CollectionDX Network

VF-1S

Comments

18 comments posted
Nice review. I like your

Nice review. I like your handy measurement marks. Very AutoCAD :3

With regards to FAST packs, the figure seems to lack any of the usual holes for attaching them so I'm guessing Kaiyodo will either make a dedicated FAST pack VF-1 or re-mold this one.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 14 March, 2010 - 10:19
Hey chachipower!

moving to the big times, eh lol? Nice review, I'm no Revoltech expert infact I don't even own one but in my opinion it seems the QC has taken a step down. After seeing this and some Grendizer pictures the paint seems pretty sloppy. Granted these are tiny figures but it always seemed like the earlier Revos had better paint jobs and IMHO looked better, where as now it seems like articulation has taken a priority over sculpting. I may be wrong but it seems like the popularity of Revos has maybe surpassed Kaiyodo's ability to keep up with production demands while maintaining high QC.

CHEN's picture
Posted by CHEN on 14 March, 2010 - 10:55
I've been waiting to get a

I've been waiting to get a Revoltech, but something kept holding me back--The Transformers looked too "Pat Lee", lots of characters/robots I'm not that interested in, etc. This $20 transforming super-articulated valkyrie me be a little too hard to resist. I think that picture of the toy holding its gunpod with both hands is what's really selling me.

The review made me wonder, though: Why is the white painted on? I guess they couldn't achieve that color white just using white plastic? Maybe it's a primer for the other paint apps? My original Yamato valks definitely have paint smearing issues, probably cause by lack of a primer (and my sticky fingers :( )

JeffStein's picture
Posted by JeffStein on 14 March, 2010 - 12:00
This figure looks pretty

This figure looks pretty damn cool. I love the idea of a transformable Revoltech.
What do you mean when you say your past RTs felt "greasy"? My Gundam figures (toys,not models) have a slight slimy feel,but not my RTs.

Chen-
You've got to take into account how small these figures are. Yes,with this close up photography you can see several flaws,but when you look at one of the figures in person,they look fine. Not owning one you may not realise (I certainly didn't till I ordered my first) these figures are SMALL for a robot. The head is basically the size of a G.I. Joe guy's head. I appreciate quality as much as the next guy,but realistically there's only so much you can ask for.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 14 March, 2010 - 12:25
I wasn't sure if greasy was

I wasn't sure if greasy was the correct word to describe it, but the other Revoltechs had almost like a mold release type of feel to them, like the figure would feel somewhat slippery but against my fingers the residue would feel grippy. Strange.

You are right about the close ups,I darn near didn't even notice the paint pimples until I was editing the photos.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 14 March, 2010 - 12:34
Oh I know these are tiny but

Oh I know these are tiny but we are talking about a country that makes mini versions of plastic sushi that looks realistic so just because something is tiny doesn't mean that it has to be sloppy. The old Kaiyodo Robot Museum figures of Getter 1 and Gaogaigar and company were just the same size and had incredible paint jobs so it's not like Kaiyodo hasn't produced tiny figures before, when infact they have a long history of making high quality small figures and capsule toys. Still for around $20 a figure I'm not really complaining.

CHEN's picture
Posted by CHEN on 14 March, 2010 - 13:24
A transforming Optimus Prime

A transforming Optimus Prime would be easy compared to a Valkyrie.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 14 March, 2010 - 23:59
Not

"I mean let's face it friend, Revoltech's aim is to make those action figures as dynamic & as screen-accurate as possible."

Not so sure I agree with you there. I think Revoltech's aim is to sell as many toys as possible to as many fans as possible. "Dynamic" depends on your definition of the word in relation to collectibles. I honestly can't think of a single figure that they make that I'd call "screen-accurate." Mazinkaiser, maybe, and how long ago was that? "Poseable" is the best descriptor I can apply to Revoltech across the board, from 1st release to now.

The words screen-accurate and Macross in the same sentence start more stupid internet fights than it's worth to even discuss the topic.

