CollectionDX Network

VF-19 Fire Valkyrie

Comments

56 comments posted
Nice review Josh. I was

Nice review Josh. I was digging the video especially. Don't let all that negativity get you down. It's not what Basara would have wanted.

As always, my soul for you.

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 12 February, 2010 - 07:45
What bothers me about parts

What bothers me about parts forming is that you can go down to your local KMart and grab a Transformer about this size for 12 bucks that doesn't require the hands to be added later. If Takara can manage it on a cheap kid's toy,why can't Bandai manage it on an adult collectable?

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 12 February, 2010 - 08:02
I think the difference here

I think the difference here is that the fists on a Transformer are usually quite ugly, and here Bandai has provided some great looking sculpted hands.

Not that I care, as Yamato has already one-upped this toy with their announcement. I loooove the Yamato 19 mold, so I'm good for that one.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 12 February, 2010 - 08:22
Just to deflect some of the

Just to deflect some of the eventual nerdy questions, the Fire Valkyrie does have landing gear and it does store its gun between the arms in fighter mode much like the YF-19. It also has flip out leg missile launchers that were used a few times.

Getting back to the review, I was amazed to the metal linkage joint between the spine and body of the airplane is really stiff. I saw a lot of photo reviews of the toy in mid-transformation and I couldn't figure out how they did that. Also Josh, I feel like you missed a good opportunity to feel up some Fire mono-boob :3

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 12 February, 2010 - 09:09
I was actually about to ask

I was actually about to ask about the gunpod: does it attach at all to the undercarriage in fighter mode? If not, kind of a bummer, but then again, you have to add the hands and head fin/lasers, so there will be inevitable extra bits.

This thing looks really cool and I'm glad it came out as nicely as it did. I'm hoping they keep up the line and continue to improve as they release more Valks. At the end of the day, though, I'm leaning towards what Ben mentioned: with Yamato's announcement of a 1/60 Fire Valk, I'm definitely holding out...

Anyway, great review, Josh. Only you mean "articulated", as in, the joints are designed for a wide range of motion. "Articulate" means the robot speaks eloquently. ;)

[Oh, and for the record, yes, I'm a big Macross7 fan.]

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 12 February, 2010 - 10:22
Whenever essential

Whenever essential accessories are released as a Tamashii exclusive, then I pass. I was so looking forward to this piece too. :(

But then... I see...

"HI-METAL"... but no metal?
No landing gear... when even a $5 TF has landing gear?
Stand... but not a complete stand?

these three things scream INFINITE FAIL to me.

Why would you buy a toy called HI-METAL that has little to no metal? You have to be stupid to spend money on this. No landing gear/ useless stand for $80?

I have some more stuff you can buy, like a bottle of Abraham Lincoln's breath, or maybe I can sell you the Brooklyn Bridge? Perhaps I can interest you in this moon rock I found in the backyard! Or maybe you'd like to buy this empty plastic bag for $80. How about this piece of paper with a "D" on it, it's James Dean signed!

What happened to our hobby? Now I guess fans are just becoming more gullible, to be swindled and cheated at all times. Even when you think it's a sure thing, it's not.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 12 February, 2010 - 10:29
Plastic in Chogokins

Amen. Preach on brother! I don't get it either. Do we misinterpret what the Japanese are trying to convey with these toy line names? Hi-Metal?, Super Imaginative Chogokin? Both have VERY LITTLE metal content- hardly worth even mentioning! Also, if you check out recent reviews,(GX-49, GX-51), Bandai's newest S.O.C. angle is f-ing you with plastic legs/feet now. What in theeee hell?

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 12 February, 2010 - 12:00
LO-METAL Over HI-METAL

Don't get wrong, this toy is a sweet, nice piece to own but The Big R's got a valid point here.

The idea of Bandai marketing this toy as 'HI-METAL' is virtually misleading. There's no 'if-s', 'but-s', 'you-see-s', 'may-be-so-s' about this.

They oughta know better to do this sort of thing to their customers domestic & overseas.

They're at risk of being the next 'HG-Toynami + Hasbro + CM's' if they keep this up, but

ANYWAY BACK TO THIS PIECE EVERYONE.,...PRETTY PLEASE W/ A CHERRY ON TOP?

I don't understand what the Bandai staff were thinking about not adding some more diecast content of this piece when they were producing it for their revised Macross toyline.

