CollectionDX Network

ChoRyuJin

Comments

11 comments posted
Why did they even let you

Why did they even let you post a second review? You obviously make no attempt to pose your figures as soon as you get a negative vibe from them. I've had NONE of the problems you claim with the same figure and I find it really fun! Here's a vote of "No confidence" to your reviews, maybe someone here still cares about the quality of what gets posted here.

cosmo773's picture
Posted by cosmo773 on 6 March, 2012 - 05:21
noted..but

You vote is noted, but the great thing about CDX is Josh wants great reviews and great reviewers, since I need to be removed in your estimation after reading the body of my reviews. I would suggest the next character you purchase, make a review ( if you have some, post the links), show me how it is done and I can learn from your review how to avoid my lack of quality and care. I am not being glib, I will actually would read your review and try to learn from it.
I am always reading all the reviews on this site and try to incorporate some of the great things I see....being a life long learner and not just defending ones point is a good modality to me (the reason this 2nd review happened).

I always like the (paraphrased) quote "It is easy to burn down the city but hard to build one."

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 6 March, 2012 - 10:24
I agree

I agree. No credibility on your reviews. What a mess..........

GALACTICO's picture
Posted by GALACTICO on 6 March, 2012 - 08:20
I agree

I agree with the review, and the "hot mess" statement. Mine came last week, and has many of the issues AJ's has, plus the two halves of mine don't stay together very well and come apart when posed in big leg-sweep style.

I have zero connection to the character, and only got it because it's a SRC. Loved all the other SRCs I've gotten, no issues with any of the previous ones I own.

There's nothing wrong with this review to me. AJ does good work and calls it like it is. Some of the photos are a little blurry, but the text and content is good, objective, and explains why he didn't like it, clearly; he shows all the contents, explains a little history, and he also mentions if you're a superfan of the character, you may not care about the faults.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 6 March, 2012 - 08:57
True

Thanks for the comment and a related question to all readers, that darn Candy Apple red. It makes the color off in my camera and when you edit the picture looks great but then quality goes down when you downsize to post (other pictures when I downsize I notice no loss of texture). The pictures look good and sharp normal but then at 640 X 480 they get mediocre. I read about changing the picture type but it still did not help...maybe Charles or a reader has better answers.

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 6 March, 2012 - 10:10
You could try just taking the

You could try just taking the pictures at the lower resolution (That's what I do), but I don't see a reason here. I think your pictures look great, and the review is nice too. It has a good balance of explanation, criticism, and optimism. I think that's all anyone can ask for.

Jmann's picture
Posted by Jmann on 6 March, 2012 - 14:15
JPEG Compression

Your problem is JPEG compression. JPEG ruins reds, especially at lower resolutions. The compression makes reds very lossy. Instead, I recommend using PNG format as it handles reds much better.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 7 March, 2012 - 01:22
Here's an example

I'll just leave this example of Japanese review example here. Don't mind the text, you may learn things from just the pictures.

EDIT: typos

GTG's picture
Posted by GTG on 6 March, 2012 - 21:04
cool and wow

I would say I like their very defined panel shots that basically zoned in on one aspect of the toy in the extreme. Made a nice montage look. That site also had a clear stand for the bases to work with, nice touch but still annoyed it does not come with it. I have reviewed figures from Bandai and they came with a similar stand. The picture quality looked so crisp and clean I was impressed, reminded me of chachipower reviews (which I work on every review to approach his picture quality). I did balk at some of their poses, it was doing things mine never would do. The extended shield never held up with out the stand. I posed for like 20 minutes and could never get the Eraser head to look that neat and smooth. Reminded me of back in the day the 80's Gi-Joe's vehicles they put on the back cover vs. what we got.

Thanks for the info will work to incorporate some of that in my next review...I like the paneled montage that went in order.

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 6 March, 2012 - 22:02
Why are you trying to hold up

Why are you trying to hold up the extended shield with the hands?

Simple common sense should tell you that won't work...Study the images on the back of the box or even the INSTRUCTIONS for more than two seconds. And the problem will become clear. The ladders are connected to the HIPS! Not held in his hands!

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 7 March, 2012 - 00:05
Well then.

This review was a mess,

I've had none of the problem you've had on my Choryujin. The only issue my Choryujin has had was some paint scraping on the Hyoryu side arms when the rub onto the shoulder, Just to make a quick note when the chest shield is attached to the ladder and crane, the ladder and crane are supposed to remain connected to the hips. the only time the ladder and crane need to be removed is for tonfa mode. It really seems like you didn't take any effort into posing the figure for your pictures, and almost looks like you were trying to make it look as bad as you claim. Also I think the hands being separate from the pegs makes handswapping easier and a bit less of a hassle and if they keep falling off your the SIMPLE solution is to apply some nail/floor polish to the peg to tighten it.

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 6 March, 2012 - 23:53
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net