CollectionDX Network

Cliffjumper

Comments

11 comments posted
Dont worry Josh, Im right

Dont worry Josh, Im right there with you. With these new Prime figures I find myself always picking them up in the toy section. I dont normally care for most TFs but for whatever reason as you stated these guys have nice appeal. For the price and what your getting there not bad at all.

NEOGETTER's picture
Posted by NEOGETTER on 2 May, 2012 - 14:30
Im all in too

I hear yah I'm in the same boat I totally thought I was all but done with transformers and have even began selling off my movie and cybertron figures and am still planning on it at my next toy convention.. but when I first saw Prime I was like ok you got me again. I will say that the first edition Cliff Jumper like all the other first edition figures are far superior in show accuracy and design and it puts the Robots in Disguise figure reviewed here to shame. Other than the reissued figures the lines are exceptional I look forward to figures to add to my reborn transformers collection such as the voyager DreadWing.

nomad16's picture
Posted by nomad16 on 2 May, 2012 - 17:23
Hey Josh, i wouldn't worry

Hey Josh, i wouldn't worry about how much is known about Cliffjumper since he dies in the very first episode of the show :P. But i do agree with you, he looks pretty cool, especially in vehicle mode.

Mazinkaizer's picture
Posted by Mazinkaizer on 2 May, 2012 - 17:24
These will do nicely. . .

I've been out of the TF collecting loop for a while also, but I think these figs are pretty nice.
I usually only get the token Optimus fig from a line but this time I passed.
I'm more interrested the other players this time around.
I've got this fig and like it a lot.
Just wish his hands could form blasters and not just carry his hammer, or at least he came with a gun.
Looking to get Wheeljack and a few of the Vehicons to mix it up with.

Blakwulf's picture
Posted by Blakwulf on 2 May, 2012 - 19:47
Transformers are neat.

So, I am not as serious or as experienced a toy collector as many people here, and of course, everyone is after certain things. But, having sampled many lines, from Revoltech to Figuarts, MG models to CM's high end diecast wonders, there is one conclusion I can say with some certainty.

For their price, Transformers are the best money you can spend in terms of overall quality and engineering mastery. What designs you like, what colors are best, which lines rock your world, that varies... but the sheer THOUGHT and effort that goes into a $12 deluxe is at least comporable to a $40 SRC release, though clearly there is a world of difference in materials, paint and presentation.

For me, as someone who adores the engineering of a toy, how well it does what it does, how solid, how interesting, they are a wonderfully inexpensive alternative to Yamato Valkyries and those HUGE SOC releases that would no doubt blow my mind if I could afford them.

So, yeah, I still like Transformers... though I will admit there are SO MANY OF THEM that they can dominate your life if you let them.

Sorry for the sudden rant, it was an opinion I've long held and the talk of people saying 'yeah, I gave up on Transformers toys' sort of made me want to share the it.

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 2 May, 2012 - 20:55
100% no need

100% no need to apologize for your well thought out and intelligent post.

I have long since given up on TF but these are really cool and it's great to see them continue to do great stuff.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 3 May, 2012 - 12:24
oh no, TF fever has hit you

oh no, TF fever has hit you Josh. I was gonna send one of these out to you cause we didnt find it that day we went to TRU and they seem to be popping up now.

My favorites in this line are Soundwave, Wheeljack and Ratchet who I thought was going to suck. The First Edition Arcee is really good, havent opened the RID one yet. If you like Cliffjumper you will love the others as he is only a couple of notches above the Bumblebee which is horrible.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 2 May, 2012 - 21:52
I picked up arcee, soundwave

I picked up arcee, soundwave and Ironhide, but that will probably be it... until Zombie cliffjumper.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 2 May, 2012 - 21:57
I have t agree with the rest:

I have to agree with the rest: I'm trying to cut down on Transformers, but Prime is making it hard. I've already bought a few of the small ones to try and sate my interest, but the larger ones are just so cool. I bought Wheeljack and Soundwave so far, and I love 'em both (Soundwave especially). Cliffjumper here has been calling to me every time I see him in the store...and this hasn't helped matters.

Part of it is the bright colors 'n such. I like TOYS, so I like to see bright colors and wacky and interesting designs. The movie figures get that sometimes, but mostly they're dark and realistic (as much as you can get with transforming alien robots). These have that wonderful animated flair that I love so much, and I'm having a hard time staying away from them.

Alexx's picture
Posted by Alexx on 3 May, 2012 - 11:02
As I said in your previous

As I said in your previous Transformers review, you should get DOTM Laserbeak. If you still don't like, you'll have me to blame.

The only Prime toy I wanted is the first edition Starscream and it's gone and I'm not paying $40 for a $12-15 figure. Oh well.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 4 May, 2012 - 13:27
As much as I liked the movies. . .

I found the designs kinda cool, but too complicated.
They tried too hard for the alien asthetic I think.

But IMO, these prime figs go back to the days of simplicity of being based on a TV show, and not a big budget film.
So the designs have the advanced tooling but retain ease of transformation, durability, identity and a good price point.
And that's why I grabbed the couple I have, I hope the show and toys keep going and give us other awesome characters from the mythos. . .

Blakwulf's picture
Posted by Blakwulf on 4 May, 2012 - 20:54
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net