CollectionDX Network

DX Mazinger Z

Comments

20 comments posted
Wow!

What a piece of art and engineering

krakit's picture
Posted by krakit on 23 December, 2012 - 01:44
Hmmmmm.......

Did anyone notice that naked Mazinger only has one ball? Just saying.........

guitar_pic's picture
Posted by guitar_pic on 23 December, 2012 - 02:20
Awesome, just pure

Awesome, just pure awesome.

And pricey LOL!

kurochan_24's picture
Posted by kurochan_24 on 23 December, 2012 - 05:39
Gorgeous and impressive BUT....

It is a really gorgeous and impressive toy BUT, imho, wish it WASN'T Mazinger.

Not hating Mazinger as I do own GX-49 and an SRC version, this guy has had around at least 10 variations. Isn't it about time Bandai made other robots into DX size? I do hope that down the line they will :)

ivanko's picture
Posted by ivanko on 23 December, 2012 - 06:48
Have to agree, I'd have

Have to agree, I'd have seriously considered this if it were something different like Gunbuster. However, Mazinger is an easy sell to most people and always has to be first in any new gokin line. I'm just hoping that Bandai won't follow this up with Great Mazinger, and then Mazinkaiser.

evaunit01's picture
Posted by evaunit01 on 23 December, 2012 - 17:09
If they released Mazinkaizer

If they released Mazinkaizer SKL like this my head would explode, as is customary when dealing with Mazinkaizer SKL.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 23 December, 2012 - 17:30
Ahh, Mazinkaiser SKL, how I

Ahh, Mazinkaiser SKL, how I love that figure and wish there was a version that was as big as my SOC/Aoshima. I guess I will be content with my SRC

ActionAwesome's picture
Posted by ActionAwesome on 28 December, 2012 - 22:17
Mazinger makes sense. This is

Mazinger makes sense. This is the first of this line, and he is the first of his kind, so therefore he must be first.

ROCKET PUNCH!

ActionAwesome's picture
Posted by ActionAwesome on 28 December, 2012 - 22:17
?

There is so much molded detail underneath the armor to accommodate secure connection points. I can see no basis for arguments to the contrary. 100% of the plate edges make contact with that many points of purchase and no one thought to add a clip or peg?

openchallenge's picture
Posted by openchallenge on 23 December, 2012 - 07:11
I'd like to see what the

I'd like to see what the manga that's included is like.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 23 December, 2012 - 09:15
Perfect Grade Mazinger

Wow. Amazing!

Perfect Grade quality and a Chogokin price.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 23 December, 2012 - 10:05
Cost-saving measure

If they'd just released the cut-away body for $200, I'd consider going for it.

atom smasher's picture
Posted by atom smasher on 23 December, 2012 - 12:51
one word wow

Great review, the amount of work that went into the review was as impressive as the piece itself. I purchased the darn thing...love the size really.

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 23 December, 2012 - 12:56
This is sex.

This is sex.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 23 December, 2012 - 13:30
A piece of art!

JoshB

Great review as always and thank for putting in some serious time with this figure and review. I know I appreciate it. This has to be one of the most impressive figures I have ever seen!

Now I just hope they don't sell out until I am able to put the money together to buy one.

BTW how does it look next the the Most Wanted GDX Gaiking figures. It looks like it is about the same size and looks as if the DX Mazinger Z would look good on a shelf next to those Gaiking figures.

SDFcommander's picture
Posted by SDFcommander on 23 December, 2012 - 17:11
man what a figure

It looks like an inverted soul of chogokin spec, plastic inside diecast metal armor. Whatching Josh review and OptimusPrimeSG review, my first impresion is that you two guys expected that the internal mechanisims would have some die-cast. Still a superb figure and one for my collection.

francisco arguello's picture
Posted by francisco arguello on 23 December, 2012 - 22:45
Gimmick? Expensive toy in Hard Economic times= Future$$$$$$$$$$

Great Review
Still on the Fence due to price tag and weak magnets
Not a connoisseur or a real fan of Mazinger Z thus my mind is not clouded by child hood nostalgia
The inner working bit has been done by artist all the way back to the Renissance and most recently by vinyl toys designers.
Its a great concept that can go beyond gimmick if done right
I believe this Mazinger Z goes beyond the gimmick as it includes a storage Hanger aka a playset
This would be the biggest reason I would buy as it is a child dream or animation come to life.
An owner needs quality display real-estate for such an object which I am also out of

The Real Gimmick is releasing an expensive toy in Hard Economic times in order to create future demand$$$for such an object.
Finally it is possible for them to re-release the toy without the elbow and chest magnet problems in the near future?
What other possible incarnations of other characters could we also see in the future?

ThePlasticRobot's picture
Posted by ThePlasticRobot on 26 December, 2012 - 01:03
The emperors new action figure

Beyond supporting people who have the balls to release big toys we need to contact those that are making toys smaller and make sure they are aware that removing themselves from the industry would minimalize risk more than trying to sell half empty boxes.

openchallenge's picture
Posted by openchallenge on 28 December, 2012 - 17:26
English Language Instructions for fists Added

Although my version had Japanese instructions, Bandai has graciously provided English language instructions for securing the fists that you can download here:

http://www.collectiondx.com/files/mz_a4_english_out.pdf

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 2 January, 2013 - 22:14
Box measurements.

Hi Josh, Great review !!! Can you put the shipping box measurements, it´s in order to have an idea of how much the shipping to my country will cost.

Nazgul's picture
Posted by Nazgul on 31 January, 2013 - 10:09
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net