CollectionDX Network

VF-17S Diamond Force Color

Comments

56 comments posted
I always love the VF-17

It was, really, the only Valkyrie I truely loved from Macross seven. Doesn't help that most of the others were slight retools and recolors of old friends from Macross plus.

Still, I always thought the Nightmare was a very DIFFERENT beast from it's cousins and someday, when I have the cash to spare, I am hunting this or one of it's near-inevitable future variants down.

I recall Macross Frontier having some interesting color variations on this baby... maybe someday...

Felixman's picture
Posted by Felixman on 2 January, 2012 - 23:23
VF-171 in Macross Frontier is

VF-171 in Macross Frontier is not just color variation of VF-17, it's a heavily revised design. Longer nosecone (that it needs to fold in Battroid mode), slimmer proportion etc.

GTG's picture
Posted by GTG on 3 January, 2012 - 07:48
Just for reference on the

Just for reference on the differences between the VF-17 and the VF-171, check out Experten's expensive Garage Kits of both Valkyries.

He's quite a genius.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 3 January, 2012 - 08:44
Cockpit

The plane's purple cockpit looks like it's glowing. I like that effect. It's a small shame this black knight beauty doesn't have a pair of beam sabres. The sabres would make it look more formidable than any kind of Gundam.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 3 January, 2012 - 01:29
Great review and beautiful

Great review and beautiful toy. Well done!

I need to catch up on my valkyrie purchasing.

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 3 January, 2012 - 10:21
That matte black is gorgeous.

That matte black is gorgeous. The engineering on this thing is beautiful!

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 3 January, 2012 - 11:45
So nice.

Great review. Really nice summary. I love how the matte black plays off of the white head with the quad guns. That first picture is just awesome. And love the pictures of the metal shoulder joints and explanation of the underlying structure. Yamato is just getting better and better.

Novacaine31's picture
Posted by Novacaine31 on 3 January, 2012 - 13:11
Perfect Grade

I agree with you about that. I think Yamato should make another version of this valkyrie into a 1/60 PG model kit. Perhaps they're making one this year.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 3 January, 2012 - 14:13
Uh, Yamato never made PG

Uh, Yamato never made PG model kit. That's Bandai.

GTG's picture
Posted by GTG on 4 January, 2012 - 19:24
"May your forehead grow like

"May your forehead grow like the mighty oak"

MST3K:TM reference?

"You find a King Tiger in the desert and flip it over..."

Oh, that's definitely Blade Runner.

Sweet Jesus, the VF-4 is coming... =D (C'mon, Yamato- stretch out your highly generous and genius arms, take that last step and give us the VF-2SS-!)

Good review, Andrew. Makes me want this all the more.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 3 January, 2012 - 18:39
Minus several million nerd

Minus several million nerd points for pointing out the references and talking about the VF-2SS.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 3 January, 2012 - 20:45
VF-2SS

Dude. I'll lay money on the -2SS being the most attractive Valkyrie design of all of them (and the only one to make a reasonable stab at the arms-inside-legs transformation method without resorting to magic pistons or chickening out by going to over-the-wing.)

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 4 January, 2012 - 02:12
Not that I wish to pursue

Not that I wish to pursue this tangent any further as I am still baffled why the VF-2SS is brought up nearly every time the VF-4 is, but I must ask are you daring to question the sacred copic marker drawings in the presence of a card carrying Kawawhori

I have a doctorate in Overtechnology

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 January, 2012 - 08:36
... Heh.

... Heh. Kawawhori.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 4 January, 2012 - 10:46
I LoL'd as well.

I LoL'd as well.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 January, 2012 - 14:32
Because despite coming from a

Because despite coming from a crappy movie, the VF-2SS is frequently overlooked and underestimated as a good Valkyrie design.

Also, of all the Valks out there, the VF-4 and -2SS haven't gotten their dues from the collecting and modeling communities aside from a smattering of limited-articulation models (Bandai's one transformable -2SS kit aside, which you reviewed).
(I'm still trying to figure out if the VF-4 got an ABS w/ screws toy made in the early 2000s, or if that was an original custom model I saw.)

