fun to pose and always have fun playing with it. The cartoon accuracy and real life alt mode accuracy is great as well.
But.. I do expect more for a title of 'Masterpiece'. Die cast has its pros and cons but at least rubber tires wouldn't hurt.
And since MP10 has Spike in it, I kind of expecting Spike to drive a Lamborghini, but it seems to luxurious expectation.
QC? Mine has a spot of black paint where it shouldn't be. It doesn't that bad but accummulating with those expectation above I really don't think this figure lives up to a title of a 'Masterpiece'.

protimus prime's picture
Posted by protimus prime on 28 November, 2012 - 11:33
Well what is the line was

Well what if the line was called "Transformers It's a Really Great Piece" line?

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 28 November, 2012 - 15:56
That's too long, gonna take

That's too long, gonna take much space in the box.
'Masterpiece Wannabe' or 'Almost MP'... ^_^

protimus prime's picture
Posted by protimus prime on 29 November, 2012 - 13:04
Great review and random thoughts

Andrew or is it VF5SS, wanted to start off by saying great review and your knowledge with all things macross is always greatly appreciated. With that said, I do have to agree with some of the other folks on the forum that expected mp 12 to have rubber tires at the minimum for it to be a masterpiece grade. Hopefully, Takara is listening in on the feedback and will change this with the future releases of the autobot vehicles in this series. Though I'm not an avid collector of the all the MP lines myself I do agree that MP 01 has probably for most parts tainted the MP lines quite a bit for most collectors of this line, the first figure blew most of us away though the scale and adherence to anime accuracy were lacking in some detail. The heft and ridiculous shock factor of random gimmicks made the price tag very very reasonable. But, I do agree overall if Takara continues to churn out the rest of the autobot and deceptcon line of the G1 days I would be a very pleased collector.

(Still, a little diecast is always appreciated haha... )

Who knows, maybe when I get my MP 10 this week my thoughts on this lack of rubber tires will alleviate when its standing in scale and perhaps when they re-do another MP scale for Megatron (hopefully this time with less kibble and bits) it'll all make sense...

roninron's picture
Posted by roninron on 29 November, 2012 - 15:53
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net