CollectionDX Network

Tobikage & Kurojishi

Comments

14 comments posted
Kurojishi really stole the

Kurojishi really stole the show here, I think. This set is quite awesome and I may have to pick one up if I see it at AWA this year. Excellent review!

Dkun's picture
Posted by Dkun on 11 August, 2010 - 00:14
Brilliant review.

Brilliant review.

north-exit's picture
Posted by north-exit on 11 August, 2010 - 01:40
It's Official

I'll be selling my SOC Voltes V for this sweetheart of a TF. Bon Voyage coming soon to a disposal near you my Voltes.

Diakron's picture
Posted by Diakron on 11 August, 2010 - 02:16
Beautiful 80's design. Can't

Beautiful 80's design. Can't wait to see how the other two turn out.

VZMK2's picture
Posted by VZMK2 on 11 August, 2010 - 07:23
BANDAI - GX -54 Tobikage & Kurojishi

Brilliant review. I enjoying reading it very much indeed.

So this is the first SOC without styrofoam, right?

Was it the reason why some SOC were somewhat expensive?

Being a perfectionist who puts his robots back into their respective boxes after playing a little with them I simply didn't like this fact. A styrofoam tray keeps robots safe and protects them during shipment.

I liked the lack of holes and screws very much, however.

Right now I'm looking forward to Daltanious in the Soul of Chogokin line.

grendizer1975's picture
Posted by grendizer1975 on 11 August, 2010 - 07:35
The two walker machine

The two walker machine releases, Xabungle and Galliar, both eschewed Styrofoam for plastic trays. All of the SOC Specs have also gone with full plastic trays as well.

I've never actually had a problem with parts damage in transit with plastic trays - the only real concern you could have would be crushing, but that's what the cardboard supports are for.

This set really is fantastic. Getting Tobikage into Kurojishi is a bit more fiddly than I'd like (and I scraped the kneepad on my Tobikage trying it :( ), but both toys truly excel as standalone figures. Kurojishi, weight wise, is a brick despite his small stature, and Tobikage is a fun and flawlessly detailed little robot that goes great with other small SOC addon figures, like Rom Stoll or Gaia.

quinjester's picture
Posted by quinjester on 11 August, 2010 - 08:54
Despite the odd switch from

Despite the odd switch from styrofoam to plastic inserts, this is another one of those pieces that garners my interest based on the sole merits of the toy without prior knowledge of the show. How can you say no to that ridiculous blaster money-shot? I guess it's time to brush up on my Tobikage homework.

Superb review.

Songy's picture
Posted by Songy on 11 August, 2010 - 08:54
great review

I concur, this was a great review. Well-photographed, well-written, concise, but with lots of juicy details. I especially liked the photos showing metal content. I hope to see more of your work here.

Wicker808's picture
Posted by Wicker808 on 11 August, 2010 - 15:56
Awesome review!! Love the Pics!!

Great review. Man these things are sweet.

One comment about the Styrofoam. I believe the reason for that there is none is Sustainability. I work in the toy biz and all of our boxed packages have changed from having Styrofoam to plastic vaccu-form trays and cardboard. You can recycle plastic and cardboard, but you cannot recycle Styrofoam.

mechastash

mechastash's picture
Posted by mechastash on 11 August, 2010 - 16:33
Thanks for the positive

Thanks for the positive comments from everyone.

The sustainability of plastic trays over styrofoam is true as well as its ability to be recycled, but how many of us will really ever throw out the packaging of our pricey chogokins/collectibles? There is probably a very small percentage of collectors that will toss the styro and box but I think overall, the majority prefers to keep the packaging and prefer a nice styro box, but in the end it really is all about what's inside, I mean this things are meant to be taken out and enjoyed right? I sure as heck am enjoying my gx-54

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 11 August, 2010 - 17:07
It's not just about if we

It's not just about if we throw it away. Styrofoam is like the older plastics our toys in styrofoam are made of, they will be around for centuries, taking up space or eventually being burned and damaging the atmosphere.

duke togo's picture
Posted by duke togo on 11 August, 2010 - 18:23
glowing shiny metal effect

I like the glowing shiny metal effect to show where the diecast is, but I think it would also benefit from darkening the rest of the photo slightly. The highlighted diecast parts end up at the same level of brightness as the un-highlighted parts, making the images slightly "hard to read".

recognizer's picture
Posted by recognizer on 11 August, 2010 - 17:44
Thanks for your input. My

Thanks for your input. My patented diecast hilighting is an ever evolving process lol. I'm trying different things out. It will be more evident in the video because it will actually visibly glow.

chachipower's picture
Posted by chachipower on 11 August, 2010 - 18:27
sorry to pain you guys but...

http://www.toysdaily.com/discuz/redirect.php?tid=133786&goto=lastpost&from=fastpost&random=0.01192249781053023#lastpost

http://www.mugenchina.org/fido/toy/2.JPG

Be VERY careful with the tight joints on this one

Rodimus1138's picture
Posted by Rodimus1138 on 21 August, 2010 - 13:14
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net