CollectionDX Network

Aquarion EVOL

Comments

23 comments posted
Meh, just looks like a slight

Meh, just looks like a slight remake of the original Aquarion.

(I still want that SOC Aquarion too!)

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 June, 2013 - 11:23
...wait, what? Which parts

...wait, what? Which parts look reused to you?

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 12 June, 2013 - 11:53
The question should be,

The question should be, "Which parts don't look reused to you?".

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 June, 2013 - 17:04
They're very different

All of them because the Aquarions share no parts and you look incredibly misinformed trying to say they do when you don't own the figures in question.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 12 June, 2013 - 17:18
Oh, I said absolutely nothing

Oh, I said absolutely nothing about the figures. I'm talking about the robots themselves, not any real physical form of them.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 12 June, 2013 - 19:00
Dude, your post said "remold"

Dude, your post said "remold" this afternoon, before you presumably edited it. I've never seen anyone use the term "remold" to describe a visual design, only a toy or other mass-produced item.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 12 June, 2013 - 20:05
Uh, all of them. I'm serious

Uh, all of them. I'm serious - can you point out a single part that's shared between the two toys, besides, maybe, the interior mechanical parts of joints? I don't see any.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 12 June, 2013 - 17:22
Is this like "Where is the Berkut"?

I'm trying to figure out if this schtick is some form of internet performance art.

I mean, it's not even a matter of being misinformed. All it takes is looking at the review to realize that the designs are different.

I'm baffled, is what I'm saying.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 12 June, 2013 - 18:10
I got mine at launch and it's

I got mine at launch and it's one of the SRCs I own. Sure, it very short on metal content, but it's a somewhat nice design and it displays really nice, specially next to the Solar Aquarion.

LuizSSB's picture
Posted by LuizSSB on 12 June, 2013 - 19:28
Excellent review thanks!

Excellent review thanks!

TattooedRobot's picture
Posted by TattooedRobot on 12 June, 2013 - 21:46
I agree that the two designs

I agree that the two designs are pretty homogeneous. I've spent a lot of time looking at the original Aquarion and I didn't realize I wasn't looking at it until I got to the last few pictures. The new design doesn't do anything brave.

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 12 June, 2013 - 23:26
Yep. It's one thing to

Yep. It's one thing to design a mecha that combines three different ways using three different vehicles, but to not at the very least change it up a bit more the second time around is kinda lazy despite the initial offering's magnitude and impressiveness. Hell, even mainstays Getter Robo has switched it up a bit over the decades, and the Mechanical Angel Aquarion design is more-or-less an homage to that, amirite?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 13 June, 2013 - 01:02
Once again you show just how

Once again you show just how ignorant you are and how you aren't even talking about the review. The Aquarion EVOL is derived from the original Aquarion much in the same way Great Mazinger is derived from Maziner Z and also its two other forms, Spada and Gepard, are very different from the previous Aquarion's alternate forms. Maybe if you had read the review you would have known this or had an inkling to find out for yourself instead of making yourself look uniformed again.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 13 June, 2013 - 06:48
Talking about toys is serious

Talking about toys is serious business, y'all. There's no rule that says we can't talk about the toy in our responses. You could have easily responded without taking personal shots at the guy, calling him ignorant and uninformed. To my eyes the designs are very samey, why are you taking it so personally that we have differing opinions?

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 14 June, 2013 - 11:27
He said this toy is a remold

He said this toy is a remold of the original - which it isn't - and then when we called him out on it, he edited his original post and claimed he was only talking about the design, trying to cover up the fact that he made a hasty criticism with no basis in reality.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 14 June, 2013 - 12:06
Just goes to show how we need

Just goes to show how we need a DX Aquarion Evol to show off it's drastically different transformation scheme.

Naztok's picture
Posted by Naztok on 13 June, 2013 - 08:28
That would be pretty great.

That would be pretty great. The other two forms are really unique.

minsok's picture
Posted by minsok on 14 June, 2013 - 11:29
didnt bandai already released

didnt bandai already released a dx of the solar aquarion?

Ghost_XIII's picture
Posted by Ghost_XIII on 13 June, 2013 - 22:57
There was a Soul of Chogokin

There was a Soul of Chogokin DX Aquarion back when Bandai was releasing multiple SOCs per year. They also made the mass-production Assault Aquarion repaint/remold. As far as I am aware, that is the ONLY pre-assembled transformable Aquarion ever made. If there's a model that transforms, I am not aware of it at this time.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 14 June, 2013 - 01:49
The combing Aquarion toy is a

The combing Aquarion toy is a DX Chogokin not a Soul of Chogokin. They are different lines with different designers and priorities.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 14 June, 2013 - 10:49
Ah, my bad.

Ah, my bad.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 14 June, 2013 - 12:17
I own the DX Chogokin and it

I own the DX Chogokin and it is a really amazing piece. It is next to impossible to get it to stand fully combined but they provide several "scaffolds" for the purpose. It makes quite a statement as a center piece to a collection, very impressive like Gunbuster in Buster Collider mode. Anyway cool review.

demize's picture
Posted by demize on 15 June, 2013 - 00:59
Great review! : D I've been

Great review! : D I've been tempted on picking this guy up a couple times so it's nice to know where he sits so I can pop him in the right slot on my "to buy eventually" list. Man that list keeps getting longer. I do love this design though, a bit moreso than the original Aquarion.

TerminusTypeR's picture
Posted by TerminusTypeR on 16 June, 2013 - 13:37
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net