CollectionDX Network

Gear Fighter Dendoh

Comments

9 comments posted
Oh, I remember hearing about

Oh, I remember hearing about this, even saw one of the models up close. Meh, it was okay. I too heard it was a mediocre series The way it scooted around on the lower legs was too strange for me at the time so I didn't give it a second thought.

And though I don't have one, I do have the SRC Shinken-Oh (which I reviewed, and have reserved the rights to also review Gokai-Oh and DekaRanger Robo when they come out), so I can attest to the quality of SRC, and confusing LACK of die-cast.

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 20 August, 2011 - 18:22
If there was more metal in

If there was more metal in these figures, the asking price for them would be much higher.

That being said, that unicorn thing is actually one of the Data Weapons, the Unicorn Drill. There are five more in plastic: the Viper Whip, Bull Horn, Dragon Flare, Leo Circle, and Gatling Boar. With the exception of the whip, all of the other Data Weapons are Tamashii Web exclusives.

And as for how I know all that stuff about the weapons? I play a lot of SRW, as I have hinted many times already.

YuushaFan's picture
Posted by YuushaFan on 21 August, 2011 - 14:40
The show's far from mediocre

The show is REALLY above average for a toy commercial - animation is seriously top-notch (Sunrise at the best of their game with cels, just before digital), characters are surprisingly well-developed and written - the main two have a well-built dynamic, and the designs are great fun. If you're looking for a good ol' mecha fisticuffs burst of action, there's surprisingly few that do it better.

This Dendoh looks a quality figure too, but not enough to really grab me. Also the mask looks badass? But it basically only wears it at the start of fights for some reason.

Rankarana's picture
Posted by Rankarana on 21 August, 2011 - 16:24
Great review. Shame the

Great review. Shame the weapon set was web exclusive. Then again...

While I didn't find the show mediocre, I'm extremely disappointed in how it never tried to be anything more than a kiddie cartoon and completely wasted the concept of the mech itself. Why bother having a highly agile robot with turbines on its limbs and a kung-fu practitioner as one of its pilots when you're going to waste entire episodes having the kids blow their load early...err I mean fire the Data Weapon Final Attack, miss, then scramble to get the batteries recharged and try again. And to pour salt into the wound, Ogre's pilot frequently beats them up with his martial arts skills, which is what they should be doing in the first place.

ArshadAA's picture
Posted by ArshadAA on 24 August, 2011 - 21:09
Gear Fighter Ogre

Are you going to review the Ogre figure - I know it is the same figure. But the color scheme is oh so sexy and the viper whip way too cool.

silver1spider's picture
Posted by silver1spider on 21 August, 2011 - 19:57
I have the original toys to

I have the original toys to this series and love them. When it was announced that they were doing a smaller version without the electronics I thought WOW! I was not disappointed when Dendoh and Ogre arrived! They are great to pose in battle scenes together. I just got the Data weapons exclusive set and they really add to the figures shelf presence. Great toys!

cosmo773's picture
Posted by cosmo773 on 22 August, 2011 - 14:41
Anyone else notice it has the

Anyone else notice it has the "Megazone 23" Garland's taillights on its butt, just like the Evangelion Units did on their backs?

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 22 August, 2011 - 16:08
No.

No.

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 22 August, 2011 - 17:01
Dendoh's actually pilotted by

Dendoh's actually pilotted by two boys though later on it gets modified so it can be piloted by one while the other pilots Ouga.

Roanstalker's picture
Posted by Roanstalker on 2 September, 2011 - 19:21
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net