If they're going to sell their Valks in the 'Hi-Metal' toyline with less gokin & more ABS, they should at least have the decency of advertising a piece like this as LO-METAL over HI-METAL.

Next time Otaku fans if you're reading this, please tell the PR department @ Bandai HQ re-advertise their new toyline as VF LO-METAL over VF HI-METAL for $50.

Thanks.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 12 February, 2010 - 13:25
ADVERTISING TECHNIQUES ARE

ADVERTISING TECHNIQUES ARE RUINING OUR HOBBY IT WILL NEVER BE THE SAME THEY ARE STEALING OUR MONEY

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 12 February, 2010 - 17:00
Tasmashii...

Leave it to Bandai to sell Day-One DLC for a FREAKING TOY ROBOT.

RobotBastard's picture
Posted by RobotBastard on 12 February, 2010 - 12:30
The Basara Figure: No Left Arm?

As you scroll down to the sixth pic, the Basara figure looks like he's got no left arm, but the 7th pic looks like he's resting his left arm on his guitar.

Does the Basara figure really got a left arm in the cockpit or not?

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 12 February, 2010 - 12:56
Hi-Metal

To be fair, the original Hi-Metal Valkyries (Bandai's 1/55 Strike Valkyrie, VF-1A Hikaru, Super Ostrich, and Elintseeker) didn't have much metal either. A plate on the inside of each leg, swing bars, and those little shoulder clips. It's not like they were Voltron from the '80s.

Also, Bandai has put the Chogokin logo on a lot of toys with low metal content in the last 20 years. Look at the Kahen Senshi Zeta Gundam for example.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 12 February, 2010 - 14:09
There's no chogokin logo on

There's no chogokin logo on this box, so i think this is just a case of unfortunate naming based on a nostalgic toy line.

Flaws aside, (I agree with em them all) I still dig this guy. He's really fun. If there were a ton of choices for VF-19's I can see maybe not spending that much dough. But right now, its the only game in town, and i like it a lot.

------------------------------
CollectionDX Admin

JoshB's picture
Posted by JoshB on 12 February, 2010 - 15:52
They don't need it

"There's no chogokin logo on this box"

They don't need a chogokin logo on the box. The "HIGH-METAL" logo rendered in a shiny, chrome-steel look is misleading enough all by itself!

Grandzinga....

Grandzinga's picture
Posted by Grandzinga on 12 February, 2010 - 16:00
More like LO-METAL, amirite?

More like LO-METAL, amirite?

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 12 February, 2010 - 14:21
Hey, so how ironic is it

Hey, so how ironic is it that a pacifist rock band is called "Fire Bomber"???

amirite???

:P

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 12 February, 2010 - 15:04
With all the cheats this toy

With all the cheats this toy uses it wouldn't be acceptably priced at 40, much less 80.

The 20 dollar Transformers Classics Jetfire beats this thing hands down.

Actually it beats nearly every transforming robot toy surrounding it for a good 5 years either way.

Typhus's picture
Posted by Typhus on 12 February, 2010 - 18:01
That's exactly what I was

That's exactly what I was thinking,why is Classics Jetfire a million times better than this? I bought him for 20 bucks at a Wally World,this is something you're expected to pay 80 bucks for,plus shipping,plus price of the half of the stand they don't give you and assorted knicknacks,plus shipping for THAT.

And it uses parts swap cheating.

I'm pretty sure I've seen 99 cent Hotwheels planes with landing gear. Also a higher percentage of the plane was diecast.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 12 February, 2010 - 18:34
Have you seen the fighter

Have you seen the fighter mode on this guy? For $20, Classics Jetfire has a block and chunky fighter mode that doesn't have to match any line art. For a premium as a collectible from a fairly obscure and old series, the (Hi)-Metal VF-19 has three smooth and sleek modes that matches an original source material. I understand the frustration when all you're comparing is toys that turn from robot to airplane and can move around, but the intent behind the VF-19 here isn't just to be a robot that turns into an airplane. The Transformers comparison that comes up with every other transforming robot toy just isn't as relevant as everyone would like it to be.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 12 February, 2010 - 19:44
I totally agree, Ben...in

I totally agree, Ben...in fact, I was about to make pretty much the same exact post you did. I get that Classics Jetfire is probably the superior jet-changing-to-robot toy, but it's a whole different animal. The artistic/design aesthetics at work here are night and day. Yes, they're both are jets that change into robots, but that's really where the similarities (and, thus, comparisons) end. By all means, don't get this toy for all the stated reasons...but I think Bandai did about as well as I would expect (and, yes, I expect for them to screw with us by packing it with half a stand, no landing gear, swapping bits, etc., etc...).