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 January, 2012 - 14:38
The VF-4 has been rendered in

The VF-4 has been rendered in almost a dozen different garage kits over the course of a few decades and eventually became a regular character in several video games.

Plus it's tied to a popular character (second behind Roy in Macross Ace polls) and in an OVA that's still considered an important part of the franchise.

The VF-2SS is none of these.

So stop.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 January, 2012 - 15:01
"The VF-2SS is none of these.

"The VF-2SS is none of these. So stop. "

NEVORR! Niche it may be, and unwanted by the true and learned fans (such as yourself), but I love the VF-2SS. No one can take that from me no matter how hardcore they are.

If they can recreate the VF-1s dozens of times over including repaints that are back-alley obscure, then surely they can cough up the yen to make a proper 1/60 -2SS w/ SAP at least once. And I shall not rest easy until they do! (The VF-2JA... meh, I'll let that one go by. And the Metal Siren was pretty bad.) That Yamato is even considering making the VF-4 just gets me that much more excited that a -2SS is a real possibility.

And when that great day comes, Andrew, if you don't want to review it, then I will. (I certainly won't hold that against you!)

/soap box

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 January, 2012 - 20:00
If there is news of one

If there is news of one you'll be the first to know.

I already explained why the two are not comparable in terms of notoriety and demand.

Until then you don't have to mention the VF-2SS every time I review a Valkyrie. I know I review a lot of them but that's just my thing.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 January, 2012 - 20:13
Fair enough. I can accept

Fair enough. I can accept that.

Sorry I hogged the comments with my ranting again. ^^;

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 January, 2012 - 23:08
The otaku factor

I can understand why they wouldn't consider it a good investment, though. Thing is, with one basic toy (VF-1) you can get twelve different toys just from head swaps and different paint schemes. Add in super/strike/armored packs and it gets worse; include "weathered" to multiply everything by two, and that's almost fifty toys just from canonical sources. And the otaku will buy all of them, because you just Gotta Catch 'Em All. With the VF-2SS you don't get that, because there was only one paint scheme for that toy. We, as Americans, might say "but we don't want to just buy the same toy fifty times!" but we aren't Japanese, and ultimately these toys are not being made for us.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 4 January, 2012 - 20:18
Granted.But remind me again,

Granted.

But remind me again, please, how many official repaints and mods there are of the VF-11, -17, -19, and -21 each compared to how many Yamato has made of the -1...?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 4 January, 2012 - 23:07
Yeah, and those Valkyries are

Yeah, and those Valkyries are all from shows THAT PEOPLE LIKE

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 January, 2012 - 08:26
Hey, even Sasuraiger got toys

If we can get multiple toys from a license as retarded as a transforming train, then is it too much of a stretch to get a VF-2?

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 5 January, 2012 - 13:00
We got one modern basic

We got one modern basic action figure of Sausuraiger and it sold poorly.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 January, 2012 - 13:21
Whut

Go watch Macross II. There are multiple color schemes for the VF-2SS. Red, yellow, blue, green, I think there was even pink! But seriously, give me a break. While I'd like a VF-2SS toy (and I'd like a toy of EVERY VALKYRIE EVER), it's probably not going to happen. It's from a sequel to DYRL that is not part of the mainline Macross series, with mecha designs by someone other than Kawamori. The fact that they're making a VF-4 has nothing to do with that. The VF-4 comes from Macross Flashback 2012, which is a Kawamori/Studio Nue/Artland production. Yes, there's only like 5 minutes of new animation, but those five minutes feature Misa, Minmay, and Hikaru, who is in the VF-4. You know. Hikaru. The main character of Macross. It's his jet.

The OVA also is set in 2012 and it's 2012 now. That is why this is coming out. Macross II is set in 2092. Maybe in 2092 you'll get this toy, when every other robot in Macross has been given a toy. We will get Mylene's VF-11 MAXL before we'll get the VF-2SS.

In other news, the VF-17 is pretty sweet and I'm looking forward to the VF-17D because it has a cooler head and I think blue trim goes better with a black stealth robit. Also: You can reenact the moving death of Physica. PHYSICA! NOOOOOOOOOOOO!

