CollectionDX Network

Powered Suit Studio Nue Design (Mobile Infantry)

Comments

17 comments posted
y-racks and hand flamers

Quite a comprehensive review. The last few photos on the rocks came out excellent.

I'm still not decided on this toy. It's interesting that Kato himself chose to replace all the Revoltech joints with aftermarket parts - it seems like the two basic peg-in-hole shoulder joints would be the weakest spot, considering Kaiyodo's track record.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 29 June, 2012 - 19:25
Design

I thought Kato just painted the cover and the powered suit design itself was by Miyatake? It's even in Miyatake Complete Design Works book as I recall. Is that wrong?

EDIT: Okay, I looked it up. Apparently design was a collaboration between Miyatake and Kato (who were both Nue founders). http://www.starblazers.com/html.php?page_id=527 "This association began in 1975 when Katoh and Miyatake collaborated on illustrations for Starship Troopers that were published in Hayakawa's SF Magazine. Together, they were the first to visualize the story's famous Powered Suit with a precision and detail that had never been seen before."

"When Hayakawa published a new Japanese edition of the paperback (titled Soldiers of Space in Japan) the same year Gundam appeared, Katoh was the natural choice for the cover and interior illustrations. The Powered Suit design became indelible at that point, refined only by Miyatake himself for the 1988 Starship Troopers anime video series, for which Katoh did package design."

Oh, and I realized I actually have a copy of Kato's "SF Artist Naoyuki Katoh Beautiful Women/Mecha/Powered Suits" book around here too.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 29 June, 2012 - 22:54
Studio Nue

Ah yes, I think some of the information on that page comes from the Naoyuki Katoh SF Illustrations books. As I recall, the foreword to the first volume discusses how, as part of their collaborative process, the other Studio Nue guys would sketch out designs for Kato's book and magazine covers, which he would then finish rendering in his final painted versions. Given how close the Nue artists seemed to be, it may not be possible to definitively credit designs like these to only one of them.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 30 June, 2012 - 17:55
Yeah, Miyatake and Kato

That's an a-b-c of the history of Japan's machas and toys, too.
Miyatake and Kato collaborated to produce the design.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kazutaka_Miyatake

and please don't forget about a Miyatake's earlier work for MazingerZ....cutaway
:D

SamuraiAvenger's picture
Posted by SamuraiAvenger on 9 July, 2012 - 07:47
Fun thing to do with the egg hand

Pretend it's the thirty-second bomb. "Twenty-nine! Twenty-eight!"

I really do love "Starship Troopers", but it's greatest strength is the greatest opening chapter ever. Heinlein sucks you in with the suit action, and then you're stuck with a hundred pages of fascism, and you're just willing to put up with it to see the Mobile Infantry again.

So far, Aliens and HALO are the best adaptations of the book. The actual "Starship Troopers" film was great... in that it was basically the "Airplane!" version of the book if you sit back and think about it. I hear the new version might be closer to the book, but will lose some of the political edge. I'm not sure how I feel about that. Sure, I didn't agree with a lot of Heinlein's philosophy, but the book makes it so fascinating.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 30 June, 2012 - 03:02
You mean fascisminating?

You mean fascisminating?

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 1 July, 2012 - 08:16
Now, the million dollar (or

Now, the million dollar (or at least ¥3500) question for me: what scale is it?

spencer1984's picture
Posted by spencer1984 on 30 June, 2012 - 06:29
It's smaller than a soda can

It's smaller than a soda can

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 30 June, 2012 - 13:11
How tall is the figure that

How tall is the figure that comes with it?

spencer1984's picture
Posted by spencer1984 on 30 June, 2012 - 17:22
Around three and a quarter

Around three and a quarter inches tall.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 30 June, 2012 - 18:09
Thanks! I'm definitely going

Thanks! I'm definitely going to have to track one down.

spencer1984's picture
Posted by spencer1984 on 2 July, 2012 - 12:45
Sweet info dump. I'm loving

Sweet info dump. I'm loving the outdoor photo motif.

ArshadAA's picture
Posted by ArshadAA on 1 July, 2012 - 15:22
cant find it

hey guys I looked online and cant find this figure anywhere not even for preorder any news on when its being released?

nomad16's picture
Posted by nomad16 on 2 July, 2012 - 18:30
It's OOP

This was released about a year ago. HLJ shows it as "Discontinued".

Some Revoltech pieces are made in extremely limited production runs and sell out almost immediately (particularly when you have crazy guys in Japan buying FIVE of the damn things).

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 2 July, 2012 - 20:32
I just got one on eBay for

I just got one on eBay for within $2 of the original price, so you may have some luck there as well.

spencer1984's picture
Posted by spencer1984 on 3 July, 2012 - 05:30
How does this compare in size

How does this compare in size and detail to the diecast Kaiyodo one which had the most elaborate packaging for such a disappointingly small figure lol? Also is there some relationship with that gokin Yamato walker that came out a couple of years ago, they seem to be related?

demize's picture
Posted by demize on 4 July, 2012 - 16:12
"Desert Yellow" version

Limited edition re-release, WonderFest exclusive. Tokyo Hunter has it advertised, search for "Revoltech".

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 14 July, 2012 - 00:38
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net