The 1/60 Yamato Fire Valk will most likely blow this thing outta the water, and if it proves as relatively bug-free as the 1/60 VF-1 2.0's, I'm definitely getting one. But even if it proves to be toy of the year (or at least Valk of the year), will people still complain that $20 Classics Jetfire is a better toy? Just doesn't really make sense...

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 12 February, 2010 - 22:28
What is with this show? I

What is with this show? I wasted 25 hours of my life to find out it doesn't tie up any loose ends. Somebody please tell me the movie/OAVs attempt to do that. I loved everything about Macross 7 until the last four minutes killed it, and this toy looks like a similar cop out.

I can't wait for my vinyl Battle Pod to arrive.

Materialist Zen's picture
Posted by Materialist Zen on 12 February, 2010 - 18:09
"What happened to our

"What happened to our hobby?"

Seems we have become a bunch of whiners with an inflated sense of entitlement.

No this isn't some ultra rare piece of designer vinyl; but its never going to be some ultra common "find tons on the shelf at Wal-Mart and Target" Transformer either. Its entirely likely Takara/Tomy have manufactured 1000s more ROTF Leader Class Optimus Prime toys than Bandai has made Macross Frontier toys all combined. The economies of scale on price per features conclusions are apples and oranges comparisons. So have some perspective, M'kay?

Not ten years ago the Bandai reissued DX VF-19 Fire Valkyrie retailed for 6,800yen...a whole $5 less than this new much more poseable, detailed and accurite version of the mecha...even had about as much metal too. Even at $80 it will still retail for less than half Yamatos upcomeing version.

As for HI-METAL, it is the name of a toy line. Things change, there are still some curmudgeons PO'ed that Hasbro shrunk thier beloved old school 12" G.I.Joes down to 3.75" action figures in the 1980s. Unfortunate as this is, pointing out the lack of metal content in this toy is what reviews are for. Knowing is half the battle afterall.

So, if you like this toy then buy it. If you don't, then don't. You have options.

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 12 February, 2010 - 22:10
That's just silly. You have

That's just silly. You have an inflated sense of entitlement if you expect the atand that comes with a toy plane to have a base,and not just be a useless plastic shard? You're a whiner if you think an 80 dollar toy plane could have some flip out wheels on the bottom (espescially when the stand is missing pieces)?

The difference between G.I. Joe being 3 3/4 now and this is that G.I. Joe is called "G.I. Joe",it isn't called "Twelve Inch Bearded Ken in the Army." This toy is called "Hi-Metal",yet there's more metal content in my morning coffee.

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 12 February, 2010 - 22:23
Amen.

I second that emotion.

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 12 February, 2010 - 22:25
Do you own this toy yet?

Naw forget it. What I wrote was more a reaction to the commet about "someone must be stupid to buy this"...Most "normal" people would find grown adults pretty stupid for buying most any toy to begin with. They can't distinguish a chunky monkey from a Yamato 1/48/60 VF-1. Its all stupid to them..."its red and costs $80...cheaper than that other big hunk of plastic".

Really, someone out there will like this toy, maybe even love it; the faults we find with it and all. No reason to call anyone stupid for that.

BraveMSW's picture
Posted by BraveMSW on 12 February, 2010 - 23:17
Heh...now here I am agreeing

Heh...now here I am agreeing with kidnicky and R. How fickle! ;)

Nah, I know entitled fans and I know legit complaints (or...at least...I like to think I do! :P ). These are legit complaints, no doubt. The parts-swapping isn't a big deal. I mean, the gunpod on the original 1/55 VF-1's had nowhere to go in fighter mode, so we have to be prepared for at least a little crap leftover. But the half-stand, lack of diecast, no landing gear, diminutive size...all for $100 after import fees? F' that. And if Bandai seriously DOES release some web-exclusive set with sound booster parts, the rest of the stand...landing gear...(a la SoC Big O) then that pretty much cements them as the biggest douchebag toy maker ever.

I agree with what you said about the economy of scale, though...that goes with what I said above about the unfair comparisons with TF Classics Jetfire.

Oh, Materialist Zen, I don't quite remember the details of the ending of Macross 7, but I do remember it being somewhat open. Still, for whatever it's worth, I definitely remember liking it. In fact, I recall feeling more satisfied with its ending than I did with the original Macross series' ending!