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 5 January, 2012 - 13:31
We need figures of Physica's

We need figures of Physica's cheating wife and new husband.

Barring that, the music box that plays Planet Dance.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 January, 2012 - 15:50
A few more?

I'm sitting here with the Macross Design Works book I got back in 2001 after reading this review and looking at all the other choices.
Stampede... 3000... hey even a Sound Force VF-17...

So many choices, but Yamato goes for the jugular. VF-4-T-W!

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 5 January, 2012 - 09:43
Veef

Veef, hands down, best review you've done for the site.
This thing looks great and your photos are top notch!

I am also mystified as to why folks talk about both the VF-4 and VF-2SS together. They are pretty different. I think a lot of that has to do with when Macross II came out many were expecting the VF-4 to appear. I like Macross II and the designs but DAMN the VF-4 is one I've been wanting since I was The Small R.

Please, keep up the good work, man.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 4 January, 2012 - 11:48
My favorite Veef review was

My favorite Veef review was the Beastwars one....

Yes, same here, the VF-4 was an end of an era, the VF-2 the beginning of another!

I just bought a resin kit of the VF-4 that I will start on sometime early this year. Looking forward to finally buying a toy of one myself since I was a kid!

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 4 January, 2012 - 12:08
My favorite was Rainbow Dash

My favorite review was Rainbow Dash due to incredibly heavy bias.

Although the Beast Wars one did make me snicker.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 4 January, 2012 - 15:02
I decided to sticker my

I decided to sticker my VF-17S like a bloody caveman

This is the legacy of Diamond Force.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 4 January, 2012 - 18:51
Very nice Valk, this

Very nice Valk, this Nightmare S, though for me the more iconic look is the D variant. S's head remind me too much of the helmet of Jashugan from Battle Angel Alita. However, seeing we already got two VF-19s, chances are Yamato will use their cash-in instincts and throw the D at as as well.

I do hope they will make a VF-0D though, the delta-wing Valkyrie looks gorgeous (especially on Hidetaka's artwork), even if the back kibble is easily comparable to the Frontier Valkyries.

I'm glad you managed to snatch this one, VF5SS. I think in terms of Macross collecting you became my current role model and hopefully one day I'll be able to get so many VFs myself (Macross kind of became my main collector focus in terms of what I wish to get, taking over this role from TFs). So far mu own fleet consists of VF-1S and J, but you gotta start somewhere ;)

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 5 January, 2012 - 11:31
Valkyries do not have

Valkyries do not have kibble.

They have ordnance carrying stations.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 January, 2012 - 12:46
Might be, but some of these

Might be, but some of these stations are more questionable than others. Especially YF-29's wings in Battroid mode.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 5 January, 2012 - 12:55
Just don't call them kibble

Just don't call them kibble. Every time you say that word, VF gets so mad that a few of his neurons die.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 5 January, 2012 - 13:22
No that's from all the drugs.

No that's from all the drugs.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 January, 2012 - 13:35
My toy enthusiast habits just

My toy enthusiast habits just kick in, I spent last 16 years handling Transformers, so when I see something not fitting into humanoid mode at first glance it's hard to call it otherwise than "excess elements of vehicle mode that didn't make it into mecha mode properly". Seriously, only after the Superpacks were shown this began to make sense ;)

... which still is a bad sign for Durandal seeing how his Super Packs work.

Wallas's picture
Posted by Wallas on 5 January, 2012 - 14:40
Model Kits

I appreciate the clarification (CDX Member: GTG), but I only brought up Perfect Grade as a pastiche. Perhaps I should've said 'PG-like' to avoid confusion. Also, keep in mind that Yamato Inc. has jumped their Macross products into the model kit bandwagon. They just brought out G1 VF's in 1/60 scale (1A to 1J) model kits in limited eds. This includes the 1/2000th SDF-1 which exemplfiles Yamato's capability in producing a PG-like kit.

