CollectionDX Network

Robocop

Comments

11 comments posted
My friends call me Murphy. You call me Robocop.

I once had a 12 inch Robocop that had light up LED lips, so the facial detailing is a step up for me.

I did not notice the two right hands until now. I think that is to recreate one of the deleted scenes in the X rated cut where Alex accidentally gets two right hands grafted on him.

SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 6 December, 2011 - 20:23
Frank Miller

For some reason Frank Miller is obsessed with RoboCop. He wrote the original (and almost completely unused) script for RoboCop 2, and he's written any number of RC comics since then--including "RoboCop Versus The Terminator".

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 6 December, 2011 - 20:47
Figma or NECA

Good review as always VF, but I look at the moe face without the visor and then I can't take this figure seriously. I know that there's a second option from NECA out now or coming out (not sure, been a while since I've gone looking... what day is it again today?) but I'm sure it probably doesn't have a :3 face.

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 7 December, 2011 - 09:31
The NECA version is indeed

The NECA version is indeed out already and you can find it at Toys R Us. I don't have the Figma but the Neca is pretty good, not only does it have the good sculpts that they're known for but they've been improving their articulation as well. It isn't anywhere close to a Figma's articulation but it's half the cost and comes with the gun and spike. The only thing it's missing is the ability to holster the gun in his leg.

The two things about the Figma that don't work for me are the aforementioned lack of pouty lips (it looks like Professor Layton is wearing that helmet) and the shinyness. I remember Robocop having a flat metal finish but the Figma makes it look like he just got waxed. This review really shows off some of the dynamic poses he can hold though.

The Galaxy Ranger's picture
Posted by The Galaxy Ranger on 7 December, 2011 - 13:24
I do not own the NECA

I do not own the NECA Robocop, but for comparison purposes here is a randomly chosen review of it.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 7 December, 2011 - 14:51
I love the Robocop figure but

I love the Robocop figure but hate the Kubrick head!

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 7 December, 2011 - 17:07
This review made me go back

This review made me go back and look at my figure more closely, and the facial detailing is really quite poor. It's a real shame since everything else is so excellent on this figure, looking at the Neca review posted really makes me appreciate the paint work that went into this figure. I wonder if it really just came down to not being able to secure the rights to use Mr. Weller's likeness.
The good thing is, Robocop uses a standard Figma neck joint, so if you don't want to look at Mr. Sharpie lips, there are plenty of options.


SpaceRunaway's picture
Posted by SpaceRunaway on 7 December, 2011 - 18:14
Too shiny

I've said this before and I'll say this again, this figma is too shiny for Robocop. Robocop should be dusty and damaged, not shiny and looking brand new. Guess I could just use some tamiya flat topcoat on it I guess though.

evaunit01's picture
Posted by evaunit01 on 8 December, 2011 - 00:22
Did you guys watch the

Did you guys watch the movie

he's pretty shiny for most of the film

even right after he kills 20 guys shooting at him and came back to the precinct

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 8 December, 2011 - 07:40
....

.....I'd buy that for a dollar!

Rob's picture
Posted by Rob on 9 December, 2011 - 10:08
FIGMA: ROBOCOP

Being a die-hard ROBOCOP fan, I was really looking forward to this figure.

I still remember the litres of drool when I saw the prototype photos!

And now we get this! :o(

Excellent review but the face really sucks, especially the number 3-shaped lips!!!!

Dick, I'm very disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 13 December, 2011 - 04:53
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net