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 12 February, 2010 - 22:40
SOC Big Owwww

Please....must you haunt me further with that SOC Big Owwww embarrasment ol' great Vinyl-Resin Master?!

You've already won, now please have mercy on me!

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 13 February, 2010 - 03:55
Sorry, dude. Just the

Sorry, dude. Just the messenger this time.

I'm not disrespecting anyone who bought the SoC Big O, with or without the Tamashi extras. More power to those dedicated souls.

But Bandai's transgressions must never be forgotten! (heh, that sounded way more dramatic than it needed to be!)

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 14 February, 2010 - 22:50
I'll survive over it

No hard feelings from yours truly Sanjeev. Soc Big-O or not, I'll survive over it....I always survive...it's my uncanny nature to survive.

As for the misleading ad issue for this HI-METAL line... well I just can't let Bandai pass on this one. We've looked the other way before everytime some corp. sells us humble pie. I don't understand why everyone goes back for seconds after people says, "It sucks!"

Just get a refund & don't buy it again. This should make the Bandai staff redeem their practices on their ads but I wouldn't hold my breath.

If folks still want to own it then go get a used one for a cheap price or just wait for some rollback inventory sale of the month @ BBTS & HLJ.

I wouldn't mind owning one if I can get it for $20-25 over $90 b/c it's really not worth that kind of loot to own one that's so less.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 15 February, 2010 - 01:34
Another thing that should

Another thing that should not be forgotten is the exchange rate these days. It wasn't that long ago that a toy that retailed for that yen amount would cost closer to $60 than $80.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 13 February, 2010 - 00:26
Alright, I own this toy, and

Alright, I own this toy, and let start by saying that I paid less for it shipped than what its list price is.
It's an excellent toy, taking cues from the Robot Damashii line in its construction, but I can't really fault it for the reasons other people seem to.
The lack of landing gear? It couldn't have landing gear without either sacrificing the ridiculous sturdiness it has or by using part swapping, which, I'm sure you'll recall, everyone bitched about in the VF-100's line. I understand the desire for landing gear, but honestly, it's kinda unreasonable on this toy at its size and construction.
The stand? Yeah, I'll agree Bandai should've included the base, but since I am a Bandai Brand Japanese Finger Entertainment Goods Enthusiast(R) I have plenty of Tamashii Stages around.
The part about the gun? It would've been nice if it mounted, but they really went for aesthetics in this toy, and although I'm sure they could find a way otherwise, getting the gun to attach in fighter mode would leave some ugly looking gaps somewhere.

Honestly, I just find it amusing that people are bitching about a toy they either had no interest in ever buying, or did, and didn't bother to find out more about it when its list price is like 90 bucks holy crap.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 13 February, 2010 - 00:43
The main problem with no

The main problem with no landing gear is that without a stand there's no good way to display the toy in fighter mode without possessing a Tamashii base. The general disappointment with the parts swapping on the VF100 VF-25 was more for the transformation than the landing gear. Moreover having three removable panels for the landing gear is something shared among other high profile Bandai products and it is a nice, unobtrusive option. And the gunpod mount on the arms was a no brainer. It was done on the VF100 VF-25 and it will be done on the Hi-Metal VF-1 (which is smaller!) and also both of those had a landing gear option.

Honestly, I did have an interest in this toy, or this line at least. I wanted to see how good this one is as it directly affects the quality of a Blazer Valkyrie release as the two designs share something like 95% of the same parts.

I don't hate Bandai as I can demonstrate with all the reviews of their products I've done for CDX. Recently I have found their methods and goals for certain toy lines to be frustratingly vague and inconsistent with their other recent toys. VF Hi-Metal is a part of the Tamashii nations line, so why doesn't it have tons of optional hands? The price point is similar to a Soul Spec, so where's the character specific parts like the sound boosters or speaker shoulders? As much as we all may disagree about Yamato toys, they seem to know what they want to do.

Of course Bandai could completely redeem themselves if they released a SPEAKER POD GAMMA :3

VF5SS's picture
Posted by VF5SS on 13 February, 2010 - 08:18
Well, that's your opinion. I

Well, that's your opinion. I just thought I'd defend it since I paid 20-25 bucks less than what everyone else did.
I'm totally gay for this toy :3

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 13 February, 2010 - 19:52
You've Paid

You've paid 25 smackers for that beauty @ flea market? That's not just sweet, that's just kick-ass luck you got there pal.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 14 February, 2010 - 01:40
That's... not what his post

That's... not what his post said...

