CollectionDX Network

GX-61 Saikyo Robo Daioja

Comments

14 comments posted
Great review, love all the

Great review, love all the pictures.

I'm not familiar with this character at all, but ever since I saw images of it I was wondering how they combined. The figures on their own seem to hide the fact they combine really well. It appears Bandai did a pretty solid job with the engineering of this piece.

Kastigar's picture
Posted by Kastigar on 14 June, 2012 - 23:42
Good review! Ive had mine a

Good review! Ive had mine a few weeks and love it,am also constantly combining and un-combining.

matthew-76's picture
Posted by matthew-76 on 15 June, 2012 - 02:21
The quality of the

The quality of the transformation is impressive, but this isn't my favorite robot ever. I think the hot on top, cool on bottom color scheme is mostly to blame. Seeing it next to Daitarn and Zambot drives home the importance of color balance.

jacksauce's picture
Posted by jacksauce on 15 June, 2012 - 07:52
I have to agree. I wonder

I have to agree. I wonder what the reasoning was behind that scheme. They could have easily made one of those robots a different color in the initial anime design. Or at least not have two blue robots together in combined mode. That is quite possibly the only thing I dont like about its design

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 16 June, 2012 - 09:18
Dude. That combination video

Dude. That combination video may be the greatest thing ever.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 15 June, 2012 - 11:04
Thanks, I put quite a bit of

Thanks, I put quite a bit of work into it and repeated transformations just to get it right

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 16 June, 2012 - 09:19
man crazy robot

thrown off by the price compared to the diecast content and im thinking I. will pass on this guy. Anyway have to start saving on the new Mazinger.

franciscoarguello's picture
Posted by franciscoarguello on 15 June, 2012 - 13:33
If it's the diecast conetent

If it's the diecast conetent keeping you away you just need to think of the overall combined Daioja which is nicely balanced. The two top robots come together to make a diecast lump in the chest and the leg robot has a good bit of it too. Due to the engineering, it had to be kept out of certain places when separate. If its Mazinger keeping you away, I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND. I don't think I have ever lusted over something so much. When I saw the removable armor and inner workings, I commited myself to buying no matter the cost

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 16 June, 2012 - 09:22
Very Cool, I've never heard

Very Cool, I've never heard of this guy before...I love the art design of this robot!

And that combination is very unique!

Awesome review my friend!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 15 June, 2012 - 18:18
Thank you, glad you liked it.

Thank you, glad you liked it. It was a little tough getting it out quick what with a kid and all, but its finally finished!

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 16 June, 2012 - 09:25
Awesome review/pictures & the

Awesome review/pictures & the explosion at the end of the video cracked me up. I guess my kids are taking out loans for college, because I'm buying this guy.

Hankyblue's picture
Posted by Hankyblue on 15 June, 2012 - 20:36
Hey whatever needs to be

Hey whatever needs to be done. At least when your kids come over to visit and bring up the loan thing, you can say "but look at this beautiful robot!" They will understand

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 16 June, 2012 - 09:26
Saikyo~! D A I O J A !

You did a fine job. Good review.
I understand the color combination is questionable...lol
But yes, I can imagine staffs tried to create something new.

I was wondering, how many people here actually watched the TV series...

"Trider G7" and this "Daioja" were popular in Japan. The two series actually returned kids' feelings...
When Gundam finished in 1980, we most kids thought "Yeah! It's finally finished! That was a torture"
Yes, the first Gundam was a torture for most kids around that time.
(But Gundam boom had already started around summer in 1980)

Daioja was the last super-robot design for Okawara Kunio in the early '80s .
He was out of super-robot design until "Brave Series" started.
(Ah, wait, there was GALATT?)


(one of GALATT mecha)

SamuraiAvenger's picture
Posted by SamuraiAvenger on 17 June, 2012 - 12:08
Mito Komon!

Aoidar = ao = blue
Cobalter = cobalt blue

Well, we can't figure out those differences...(-_-

Daioja's "jean-wearing look"...whew, you've got the point! Could be a good point....!!!

We could imagine, in the first plot, staffs would have tried to make a gunman-like robot like, in western drama.
It always happen, a plot is dynamically changed....
(Like a Xabungle's example...)

Or, according the actual plot/theme "Mito Koumon", staffs wanted to set up a leader with two attendants.
To give two attendants look similar.


(a scene from "Mito Koumon", a old-fashioned drama)

SamuraiAvenger's picture
Posted by SamuraiAvenger on 17 June, 2012 - 12:32
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net