I don't know if there's a Perfect Grade-like 1/60 VF Nightmare, 4, or the other valk that I'm afraid to say here that's in works for Yamato's model kit lineup, but I hope they're working on it or at least thinking about it. If so, I hope they'll be released as regular eds. Bandai remains to have license permit from Big West in producing Macross toys & kits, & as we know Bandai's the leading 1# Gunpla company in the world. If not Yamato, then perhaps Bandai will.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 5 January, 2012 - 14:31
Those model kits are just

Those model kits are just unassembled toys.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 January, 2012 - 15:09
Yamato Kits

Yes, those Yamato kits are more directed to toy customizers rather than model kit builders who don't want to take a perfectly good expensive toy and mess with it. It was just easier for Yamato to make a kit for toy customizers. Scale is really the big difference as Modelers usually build in certain established scales such as 1/144, 1/100, 1/72, 1/48 for aircraft where as Yamato kits are always in 1/60 to fit in their own "brand Scale." Yamato's Hikaru's Fan racer would fall in the later category as a "brand scale" kit.

It would be Bandai, WAVES, or Hasegawa that would manufacture such kits. Bandai seems to be doing all the new 1/72 and 1/100 Macross F kits and reissues of original Imai and Arii kits. Waves is concentrating in 1/72 and 1/100 kits and Hasegawa focusing on Valkyries in both 1/72 and 1/48.

With Hasegawa releasing the recent 1/72 VF-11 kit I would bet that they might have a VF-17 in the future but it will probably be non transforming although Hasegawa as the talent to pull of a VF-17 PG type kit.

Leonardo

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 January, 2012 - 16:34
1/60 is the best scale since

1/60 is the best scale since it is populated almost entirely by giant robots of varying levels of giantness :3

And also the WW2 diecast tanks by Del Prado.

That King Tiger is pretty great. I think I should get some more of them.

It's also an obscure model railroad scale from Germany, oddly enough.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 January, 2012 - 16:57
I agree, 1/100 scale for

I agree, 1/100 scale for anime subjects is just too small for most robots.

LF

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 January, 2012 - 17:12
There were some 1/144th scale

There were some 1/144th scale Votoms trading figures one time.

Teeny weeny scopey doggy

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 January, 2012 - 17:52
Scopedog Vacation

Cool you can have them boarding some vintage Pan Am airliner for vacation diorama!

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 5 January, 2012 - 18:16
Would they fit inside a C-5

Would they fit inside a C-5 Galaxy

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 5 January, 2012 - 18:30
just barely, i guess

Standing up? Depends if the official 3.8m height includes the antennae or not. If it does, you'd have a full foot of clearance. If not, you might have to fold down or remove the antennae to get it in under that 13' 6" clearance.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 6 January, 2012 - 13:08
Well that's what down form is

Well that's what down form is for :D

I think those generic transport planes in Votoms would parachute zak from Scopedogs while they were in down form.

Which is funny because they'd have the Scopedogs go to down form upon landing just to justify that position as some kind of shock absorber method.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 6 January, 2012 - 13:13
Then I have to make another

Then I have to make another clarification. Yamato never ventured into model kit business. Like the others already said, that 1/60 VF-1 "model" is exactly the same with 1/60 toy but unassembled and unpainted. And that 1/2000 was delivered in pieces because the price will be too damn high if pre-assembled. They're limited because they're targeted for limited kind of customer. So they never "jumped their Macross products into the model kit bandwagon" like you said.

I wish Bandai will create PG-like Valkyrie models too. Those 1/72 Mac F models have no grades but their features are equal to Master Grades. Now this is another clarification, 1/60 doesn't instantly mean "PG-like". Many non-grade 1/60 gunpla have simplistic design despite their scale. For those VF-1 models, I wouldn't call them PG quality, but closer to MG. They lack inner frames, light up features, etc. Good scale for PG Valkyrie is 1/48 (if Bandai ever make them). Well that's what I'm thinking anyway.

GTG's picture
Posted by GTG on 6 January, 2012 - 07:34
The 1/2000 SDF-1 Macross was

The 1/2000 SDF-1 Macross was not a true toy but as Yamato put it, a replica of the prototype they showed off at trade shows. Sure it can do all the things a production toy could do but it was more akin to the resin prototypes we see of toys before the final production samples are ready for public display.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 6 January, 2012 - 13:02
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net