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 14 February, 2010 - 02:33
Err..dude?

Err..dude? The guy just said he paid 20-25 smackers on that slick valk. I know he didn't said he got it from a flea market, but I've brought it up anyway to see if he can confirm that statement I've just posted & tell us where he got it from for a sweet price if he's willing to share the secret of his success.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 14 February, 2010 - 03:09
>I just thought I'd defend

>>I just thought I'd defend it since I paid 20-25 bucks less than what everyone else did.

20-25 bucks less.

smarmypunk's picture
Posted by smarmypunk on 14 February, 2010 - 10:42
I, uh, paid like 25 bucks

I, uh, paid like 25 bucks less than everyone who bought it for 8000 yen. Which is what I said.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 14 February, 2010 - 16:29
Actually, turns out it was

Actually, turns out it was closer to 30. Awesome.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 14 February, 2010 - 16:32
I couldn't agree more with

I couldn't agree more with Andrew's post. Mike, I'm not pooping on you or anyone who bought this toy. I love the VF-19, as well...especially the Fire Valk. If the toy had come out as I'd hoped, I definitely woulda gotten one. Now, all my eggs are in Yamato's basket, though.

They could have included landing gear without sacrificing stability. Hell, if they wanted them to be integrated, and not panel-swapping, they certainly could've just made the line in a bigger scale than 1/100. Anyway, they could have included a full stand. They could have designed a way to mount the gunpod...included more fists...hell, included more diecast...but they didn't.

Like I said before, more power to the dedicated souls who bought this thing...and kudos to those who got a deal...but I'll resign to appreciating it from afar (vicariously through Josh when he gets back from ToyFair!).

--
Sanjeev

Sanjeev's picture
Posted by Sanjeev on 14 February, 2010 - 22:55
If there's one thing toy

If there's one thing toy collectors are good at,it's rationalizing the flaws in toys. Sometimes it seems like the more an item costs,the more lenient people are when judging it!

I agree with Sanjeev,though. There's no reason they COULDN'T include landing gear. One only has to look at other planes in similar scales to see how it's done. Worst case scenario,it would be something you snap on and off,but at least it would exist.

There's no reason they couldn't include a base for the stand. How much could it possibly cost to add a no-frills,flat disc of plastic with a slot in it?

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 14 February, 2010 - 23:38
Dude, you can poop on me any

Dude, you can poop on me any time.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 15 February, 2010 - 02:11
Even if I poop you for

Even if I poop you to get information or not (in which I chose 'not to' but ask you cordially), you're not gonna say where you got it for $25, are you? :[

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 15 February, 2010 - 02:33
Is this a running joke where

Is this a running joke where you're saying you got it for 5,000ish yen too or are you just misunderstanding me

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 15 February, 2010 - 04:08
Dear Mike: Serious

I was kidding about pooping you but NO. I'm not joking this time & my statement is fairly serious & substantive. Keep in mind when I stated your 'kick-ass luck', that means it's a compliment. I'm not sure what you meant by my misunderstanding. I understood that you've bought the fire valk for $25-30, but you didn't confirm where in the internet did you purchase it from. Did you get it from Angolz or Ebay or etc.? That information I'm serious about. That information I'm curious about.

Inquiring minds would like to know.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 16 February, 2010 - 01:39
"I, uh, paid like 25 bucks

"I, uh, paid like 25 bucks less than everyone who bought it for 8000 yen. Which is what I said."

I paid less than the list price. I did NOT pay 30 bucks for it.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 16 February, 2010 - 01:54
Er..yes I know that sir

Er.. yes I know you said that sir. You've made that very clear.

But WHERE did you buy it from?

Not so very clear.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 16 February, 2010 - 04:08
Amiami.com.

Amiami.com.

Mike's picture
Posted by Mike on 16 February, 2010 - 04:46
Roger That

Roger that answer very clear.

I'm liking this site you've posted already.

Thanks a whole lot for your info Mike.

Your info, you enthusiasm, & your uncanny luck that kicks ass.

-R78

Rodimus78's picture
Posted by Rodimus78 on 16 February, 2010 - 06:48
What the heck just

What the heck just happened?

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 16 February, 2010 - 08:41
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net