As for Prime and other TF Revoltechs- Takara did a little Prime toy a few years ago, called THS-02 HYBRID STYLE CONVOY with a complete transformation, trailer cab, and it was pretty cool if i recall. I'd love to see more Revoltech TFs, as Megatron was one of the best figures the company has ever done. But I'm pretty sure that transforming Transformers would cut into the bottom-line of Hasbro & Takara and their 80's reissue+huge markup cartel. Has anyone besides Takara/Hasbro done transforming versions of the characters?

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 15 March, 2010 - 13:43
You know, they can have both

You know, they can have both COMMERCIAL aims (sell many toys) and CREATIVE aims (merge anime styling with dynamic posability). That is, if you believe Yamaguchi and his Kaiyodo staff have any creativity left in them after all these years.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 15 March, 2010 - 15:54
I

Nothing is wrong with making money, especially when it's not only a good value but a great, fun product. I didn't mean to suggest Revoltech figures weren't creative- they have a specific design style, which is fairly consistent across the line, and you either like them or don't. I think they're pretty cool, and have owned a few, but for some characters... It's just that the goal of the Revoltech line is obviously not screen-accuracy. It's to sell a lot of super-poseable affordable figures in a modern, stylized look. What's wrong with that? Nothing in my book.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 15 March, 2010 - 17:24
The Accidental Partsformer

I got one of these (the VF-1J), and it's...not so great.

For one thing, it SERIOUSLY fails the fly-around-the-room test. You take the toy and fly it around your bedroom--making the appropriate "WOOOSH" and "DZZZUUUUUU" noises, of course--and do you get back as many parts as you started with? In this case, no; my VF-1J was missing both wings and the head by the time it got back to base. The wing joint is so touchy, in fact, that I can't even swivel them without the wing popping off in my hand.

The backpack is also a huge disappointment, because while the rest of the toy has pins all over it to hold it together, the backpack only locks down in Fighter mode--in Gerwalk or Battroid it just flops all over the place. (You can see this in the article pictures.) I have mine displayed in Gerwalk, and I found that the only way to make the backpack look good was to literally detach the piece and lay it on top of the figure.

Poseability? Forget it! Much of the Revoltech joint work in this figure is devoted to the transformation. Compared to the single-mode Valkyrie figures this one is a lump. I mean, the whole point of Revoltech is the crazy poses, otherwise you might as well just buy a GN-U Dou or a Takatoku reissue. (PS I find that the Revoltech Valkyries look better in the "wide stance" than the "crotch thrust".)

I think that the "transformable Revoltech" is an idea that's better in concept than in reality. Which is unfortunate, as I was kind of looking forward to a Revoltech Gerwalk...

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 15 March, 2010 - 12:58
I Love it!

The two most important toy tests here on CDX:

1) The Crotch Thrust test
2) The Woosh Test.

LOL

Leonardo Flores
CollectionDX Staff Writer-West Coast Bureau

Modcineaste's picture
Posted by Modcineaste on 15 March, 2010 - 14:09
I agree. Swooshability is paramount.

I agree. Swooshability is paramount.
Even the old Banpresto transformable VF-1s were highly swooshable. The only thing that could happen was the fists falling off, but you were supposed to remove them during transformation.

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 15 March, 2010 - 15:55
I think the engineering of

I think the engineering of the Revoltechs is first rate but I think some fans are put off by the design which honestly can be "blamed" on Katsuhisa Yamaguchi since he sculpted most of them and the line continues his design theme. I guess it's like Hajime Katoki and his Gundam's either you like his take on them or you don't. I think it's the same with Revoltechs and Yamaguchi.

CHEN's picture
Posted by CHEN on 15 March, 2010 - 17:07
I don't see Takara being too

I don't see Takara being too keen on transformable Transformers toys being made by someone else. It would be like Nintendo letting Magnavox make some Wiis.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 16 March, 2010 - 08:53
Yuck. Looks like

Yuck. Looks like Azrak-Hamway decided to get into the Macross toy business.

AcroRay's picture
Posted by AcroRay on 18 March, 2010 - 12:29
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net