CollectionDX Network

Starship Troopers Rodger Young

Comments

21 comments posted
Um... nice review? It felt

Um... nice review?

It felt like you had this great extended intro leading up to something big... and then you said "Nope- that's it!" And only five pictures, one of them being the box? Where's some close-ups of all this "excruciating detail" you speak of?
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 28 February, 2010 - 05:17
rodgeryoung2 pic

Look at the rodgeryoung2 pic in the gallery. CDX shrank it quite a lot but it's pretty huge and you can see the detail pretty well there.

Also, it's pretty hard to take exciting pictures of a totally immobile object. There's only so many angles you can shoot something from if you can't pose it and it has no action features at all.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 28 February, 2010 - 15:03
to be kind, I agree

could you add some pics of the things that needed gluing but you did not? also, can you add some explanation of the great detail throughout, because I am thinking of buying and looked like a big gray rock to me...do any doors open, red near the engines, ports for the marines pods?? Just curious.
Thanks

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 28 February, 2010 - 12:00
Glue

I can certainly take a pic or two showing what they recommend you glue on, but absolutely nothing moves. There's no opening doors or anything like that.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 28 February, 2010 - 15:06
Added pics.

Okay, I added pictures of the ship with the parts off and just the separate parts laying there to the gallery.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 28 February, 2010 - 15:46
thank

Thanks, for the addition.

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 28 February, 2010 - 16:20
I've never read the book,but

I've never read the book,but I've heard about the powered suits and never understood why they didn't use them in the film.

I agree about having to glue the parts on yourself. I'd be nervous trying to superglue integral parts onto something I just paid over a hundred bucks for and was not sold as a "kit".

---------------------------------------------
A master of mind control who hides inside a Ford Pickup

kidnicky's picture
Posted by kidnicky on 28 February, 2010 - 14:04
You know how much money it

You know how much money it took to make "Iron Man" (2008)? $140mil. And that was for just four powered armors, each different from the previous.
Now, how much was "Starship Troopers" (1997) made for? $100mil. You want a bunch of bugs and ships, you need to make some sacrifices. A lot of bugs and no PAs, or few bugs and a few PAs?

I pray that "The Forever War" (first published 1974) will not suffer the same fate as the former film...
------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 28 February, 2010 - 14:45
That's not the issue.

I don't think budget is the issue. Remember that Starship Troopers came out over a decade before Iron Man and budgets have inflated immensely since then. The issue is more that they only got the Starship Troopers license well into the production of what was then called Bug Hunt or something like that. They ended up sticking in a bunch of Starship Troopers dialogue but still...

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 28 February, 2010 - 15:53
BTW

nothing to with this post, but I think as long as a comment is mature and professional and just adds some constructive criticism...meaning does not take a shot but asks for some clarity and another angle on a pic or something it should be encouraged and legal on the site...if someone takes a pot shot at you grammar (you done for dramatic irony effect) or your camera work...then they are obtuse and should a. grow up and b. be sanctioned, because it takes work to do these post and people should be grateful...me, I like the advice you sometimes get...innovation and greatness come from collaboration:)

AJProDie-Cast's picture
Posted by AJProDie-Cast on 28 February, 2010 - 16:26
Power Suit

Just for info, the power suit finally get into action in Starship Troopers 3 Marauder...

Berserk's picture
Posted by Berserk on 28 February, 2010 - 21:48
Isn't the argument that the

Isn't the argument that the marauders are mecha rather than PAs?

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 28 February, 2010 - 21:56
You didn't

A few questions:

You didn't include any shots from the back, the bottom where the stand fits in, or the back of the box... maybe some closeups to show the detail might be helpful to those who are interested in buying this piece, and nudge them over the line to buy one...

How well do the gaps fill when the pieces are just resting? You mention that they're loose, but in the photos it is difficult to tell whether others might really want to glue them in place. (on some gashapons and other models & toys it looks & feels a lot better glued in.)

What is the stand made of? It looks like ABS with a brass plate! If it's ABS with even a colored metal plate then that is really cool and worth mentioning!

Also, there is some serious confusion over what the entire piece as a whole is actually made of. You say it's "pewter", the Codex says "diecast", some stores say "diecast pewter with resin and brass-like parts" other say "ABS, resin" - since you have it in hand, it would be great to know what this thing and its stand are actually made of.

And most important... what is that uber cool orange background you're using in these photos? I must know so I can get one ;)

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 1 March, 2010 - 12:40
That is my least favorite

That is my least favorite part of writing reviews... identifying materials. Unless it says it on the box, often I've no clue and will just use the generic cop out term "plastic". If it were up to me, companies would not even be allowed to produce anything other than diecast, poly or vinyl toys! Not only would I probably like the toys more on a personal level, it would just make my job easier. LOL.

"You can't sell it until you get it from him, but you gotta sell it to pay him to get it to sell it".
---Jerilock, talking about me trying to raise the money I need to pay for the toys I already bought....

NekroDave's picture
Posted by NekroDave on 1 March, 2010 - 18:24
"Just one word: Plastics"

Most of what I know about plastics came from this excellent article: http://www.zincpanic.com/article/25252.html

The Enthusiast's picture
Posted by The Enthusiast on 1 March, 2010 - 20:00
Pewter

It is definitely made of pewter and says so on both the box and Yamato's website. Unfortunately, pewter is not an option in CDX's materials list and diecast was as close as I could get so I just used that. ABS is used for the glue-on pieces.

You can see the detail just fine if you click on some of the images (especially rodgeryoung2) and show them at their full resolution.

There's no way for a photograph to convey how loose or tight a connection is when you can't actually see the connection point because the shape of the piece blocks your view. Suffice it to say that if you turned the ship upside down, the big engine block pieces would fall out.

The stand is made of resin. It does not connect with the ship in any way, it just rests on it. I am not taking a picture of the bottom of the spaceship sitting on the stand or anything weird like that.

The orange background is the iGear Computer Control Center, basically an unlicensed kit of the Ark's control room from the original Transformers cartoon. I just pulled out the Teletran 1 and stuff. http://www.igear.tf08.net/?p=107

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 1 March, 2010 - 18:51
"...Unfortunately, pewter is

"...Unfortunately, pewter is not an option in CDX's materials list..."

It is now. ;)

------------------------------
CollectionDX Staff

EVA_Unit_4A's picture
Posted by EVA_Unit_4A on 1 March, 2010 - 19:04
Materials

Okay, I updated the materials.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 1 March, 2010 - 19:06
Thanks

Thanks for clearing that up. Pewter i've found is easier to break than reg. diecast, and when I looked around, it seemed there was some confusion at a number of online listings for it. It's a sweet design, and looks nice in your photos!

You should do a review of that Autobot base. I saw proto pics but not the production piece! It looks awesome!

The Big R's picture
Posted by The Big R on 1 March, 2010 - 19:30
I've always found Pewter to

I've always found Pewter to be much more resilient and less brittle than standard die-cast. Truth be told though, 'Pewter' really, really varies from manufacturer to manufacturer.

http://prometheusrising.wordpress.com

Prometheum5's picture
Posted by Prometheum5 on 1 March, 2010 - 20:16
The Ark

I'm definitely going to do a review of the Ark base fairly soon.

Ginrai's picture
Posted by Ginrai on 1 March, 2010 - 20:24
 
CollectionDX OtakuDX Love is Pop WTF Toy Chogokin.net