CollectionDX Network

Moe Moe Z-cune

Comments

17 comments posted
Wait, seriously?

Even if it's one click to a sister site, my interest in reading the review died as soon as you posted that link. I don't know if that's supposed to be funny, or people really can't handle a transforming gun that turns into a figure or a girl,but I'm honestly kind of annoyed right now.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 3 December, 2012 - 17:23
From what I have been told,

From what I have been told, the average CDX reader does not like girly figures, which is why the full review went up on the sister site.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 3 December, 2012 - 17:52
I don't how how true that is,

I don't how how true that is, if the average reader is also the average poster, I think I can see a lot of evidence to go either way. Anyway, I don't know if that matters. Is this a Sentai-related figure? There seems to be plenty of coverage for that category here. It looks like a weird double standard that this is still an issue. Transforming lady robots are fine, but this isn't? Stuff that seems a lot less appropriate to the site has been posted before (diecast cars come to mind). This is a figure that doesn't have a lot of exact parallels to anything else out there, but does this set a precedent for split reviews in the future? All of this isn't meant to be directed at you, by the way
Seeing how I'm the only one apparently upset enough to comment about this, I guess I'm alone here, but I still think it sucks.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 3 December, 2012 - 18:45
laughing so hard right now

this is the "A Modest Proposal" of the CDX/OtakuDX schism

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 3 December, 2012 - 19:34
I really can't get over this

That pixelated shot of Aoi-tan nestled in her compartment makes the figure look much, much lewder than it actually is :y

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 3 December, 2012 - 19:36
SpaceRunaway- I see your

SpaceRunaway- I see your point and I had even considered that there may be such a reaction to me posting only a partial review here on CDX. I had even considered posting the full review on both sites, but I decided,with Josh's approval, to go this route. I figure this way, if people are put off by girly figures, then they can read part of the review.
Thanks for voicing your opinion because it does really matter. If people do not like this format for this kind of content that is in the "gray area" of should it be on CDX or OCDX then we can try something different next time.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 3 December, 2012 - 21:41
Well, thanks for posting the full review.

I appreciate that. Part of what made me upset was that I couldn't tell if it was done jokingly or not, in light of some of the threads that have happened in the past. Well, just one thread really. Furthermore, even though I knew that Collection DX wouldn't be the kind of site to do this, it looked a lot like splitting up content to get more page hits. Again, I knew that wasn't the case, but seeing that practice done so many places elsewhere just caused a really visceral reaction.

For the record, I don't even collect Sentai stuff or figurines, but I don't mind reading about either. :>

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 4 December, 2012 - 22:40
Recognizer- Sorry for

Recognizer- Sorry for sounding unlearned, but what is "A Modest Propoasl"?

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 3 December, 2012 - 21:42
Wow, that was really awkward.

Wow, that was really awkward. A review that actually turns into half of a review and then points to another site for full details.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 December, 2012 - 00:52
Disappointed

I'm also very disappointed in this. This looks like a really fantastic design that can be appreciated by fans from both sides as well as something of a clever parody. There is nothing lewd or inappropriate about the design that should require this sort of treatment. This only serves to unnecessarily further alienate and divide toy fans. I understand the intent, but it doesn't change how it comes across to me. I agree completely with the others here.

Edit: That said, the reviews certainly were well written and as I've just begun to check out this series, it may well help me decide whether to buy one or not later, though the price tag is a little steep... I just hate seeing this kind of divisiveness between fans of the old and new (as a fan of both).

Edit 2: If this was just a joke, than well played, sir. Well played.

microbry's picture
Posted by microbry on 4 December, 2012 - 14:26
Points taken. This was

Points taken. This was supposed to be a bit of a tongue-in-cheek way of presenting this content. However, I have updated the review include Aoi-tan. If people want to read the whole review, then they can do so without having to head over to our sister site.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 4 December, 2012 - 14:36
Yeah, I can appreciate it

Yeah, I can appreciate it now...the Modest Proposal comparison earlier was spot on... but if it was confusing other readers, maybe this is for the best. Now everyone will wonder what we were complaining about instead... :) Anyway thanks for the great review. I'd been meaning to watch some Akibaranger for a while now so this motivated me to go do so.

microbry's picture
Posted by microbry on 5 December, 2012 - 02:39
Her face lacks depth at

Her face lacks depth at certain angles. Kind of a bummer for the price.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 4 December, 2012 - 14:45
Bandai can't really do moe

Bandai can't really do moe faces well. Look at the AGP Strike Witches vs the Figma versions of the same characters for example.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 4 December, 2012 - 16:01
I don't know, isn't this how

I don't know, isn't this how the figure prop looked in the show itself? It would deserve points for accuracy then...

Actually I kind of like the face, it looks very much like she is "meh" about being interpreted this way, and kind of disappointed in you somehow. Plenty of layers of meta there...

microbry's picture
Posted by microbry on 5 December, 2012 - 02:42
Wacky figure indeed I do not

Wacky figure indeed
I do not see the contraversy but I live in the world of the Visual Fine Arts

What is the retail price for something like this?
I expected something nude or a sexual device or vibrator inside the Gun
Based on the pixeled and blurred pics
Now that would have been funny or a complete turn on/turn off
for the all freaks in the house.

Is this what a women means when she has a dirty little secret?
Thanks for sharing

ThePlasticRobot's picture
Posted by ThePlasticRobot on 7 December, 2012 - 11:04
Microby and Dkun- I looked

Microby and Dkun- I looked into it further and Dkun is right. From the forehead to the cheek area, the Aoi-tan in the show has more depth.

ThePlasticRobot -Well the controversy was that the review ended after the mosaic picture, and was linked to the full review on the sister site. It was partially a way to give some CDX readers a review without a girly figure in it and also a jab at the division between collectors. I think the world would be a better place if we accept that other collectors are into stuff that we may not be into, but is cool in its own way.

As for the price, this goes for a little over 100 bucks, plus shipping I believe.

SentaiSeiya's picture
Posted by SentaiSeiya on 7 December, 2012 - 20:19
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net